The Community for Technology Leaders
Visualization Symposium, IEEE Pacific (2008)
Kyoto Japan
Mar. 5, 2008 to Mar. 7, 2008
ISBN: 978-1-4244-1966-1
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interactive Visualization - Beyond Standard Techniques for Irrelevant Datasets (PDF)

Thomas Ertl , Institut für Visualisierung und Interaktive Systeme und Visualisierungsinstitut der Universität Stuttgart
pp. x

Visualization of High Dimensional Data in Brain and Information Sciences (PDF)

Masato Okada , The University of Tokyo and RIKEN Brain Science Institute
pp. xi

Efficient Rendering of Extrudable Curvilinear Volumes (PDF)

Steven Martin , Ohio State University. e-mail: martinst@cse.ohio-state.edu
Han-Wei Shen , Ohio State University. e-mail: hwshen@cse.ohio-state.edu
Ravi Samtaney , Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. e-mail: samtaney@pppl.gov
pp. 1-8

Second Order Pre-Integrated Volume Rendering (PDF)

Jean-Francois El Hajjar , XLIM, University of Limoges. jean-francois.el-hajjar@xlim.fr
Stephane Marchesin , LSIIT, University of Strasbourg. marchesin@icps.u-strasbg.fr
Jean-Michel Dischler , LSIIT, University of Strasbourg. dischler@dpt-info.u-strasbg.fr
Catherine Mongenet , LSIIT, University of Strasbourg. mongenet@icps.u-strasbg.fr
pp. 9-16

Dynamic Shader Generation for Flexible Multi-Volume Visualization (PDF)

Friedemann RoBler , Institute for Visualization and Interactive Systems Universität Stuttgart, Germany. Email: roessler@vis.uni-stuttgart.de
Ralf P. Botchen , Institute for Visualization and Interactive Systems Universität Stuttgart, Germany. Email: botchen@vis.uni-stuttgart.de
Thomas Ertl , Institute for Visualization and Interactive Systems Universität Stuttgart, Germany. Email: ertl@vis.uni-stuttgart.de
pp. 17-24

Interactive Exploration of Remote Isosurfaces with Point-Based Non-Photorealistic Rendering (PDF)

Guangfeng Ji , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 43210; Vital Images, Inc. E-mail: ji.15@osu.edu
Han-Wei Shen , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 43210. E-mail: hwshen@cse.ohio-state.edu
Jinzhu Gao , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 43210
pp. 25-32

Crossing Minimization meets Simultaneous Drawing (PDF)

Markus Chimani , Technical University of Dortmund, Germany. e-mail: markus.chimani@cs.uni-dortmund.de
Michael Junger , University of Cologne, Germany. e-mail: mjuenger@informatik.uni-koeln.de
Michael Schulz , University of Cologne, Germany. e-mail: schulz@informatik.uni-koeln.de
pp. 33-40

Effects of Crossing Angles (PDF)

Weidong Huang , School of Information Technologies, University of Sydney, Australia. e-mail: whua5569@it.usyd.edu.au
Seok-Hee Hong , School of Information Technologies, University of Sydney, Australia. e-mail: shhong@it.usyd.edu.au
Peter Eades , School of Information Technologies, University of Sydney, Australia. e-mail: peter@it.usyd.edu.au
pp. 41-46

Visual Statistics for Collections of Clustered Graphs (PDF)

Ulrik Brandes , Dept. Computer & Information Science, University of Konstanz. Ulrik.Brandes@uni-konstanz.de
Jurgen Lerner , Dept. Computer & Information Science, University of Konstanz. lerner@inf.uni-konstanz.de
Miranda J. Lubbers , Dept. Social & Cultural Anthropology, Autonomous University of Barcelona. mirandajessica.lubbers@uab.es
Chris McCarty , Bureau of Economic and Business Research, University of Florida. chrism@bebr.ufl.edu
Jose Luis Molina , Dept. Social & Cultural Anthropology, Autonomous University of Barcelona. joseluis.molina@uab.es
pp. 47-54

Energy-Based Hierarchical Edge Clustering of Graphs (PDF)

Hong Zhou , The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Kowloon, Hong Kong. e-mail: zhouhong@cse.ust.hk
Xiaoru Yuan , Peking University, Beijing, China. e-mail: xiaoru.yuan@gmail.com
Weiwei Cui , The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Kowloon, Hong Kong. e-mail: weiwei@cse.ust.hk
Huamin Qu , The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Kowloon, Hong Kong. e-mail: huamin@cse.ust.hk
Baoquan Chen , The University of Minnesota at Twin Cities, MN, USA. e-mail: baoquan@cs.umn.edu
pp. 55-61

Finite-Time Transport Structures of Flow Fields (PDF)

Kuangyu Shi , MPI Informatik. e-mail: skyshi@mpi-inf.mpg.de
Holger Theisel , Magdeburg University. e-mail: theisel@isg.cs.uni-magdeburg.de
Tino Weinkauf , Zuse Institute Berlin. e-mail: weinkauf@zib.de
Hans-Christian Hege , Zuse Institute Berlin. e-mail: hege@zib.de
Hans-Peter Seidel , MPI Informatik. e-mail: hpseidel@mpi-inf.mpg.de
pp. 63-70

Importance-Driven Particle Techniques for Flow Visualization (PDF)

Kai Burger , Computer Graphics and Visualization Group, Technische Universität München. kai.buerger@in.tum.de
Polina Kondratieva , Computer Graphics and Visualization Group, Technische Universität München. kondrati@in.tum.de
Jens Kruger , Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute, University of Utah. mail@jens.krueger.com
Rudiger Westermann , Computer Graphics and Visualization Group, Technische Universität München. westerma@in.tum.de
pp. 71-78

Illustrative Streamline Placement and Visualization (PDF)

Liya Li , The Ohio State University. e-mail: lil@cse.ohio-state.edu
Hsien-Hsi Hsieh , National Dong Hua University, Taiwan. e-mail: hsi@game.csie.ndhu.edu.tw
Han-Wei Shen , The Ohio State University. e-mail: hwshen@cse.ohio-state.edu
pp. 79-86

Optimizing Parallel Performance of Streamline Visualization for Large Distributed Flow Datasets (PDF)

Li Chen , Institute of Computer Graphics and Computer Aided Design, School of Software, Tsinghua University, Beijing 100084, P.R. China, chen@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn
Issei Fujishiro , Institute of Fluid Science, Tohoku University, 2-1-1 Katahira,, Sendai 980-8577, Japan, fuji@vis.ifs.tohokua.ac.jp
pp. 87-94

Multiple Views on System Traces (PDF)

A. Johannes Pretorius , Technische Universiteit Eindhoven. e-mail: a.j.pretorius@tue.nl
Jarke J. van Wijk , Technische Universiteit Eindhoven. e-mail: vanwijk@win.tue.nl
pp. 95-102

A Novel Visualization System for Expressive Facial Motion Data Exploration (PDF)

Tanasai Sucontphunt , Computer Graphics and Interactive Media Lab, Department of CS, University of Houston. e-mail: tanasai@cs.uh.edu
Xiaoru Yuan , Laboratory of Machine Intelligence, School of EECS, Peking University. e-mail: xiaoru.yuan@gmail.com
Qing Li , Computer Graphics and Interactive Media Lab, Department of CS, University of Houston. e-mail: qingli12@cs.uh.edu
Zhigang Deng , Computer Graphics and Interactive Media Lab, Department of CS, University of Houston. e-mail: zdeng@cs.uh.edu
pp. 103-109

The Event Tunnel: Interactive Visualization of Complex Event Streams for Business Process Pattern Analysis (Abstract)

Martin Suntinger , SENACTIVE IT-Dienstleistungs GmbH. e-mail: martin.suntinger@senactive.com
Hannes Obweger , Institute for Software Technology and Interactive Systems, Vienna University of Technology. e-mail: js@ifs.tuwien.ac.at
Josef Schiefer , SENACTIVE IT-Dienstleistungs GmbH. e-mail: hannes.obweger@senactive.com
M. Eduard Groller , Institute of Computer Graphics and Algorithms, Vienna University of Technology. e-mail: groeller@cg.tuwien.ac.at
pp. 111-118

Height Ridge Computation and Filtering for Visualization (PDF)

Ronald Peikert , ETH Zurich. e-mail: peikert@inf.ethz.ch
Filip Sadlo , ETH Zurich. e-mail: sadlo@inf.ethz.ch
pp. 119-126

An Adaptive Gauss Filtering Method (PDF)

Shyh-Kuang Ueng , Department of Computer Science, National Taiwan Ocean University. e-mail: skueng@mail.ntou.edu.tw
Hai-Peng Cheng , Department of Computer Science, National Taiwan Ocean University. e-mail: m94570034@mail.ntou.edu.tw
Ruey-Yuan Lu , Department of Computer Science, National Taiwan Ocean University. e-mail: b93570004@mail.ntou.edu.tw
pp. 127-134

Multi-resolution Volume Rendering of Large Time-Varying Data using Video-based Compression (PDF)

Chia-Lin Ko , Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University. e-mail: clko@csie.nctu.edu.tw
Horng-Shyang Liao , Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University; National Center for High-performance Computing. e-mail: hsliao@nchc.org.tw
Tsai-Pei Wang , Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University. e-mail: wangts@cs.nctu.edu.tw
Kuang-Wei Fu , Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University. e-mail: kwfu@cs.nctu.edu.tw
Ching-Yao Lin , National Center for High-performance Computing. e-mail: chingyao@nchc.org.tw
Jung-Hong Chuang , Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University. e-mail: jhchuang@cs.nctu.edu.tw
pp. 135-142

Interactive Storyboard for Overall Time-Varying Data Visualization (PDF)

Aidong Lu , University of North Carolina at Charlotte. e-mail: aidong.lu@uncc.edu
Han-Wei Shen , The Ohio State University. e-mail: hwshen@cis.ohio-state.edu
pp. 143-150

FanLens: A Visual Toolkit for Dynamically Exploring the Distribution of Hierarchical Attributes (PDF)

Xinghua Lou , IBM China Research Lab. e-mail: xinghua.lou@iwr.uni-heidelberg.de
Shixia Liu , IBM China Research Lab. e-mail: liusx@cn.ibm.com
Tianshu Wang , IBM China Research Lab. e-mail: wangtsh@cn.ibm.com
pp. 151-158

Pixelplexing: Gaining Display Resolution Through Time (PDF)

James Shearer , Visualization and Interaction Design Innovation (VIDi) Lab, University of California, Davis. e-mail: jjshearer@ucdavis.edu
Michael Ogawa , Visualization and Interaction Design Innovation (VIDi) Lab, University of California, Davis. e-mail: msogawa@ucdavis.edu
Kwan-Liu Ma , Visualization and Interaction Design Innovation (VIDi) Lab, University of California, Davis. e-mail: ma@cs.ucdavis.edu
Toby Kohlenberg , Intel Corporation. e-mail: toby.kohlenberg@intel.com
pp. 159-166

WhatsOnWeb+ : An Enhanced Visual Search Clustering Engine (PDF)

Emilio Di Giacomo , Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettronica e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Perugia, Italy. e-mail: digiacomo@diei.unipg.it
Walter Didimo , Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettronica e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Perugia, Italy. e-mail: didimo@diei.unipg.it
Luca Grilli , Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettronica e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Perugia, Italy. e-mail: grilli@diei.unipg.it
Giuseppe Liotta , Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettronica e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Perugia, Italy. e-mail: liotta@diei.unipg.it
Pietro Palladino , Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettronica e dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Perugia, Italy. e-mail: palladino@diei.unipg.it
pp. 167-174

MobiVis: A Visualization System for Exploring Mobile Data (PDF)

Zeqian Shen , Visualization & Interface Design Innovation (VIDi), University of California, Davis. e-mail: zqshen@ucdavis.edu
Kwan-Liu Ma , Visualization & Interface Design Innovation (VIDi), University of California, Davis. e-mail: ma@cs.ucdavis.edu
pp. 175-182

Interactive Visual Analysis of the NSF Funding Information (PDF)

Shixia Liu , IBM China Research Lab. e-mail: liusx@cn.ibm.com
Nan Cao , IBM China Research Lab. e-mail: nancao@cn.ibm.com
Hao Lv , Shanghai Jiaotong University, IBM China Research Lab. e-mail: hlv@acm.org
pp. 183-190

StarGate: A Unified, Interactive Visualization of Software Projects (PDF)

Michael Ogawa , Visualization & Interface Design Innovation (VIDi) Research Group, University of California, Davis. e-mail: msogawa@ucdavis.edu
Kwan-Liu Ma , Visualization & Interface Design Innovation (VIDi) Research Group, University of California, Davis. e-mail: ma@cs.ucdavis.edu
pp. 191-198

Map Warping for the Annotation of Metro Maps (PDF)

Joachim Bottger , University of Konstanz, Germany. e-mail: Joachim.Boettger@uni-konstanz.de
Ulrik Brandes , University of Konstanz, Germany. e-mail: Ulrik.Brandes@uni-konstanz.de
Oliver Deussen , University of Konstanz, Germany. e-mail: Oliver.Deussen@uni-konstanz.de
Hendrik Ziezold , University of Konstanz, Germany. e-mail: Hendrik.Ziezold@uni-konstanz.de
pp. 199-206

Multiple Uncertainties in Time-Variant Cosmological Particle Data (PDF)

Steve Haroz , University of California at Davis. sharoz@ucdavis.edu
Kwan-Liu Ma , University of California at Davis. ma@cs.ucdavis.edu
Katrin Heitmann , Los Alamos National Laboratory. heitmann@lanl.gov
pp. 207-214

ZAME: Interactive Large-Scale Graph Visualization (PDF)

Niklas Elmqvist , INRIA. e-mail: elm@lri.fr
Thanh-Nghi Do , INRIA. e-mail: dtnghi@lri.fr
Howard Goodell , INRIA. e-mail: howie.goodell@gmail.com
Nathalie Henry , INRIA, Univ. Paris-Sud & Univ. of Sydney. e-mail: nathalie.henry@lri.fr
Jean-Daniel Fekete , INRIA. e-mail: jean-daniel.fekete@inria.fr
pp. 215-222

Visualizing Multivariate Networks: A Hybrid Approach (PDF)

Yingxin Wu , University of Sydney and National ICT Australia. e-mail: chwu@it.usyd.edu.au
Masahiro Takatsuka , ViSLAB, University of Sydney. e-mail: masa@vislab.net
pp. 223-230

A Treemap Based Method for Rapid Layout of Large Graphs (PDF)

Chris Muelder , University of California, Davis. muelder@cs.ucdavis.edu
Kwan-Liu Ma , University of California, Davis. ma@cs.ucdavis.edu
pp. 231-238
78 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))