The Community for Technology Leaders

Guest Editors' Introduction: 2005 IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy

Vern Paxson
Michael Waidner

Pages: pp. 81


Since 1980, the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy has been the premier annual forum for the presentation of scientific developments in information security and privacy technology, and for bringing together researchers and practitioners in the field. It is sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy, in co-operation with The International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR).

The program committee of the 2005 conference received 192 submissions, and selected 17 papers to be presented, on the basis of excellence of scientific contribution. Out of these 17 high quality papers, the program committee selected three as the most highly rated papers for this special issue. In no particular order, they are: "Hardware-Assisted Circumvention of Self-Hashing Software Tamper Resistance" by P.C. van Oorschot, Anil Somayaji, and Glenn Wurster; "Remote Physical Device Fingerprinting" by Tadayoshi Kohno, Andre Broido, and K.C. Claffy; "Relating Symbolic and Cryptographic Secrecy" by Michael Backes and Birgit Pfitzmann.

Like all scientific conferences, the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy lives from the voluntary and hard work of many people. We wish to thank all of them-authors, reviewers, participants and organizers-but in particular the members of the program committee: William Arbaugh, Michael Backes, Josh Benaloh, Marc Dacier, Hervé Debar, George Dinolt, Riccardo Focardi, Virgil Gligor, Peter Gutmann, Dogan Kesdogan, Helmut Kurth, Wenke Lee, Roy Maxion, John McHugh, Catherine Meadows, Radia Perlman, Birgit Pfitzmann, Joachim Posegga, Niels Provos, Josyula R. Rao, Michael Reiter Eric Rescorla, Rei Safavi-Naini, Pierangela Samarati, Andrei Serjantov, Giovanni Vigna, Dan S. Wallach, Andreas Wespi, and Marianne Winslett. We also thank the anonymous journal reviewers of the three papers published in this special issue for their work.

About the Authors

Bio Graphic
Vern Paxson received the MS and PhD degrees from the University of California, Berkeley, and has been (and continues to be) a staff scientist with the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory's Network Research Group for many years. He began at the ICIR group of the International Computer Science Institute (ICSI) in 1999. His main active research projects are Bro, worms (including the network telescope project), DETER, and PREDICT. He has been the vice chair of ACM SIGCOMM; program cochair for IEEE Security and Privacy 2005 (Program); and program committee member for SRUTI 2005, RAID 2005, ACSAC 2005, and USENIX/ACM NSDI '05. He was on the editorial board of IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking from 2000-2004.
Bio Graphic
Michael Waidner received the doctorate degree in computer science from the University of Karlsruhe, Germany. He is senior manager of security and privacy at the IBM Zurich Research Laboratory and a member of the IBM Academy of Technology. He is also an institute executive of the IBM Privacy Research Institute. Since he joined IBM in 1994, he has been working on various projects in enterprise privacy and identity management technologies, secure electronic commerce, dependability in distributed systems, provably secure cryptographic primitives, and formal verification of cryptographic protocols. Before joining IBM, he was a lecturer at the University of Karlsruhe, working and teaching on various aspects of cryptography, security, and fault tolerance. He is the author of more than 100 research papers on security, privacy, and cryptography, and served on the program committees of several international conferences on these topics. He is a fellow of the IEEE and member of the ACM, the IACR, the IAPP, and the GI.
57 ms
(Ver 3.x)