The Community for Technology Leaders

EIC Editorial

J. Edward

Pages: pp. 1-1

In the last issue I wrote an editorial to introduce you to a new Associate Editor-in-Chief (Lynette Jones) and a number of new Associate Editors (Seungmoon Choi, Martha Flanders, Keyvan Hashtrudi-Zaad, Miguel Otaduy, and Hiroyuki Shinoda). I also reported on the IEEE Transactions on Haptics (ToH) passing its three-year review, introduced the new ToH podcasts (on our homepage!), and thanked Susan Lederman for her years of service as well as her parting interview, which was published in the issue. For a small and fledgling journal, that’s a lot to report and a hard act to follow! The past few months I would put in the “steady as she goes” category (thankfully).

Of course, while I may claim that ToH is smooth sailing, the greater world of academic publishing is anything but. Challenging issues such as multimedia content, print versus online, push versus pull, and open access are creating turmoil, but also leading to tremendous amounts of innovation. For instance, you can now read ToH and other IEEE Computer Society (CS) titles in an eBook format, and at some point in the near future, CS authors will be given an open access option for their papers. Feedback on these developments and ideas for new features and services are always welcome.

Looking at the year ahead, we expect to publish special issues on Haptics in Medicine and Clinical Applications and Haptics in Consumer Electronics. We also have an active call for a special issue on Haptic Human-Robot Interaction. You can find this call on the ToH home page.

I’d like to close by announcing the recipients of the 2010 ToH Meritorious Service Citations. It is our custom at this time of year to recognize one Associate Editor and three reviewers for exemplary service to the journal. This is one of my more pleasant jobs, but challenging as well because so many people in the haptics community routinely give their time, talent, and wisdom to the effort. For instance, in this issue, you will find a list of all of those who reviewed papers in 2010. I am grateful to all of these reviewers, and to other volunteers, including our Editorial Board and Guest Editors, but it is a pleasure to recognize in a special way four people whose effort seems to approach the superhuman level time and again: Cagatay Basdogan (Associate Editor), Wouter Bergmann Tiest, Angelika Peer, and Gabriel Baud-Bovy (reviewers). Thank you, and congratulations!

J. Edward Colgate


58 ms
(Ver 3.x)