The Community for Technology Leaders
RSS Icon
Issue No.04 - April (2010 vol.9)
pp: 505-515
Ahmed K. Sadek , Qualcomm Incorporated, San Diego
Zhu Han , University of Houston, Houston
K.J. Ray Liu , University of Maryland, College Park
One important application of cooperative communications is to extend coverage area in wireless networks without increasing infrastructure. However, a crucial challenge in implementing cooperation protocols is how to select relay-source pairs. In this paper, we address this problem based on the knowledge of the users' spatial distribution which determines the channel statistics. We consider two scenarios at the destination node, when the receiver uses MRC and when no-MRC is used. First, we characterize the optimal relay location to minimize the outage probability. Then, we propose and analyze the performance of two schemes: a distributed nearest neighbor relay assignment in which users can act as relays, and an infrastructure-based relay-assignment protocol in which fixed relay nodes are deployed in the network to help the users forward their data. The outage probabilities of these two schemes are derived. We also derive universal lower bounds on the performance of relay-assignment protocols to serve as a benchmark for our proposed protocols. Numerical results reveal significant gains when applying the proposed simple distributed algorithms over direct transmission in terms of coverage area, transmit power, and spectral efficiency. At 1 percent outage probability, more than 200 percent increase in coverage area can be achieved, 7 dBW savings in the transmitted power, and the system can operate at 2 b/s/Hz higher spectral efficiency.
Relay assignment, coverage extension, cooperative diversity, wireless networks, virtual MIMO.
Ahmed K. Sadek, Zhu Han, K.J. Ray Liu, "Distributed Relay-Assignment Protocols for Coverage Expansion in Cooperative Wireless Networks", IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, vol.9, no. 4, pp. 505-515, April 2010, doi:10.1109/TMC.2009.132
[1] G.J. Foschini and M. Gans, "On the Limits of Wireless Communication in a Fading Environment when Using Multiple Antennas," Wireless Personal Comm., vol. 6, pp. 311-335, Mar. 1998.
[2] E. Telatar, "Capacity of Multi-Antenna Gaussian Channels," European Trans. Telecomm. vol. 10, pp. 585-595, Nov. 1999.
[3] J.N. Laneman, D.N.C. Tse, and G.W. Wornell, "Cooperative Diversity in Wireless Networks: Efficient Protocols and Outage Behavior," IEEE Trans. Information Theory, vol. 50, no. 12, pp. 3062-3080, Dec. 2004.
[4] J.N. Laneman and G.W. Wornell, "Distributed Space-Time Coded Protocols for Exploiting Cooperative Diversity in Wireless Networks," IEEE Trans. Information Theory, vol. 49, no. 10, pp. 2415-2525, Oct. 2003.
[5] A. Sendonaris, E. Erkip, and B. Aazhang, "User Cooperation Diversity—Part I: System Description," IEEE Trans. Comm., vol. 51, no. 11, pp. 1927-1938, Nov. 2003.
[6] G. Scutari and S. Barbarossa, "Distributed Space-Time Coding for Regenerative Relay Networks," IEEE Trans. Wireless Comm., vol. 4, no. 5, pp. 2387-2399, Sept. 2005.
[7] W. Su, A.K. Sadek, and K.J.R. Liu, "SER Performance Analysis and Optimum Power Allocation for Decode-and-Forward Cooperation Protocol in Wireless Networks," Proc. IEEE Wireless Comm. and Networking Conf. (WCNC), vol. 2, pp. 984-989, Mar. 2005.
[8] A.K. Sadek, W. Su, and K.J.R. Liu, "A Class of Cooperative Communication Protocols for Multi-Node Wireless Networks," Proc. IEEE Int'l Workshop Signal Processing Advances in Wireless Comm. (SPAWC), pp. 560-564, June 2005.
[9] A.K. Sadek, W. Su, and K.J.R. Liu, "Multinode Cooperative Communications in Wireless Networks," IEEE Trans. Signal Processing, vol. 55, no. 1, pp. 341-355, Jan. 2007.
[10] J. Luo, R.S. Blum, L.J. Greenstein, L.J. Cimini, and A.M. Haimovich, "New Approaches for Cooperative Use of Multiple Antennas in Ad-Hoc Wireless Networks," Proc. IEEE Vehicular Technology Conf. (VTC)-Fall, vol. 4, pp. 2769-2773, Sept. 2004.
[11] M. Dianati, X. Ling, S. Naik, and X. Shen, "A Node Cooperative ARQ Scheme for Wireless Ad Hoc Networks," IEEE Trans. Vehicular Technology, vol. 55, no. 3, pp. 1032-1044, May 2006.
[12] K.J.R. Liu, A.K. Sadek, W. Su, and A. Kwasinski, Cooperative Communications and Networking. Cambridge Univ. Press, 2008.
[13] Z. Han and K.J.R. Liu, Resource Allocation for Wireless Networks: Basics, Techniques, and Applications. Cambridge Univ. Press, 2008.
[14] A. Bletsas, A. Lippman, and D.P. Reed, "A Simple Distributed Method for Relay Selection in Cooperative Diversity Wireless Networks Based on Reciprocity and Channel Measurements," Proc. IEEE Vehicular Technology Conf. (VTC)-Spring, 2005.
[15] Y. Chen, G. Yu, P. Qiu, and Z. Zhang, "Power-Aware Cooperative Relay Selection Strategies in Wireless Ad Hoc Networks," Proc. IEEE Int'l Symp. Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Comm. (PIMRC), 2006.
[16] T.W. Ban, B.C. Jung, D.K. Sung, and W. Choi, "Performance Analysis of Two Relay Selection Schemes for Cooperative Diversity," Proc. IEEE Int'l Symp. Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Comm. (PIMRC), 2007.
[17] Y. Shi, S. Sharma, and Y. Thomas Hou, "Optimal Relay Assignment for Cooperative Communications," Proc. ACM MobiHoc, 2008.
[18] O. Dogan and S.G. Wilson, "Outage Probability and Assignment Protocols in Cooperative Diversity," Proc. IEEE Military Comm. Conf. (MILCOM), pp. 1-4, Oct. 29-31 2007.
[19] A.K. Sadek, Z. Han, and K.J.R. Liu, "A Distributed Relay-Assignment Algorithm for Cooperative Communications in Wireless Networks," Proc. IEEE Int'l Conf. Comm. (ICC '06), vol. 4, pp. 1592-1597, June 2006.
[20] L.H. Ozaroq, S. Shamai, and A.D. Wyner, "Information Theoretic Considerations for Cellular Mobile Radio," IEEE Trans. Vehicular Technology, vol. 43, no. 5, pp. 359-378, May 1994.
[21] G. Sun, J. Chen, W. Guo, and K.J.R. Liu, "Signal Processing Techniques in Network-Aided Positioning: A Survey," IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, vol. 22, no. 4, pp. 12-23, July 2005.
[22] A.H. Sayed, A. Tarighat, and N. Khajehnouri, "Network-Based Wireless Location," IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, vol. 22, no. 4, pp. 24-40, July 2005.
[23] I.S. Gradshteyn and I.M. Ryzhik, Table of Integrals, Series, and Products, fourth ed. Academic Press, 1980.
17 ms
(Ver 2.0)

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool