The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 11 - November (2003 vol. 52)
ISSN: 0018-9340
pp: 1377-1378
On behalf of the IEEE Computer Society and the Editorial Board of this journal, I wish to thank the following researchers, who have retired from the board, for their service: Dinesh Bhatia, Thomas Conte, Daniel Etiemble, Sandeep Gupta, Fred "Jackie" Meyer, Prasant Mohapatra, Daniel Mossé, Marios Papaefthymiou, Behrooz Shirazi, and Andrew L. Wendelborn. It has been an honor and a pleasure working with them. I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for the selfless service they have given these transactions during all these years. It is only with the work of dedicated volunteers such as these that we have been able to continue offering the scientific community the high quality papers, which remain the trademark of the IEEE Transactions on Computers.
At the same time, I am pleased to welcome Sitarama Iyengar, Majid Sarrafzadeh, and Mike Schulte who are now joining the Editorial Board. Their biographical sketches highlight their accomplishments and areas of expertise. They are all inter-nationally recognized in their fields and the journal is fortunate indeed to have these outstanding researchers as members of the Editorial Board. Dr. Iyengar will help us handle papers in several important areas, including sensor networks and algorithms. Dr. Sarrafzadeh will help us handle papers in several important areas, including reconfigurable computing and devices, low-power embedded systems, and models of computation. Dr. Schulte will help us handle papers in several important areas, including computer arithmetic, digital signal processing, multimedia processors, cryptography hardware, and application-specific hardware design.
Viktor K. Prasanna

For information on obtaining reprints of this article, please send e-mail to:, and reference IEEECS Log Number 118788.

S.S. Iyengar is the chairman and Roy Paul Daniels Chaired Professor of Computer Science at Louisiana State University (LSU) and is also Satish Dhawan Chaired Professor at the Indian Institute of Science. He has been involved with research in high-performance algorithms, data structures, sensor fusion, data mining, and intelligent systems since receiving the PhD degree (in 1974 from Mississippi State University) and the MS degree from the Indian Institute of Science (1970). He has directed more than 30 PhD candidates, many of whom are faculty members at major universities worldwide or scientists or engineers at national labs/industry around the world. His publications include 13 books (authored or coau-thored, edited; Prentice-Hall, CRC Press, IEEE Computer Society Press, John Wiley & Sons, etc.) and more than 280 research papers in refereed journals and conference in the areas of high-performance parallel and distributed algorithms and data structures for image processing and pattern recognition and distributed data mining algorithms for biological databases. Dr. Iyengar was the winner of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award. He was awarded the LSU Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Research, the Hub Cotton Award for Faculty Excellence, and many other awards at LSU. He is also a fellow of the ACM, fellow of the IEEE, fellow of the AAAS, IEEE Distinguished Visitor, etc. He received the Prestigious Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 2003. He was also elected a member of the European Academy of Sciences (2002). He is a member of the New York Academy of Sciences. He has been the program chairman for many national/international conferences. He has given more than 50 plenary talks and keynote lectures at numerous national and international conferences.

Majid Sarrafzadeh (M'87, SM'92, F'96) ( received the BS, MS, and PhD degrees in 1982, 1984, and 1987, respectively, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in electrical and computer engineering. He joined Northwestern University as an assistant professor in 1987. In 2000, he joined the Computer Science Department at the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA). His recent research interests lie in the areas of embedded and reconfigurable computing, VLSI CAD, and design and analysis of algorithms. He was made a fellow of the IEEE for his contribution to "Theory and Practice of VLSI Design." He received a US National Science Foundation Engineering Ini-tiation award, two distinguished paper awards from the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design, and the best paper award from the Design Automation Conference. He has served on the technical program committee of numerous conferences in the area of VLSI Design and CAD, including ICCAD, DAC, EDAC, ISPD, FPGA, and DesignCon. He has served as a committee chair for a number of these conferences. He is on the executive committee/steering committee of several conferences such as ICCAD, ISPD, and ISQED. He is the program committee chair of ICCAD 2004. Professor Sarrafzadeh has published approximately 250 papers, is a coeditor of the book Algorithmic Aspects of VLSI Layout (World Scientific, 1994), and coauthor of the book An Introduction to VLSI Physical Design (McGraw-Hill, 1996). He is an associate editor of the ACM Transactions on Design Automation (TODAES) and an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design (TCAD) and ACM Transactions on Design Automation (TODAES). He has collaborated with many industries in the past 15 years, including IBM and Motorola and many CAD industries and was the architect of the physical design subsystem of Monterey Design Systems' main product. He is a cofounder of Hier Design, Inc.

Michael J. Schulte received the BS degree in electrical engineering with a second major in computer science from the Uni-versity of Wisconsin-Madison, and the MS and PhD degrees from the University of Texas at Austin. He is currently an assistant professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he leads the Madison Embedded Systems and Architectures (MESA) Group. His research and teaching interests include computer architecture, embedded systems, computer arithmetic, VLSI design, and application-specific processors. He was previously an assistant and associate professor at Lehigh University. In 1997, he received a US National Science Foundation CAREER Award to research hardware support for accurate and reliable numerical computations. In 2000, he received Lehigh University's Alfred Noble Robinson Award and the Frank Hook Assistant Professorship. He is serving or has served as a program chair for the IEEE International Conference on Application-Specific Systems, Architectures and Processors, the IEEE International Symposium on Computer Arithmetic, and the Asilomar Conference on Signals, Systems, and Computers. He served as a general chair for the IEEE International Conference on Application-Specific Systems, Architectures, and Processors.
171 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))