The Community for Technology Leaders
Symposium on Interactive Ray Tracing (2007)
Ulm, Germany
Sept. 10, 2007 to Sept. 12, 2007
ISBN: 978-1-4244-1629-5
TABLE OF CONTENTS

[Front cover] (PDF)

pp. C1

Real-time Ray Tracing through the Eyes of a Game Developer (PDF)

J. Bikker , IGAD NHTV Univ. of Appl. Sci., Breda
pp. 1
Papers

Covers (PDF)

pp. C1

Covers (PDF)

pp. 1-2

Breaker pages (PDF)

pp. 1

Breaker pages (PDF)

pp. 1

Commentary (PDF)

pp. 1

Real-time Ray Tracing through the Eyes of a Game Developer (Abstract)

Jacco Bikker , IGAD / NHTV University of Applied Sciences, Breda, The Netherlands, e-mail: bikker.j@nhtv.nl
pp. 1-10

Interactive Ray Tracing of Arbitrary Implicits with SIMD Interval Arithmetic (Abstract)

Charles Hansen , SCI Institute, University of Utah, hansen@sci.utah.edu
Younis Hijazi , University of Kaiserslautern&IRTG, hijazi@informatik.uni-kl.de
Hans Hagen , University of Kaiserslautern, hagen@informatik.uni-kl.de
Aaron Knoll , SCI Institute, University of Utah&IRTG, email: knolla@sci.utah.edu
Ingo Wald , Intel Corporation&SCI Institute, University of Utah, wald@sci.utah.edu
pp. 11-18

Ray-Strips: A Compact Mesh Representation for Interactive Ray Tracing (Abstract)

Dinesh Manocha , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Christian Lauterbach , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sung-Eui Yoon , Korea Advanced Inst. of Sci. and Tech.
pp. 19-26

Grid Creation Strategies for Efficient Ray Tracing (Abstract)

Peter Shirley , School of Computing, University of Utah
Steven Parker , SCI Institute, University of Utah
Thiago Ize , SCI Institute, University of Utah, Intel Corp
pp. 27-32

On fast Construction of SAH-based Bounding Volume Hierarchies (Abstract)

Ingo Wald , SCI Institute, University of Utah; Intel Corp, Santa Clara, CA
pp. 33-40

Terminating Spatial Hierarchies by A Priori Bounding Memory (Abstract)

Alexander Keller , Ulm University, Germany, e-mail: alexander.keller@uni-ulm.de
Carsten Wachter , Ulm University, Germany, e-mail: carsten.waechter@uni-ulm.de
pp. 41-46

Fast and Lazy Build of Acceleration Structures from Scene Hierarchies (Abstract)

Don Fussell , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin, email: fussell@cs.utexas.edu
William R. Mark , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin, email: billmark@cs.utexas.edu
Warren Hunt , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin, email: whunt@cs.utexas.edu
pp. 47-54

A Study of Restricted BSP Trees for Ray Tracing (Abstract)

Ravi P. Kammaje , University of Wales Swansea, e-mail: csravi@swan.ac.uk
Benjamin Mora , University of Wales Swansea, e-mail: b.mora@swan.ac.uk
pp. 55-62

Coupled Use of BSP and BVH Trees in Order to Exploit Ray Bundle Performance (Abstract)

Bernard Lecussan , HPC-SA, e-mail: bernard.lecussan@hpc-sa.com
Gilles Cadet , Supaero, e-mail: gilles.cadet@supaero.fr
pp. 63-71

Deep Coherent Ray Tracing (Abstract)

Jacob Munkberg , Lund University, e-mail: jacob@cs.lth.se
Tomas Akenine-Moller , Lund University, e-mail: tam@cs.lth.se
Erik Mansson , Lund University/TAT AB, e-mail: erik.mansson@tat.se
pp. 79-85

SIMD Packet Techniques for Photon Mapping (Abstract)

Shawn Singh , UCLA Computer Science Department, e-mail: shawnsin@cs.ucla.edu
Petros Faloutsos , UCLA Computer Science Department, e-mail: pfal@cs.ucla.edu
pp. 87-94

Dynamic Ray Scheduling to Improve Ray Coherence and Bandwidth Utilization (Abstract)

William R. Mark , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
Donald S. Fussell , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
Paul Arthur Navratil , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
Calvin Lin , Department of Computer Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
pp. 95-104

Faster Ray Packets - Triangle Intersection through Vertex Culling (Abstract)

Alexander Reshetov , Intel Corporation, e-mail: alexander.reshetov@intel.com
pp. 105-112

Realtime Ray Tracing on GPU with BVH-based Packet Traversal (Abstract)

Philipp Slusallek , Saarland University, e-mail: slusallek@graphics.cs.uni-sb.de
Hans-Peter Seidel , MPI Informatik, e-mail: hpseidel@mpi-inf.mpg.de
Stefan Popov , Saarland University, e-mail: popov@graphics.cs.uni-sb.de
Johannes Gunther , MPI Informatik, e-mail: guenther@mpi-inf.mpg.de
pp. 113-118

Towards Hardware Ray Tracing using Fixed Point Arithmetic (Abstract)

Alexander Keller , Ulm University, e-mail: Alexander.Keller@uni-ulm.de
Johannes Hanika , Ulm University, e-mail: Johannes.Hanika@uni-ulm.de
pp. 119-128

Poisson Disk Point Sets by Hierarchical Dart Throwing (Abstract)

Kenric B. White , e-mail: cavkenr@gmail.com
Parris K. Egbert , Brigham Young University, e-mail: egbert@cs.byu.edu
David Cline , Brigham Young University, Arizona State University, e-mail: clinedav@gmail.com
pp. 129-132

Steerable Importance Sampling (Abstract)

Kartic Subr , University of California Irvine, e-mail: kartic@ics.uci.edu
James Arvo , University of California Irvine, e-mail: arvo@uci.edu
pp. 133-140

Adaptive Spatial Sample Caching (Abstract)

Philipp Slusallek , Computer Graphics Group, Saarland University, Germany, e-mail: slusallek@cs.uni-sb.de
Andreas Dietrich , Computer Graphics Group, Saarland University, Germany, e-mail: dietrich@cs.uni-sb.de
pp. 141-147

RTSL: a Ray Tracing Shading Language (Abstract)

James Bigler , SCI Institute, University of Utah
Solomon Boulos , School of Computing, University of Utah
Steven G. Parker , SCI Institute, University of Utah
Austin Robison , School of Computing, University of Utah
pp. 149-160

Interactive Realistic Simulation of Wireless Networks (Abstract)

Alexander Keller , Ulm University, e-mail: Alexander.Keller@uni-ulm.de
Frank Kargl , Ulm University, e-mail: Frank.Kargl@uni-ulm.de
Steffen Moser , Ulm University, e-mail: Steffen.Moser@uni-ulm.de
pp. 161-166

Bullet Ray Vision (Abstract)

Lee A. Butler , US Army Research Laboratory, butler@arl.army.mil
Abe Stephens , SCI Institute, University of Utah, abe@sci.utah.edu
pp. 167-170

A Visualization Framework for Time Dependent Metal Casting Simulations (Abstract)

Carsten Lojewski , Fraunhofer ITWM, e-mail: lojewski@itwm.fhg.de
Hans Hagen , University of Kaiserslautern, IRTG, e-mail: hagen@informatik.uni-kl.de
Matthias Gross , Fraunhofer ITWM, IRTG, e-mail: gross@itwm.fhg.de
pp. 171-176
108 ms
(Ver )