The Community for Technology Leaders
2008 IEEE International Symposium on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Computers and Telecommunication Systems (2008)
Baltimore, MD USA
Sept. 8, 2008 to Sept. 10, 2008
ISSN: 1526-7539
ISBN: 978-1-4244-2817-5
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Controlled Epidemic Routing for Multicasting in Delay Tolerant Networks (PDF)

Muhammad Abdulla , Department of Computer Science, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA 22030, Email: mabdulla@cs.gmu.edu
Robert Simon , Department of Computer Science, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA 22030, Email: simon@cs.gmu.edu
pp. 1-10

Geographic Constraint Mobility Model for Ad Hoc Network (PDF)

Sabbir Ahmed , Monash University, sabbir@infotech.monash.edu.au
Gour C. Karmakar , Monash University, gour@infotech.monash.edu.au
Joarder Kamruzzaman , Monash University, joarder@infotech.monash.edu.au
pp. 1-10

Increased Reliability with SSPiRAL Data Layouts (PDF)

Ahmed Amer , University of Pittsburgh, amer@cs.pitt.edu
Darrell D. E. Long , University of California, Santa Cruz, darrell@cs.ucsc.edu
Thomas Schwarz , Santa Clara University, tjschwarz@scu.edu
Jehan-Francois Paris , University of Houston, paris@cs.uh.edu
pp. 1-10

Bounding the Performance of BCMP Networks with Load-Dependent Stations (PDF)

Jonatha Anselmi , Politecnico di Milano, DEI, Italy, email: jonatha.anselmi@polimi.it
Paolo Cremonesi , Neptuny, via Durando 10, Milan, Italy, Politecnico di Milano, DEI, Italy
pp. 1-8

Comparison of Single-Rate Multicast Congestion Control Protocols vs. ASMP (PDF)

Christos Bouras , Research Academic Computer, Technology Institute and University of Patras, bouras@cti.gr
Apostolos Gkamas , Research Academic Computer, Technology Institute, gkamas@cti.gr
Georgios Kioumourtzis , Universal Dispensing Authority, University of Patras, gkioumou@ceid.upatras.gr
pp. 1-8

Runtime prediction models for Web-based system resources (PDF)

Sara Casolari , Department of Information Engineering, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, sara.casolari@unimore.it
Mauro Andreolini , Department of Information Engineering, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, mauro.andreolini@unimore.it
Michele Colajanni , Department of Information Engineering, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, michele.colajanni@unimore.it
pp. 1-8

Modeling and Analyzing the Effect of Microarchitecture Design Parameters on Microprocessor Soft Error Vulnerability (PDF)

Chang Burm Cho , Intelligent Design of Efficient Architecture Lab (IDEAL), Department of ECE, University of Florida, choreno@ufl.edu
Wangyuan Zhang , Intelligent Design of Efficient Architecture Lab (IDEAL), Department of ECE, University of Florida, zhangwy@ufl.edu
Tao Li , Intelligent Design of Efficient Architecture Lab (IDEAL), Department of ECE, University of Florida, taoli@ece.ufl.edu
pp. 1-10

Profiling, Prediction, and Capping of Power Consumption in Consolidated Environments (PDF)

Jeonghwan Choi , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, 16802, jechoi@cse.psu.edu
Sriram Govindan , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, 16802, sgovinda@cse.psu.edu
Bhuvan Urgaonkar , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, 16802, bhuvan@cse.psu.edu
Anand Sivasubramaniam , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, 16802, anand@cse.psu.edu
pp. 1-10

A Performance Model of Multi-Version Concurrency Control (PDF)

Pierangelo di Sanzo , Sapienza, Universita di Roma
Bruno Ciciani , Sapienza, Universita di Roma
Francesco Quaglia , Sapienza, Universita di Roma
Paolo Romano , INESC-ID
pp. 1-10

Failure Prediction Models for Proactive Fault Tolerance within Storage Systems (PDF)

Ben Eckart , Tennessee Technological University, bdeckart21@tntech.edu
Xin Chen , Tennessee Technological University, xchen21@tntech.edu
Xubin He , Tennessee Technological University, hexb@tntech.edu
Stephen L. Scott , Oak Ridge National Laboratory, scottsl@ornl.gov
pp. 1-8

Quantifying Temporal and Spatial Localities in Storage Workloads and Transformations by Data Path Components (PDF)

Cory Fox , Florida State University, Department of Computer Science, 253 Love Building, Tallahassee, FL 32306, USA. fox@cs.fsu.edu
Dragan Lojpur , Florida State University, Department of Computer Science, 253 Love Building, Tallahassee, FL 32306, USA. lojpur@cs.fsu.edu
An-I Andy Wang , Florida State University, Department of Computer Science, 253 Love Building, Tallahassee, FL 32306, USA. awang@cs.fsu.edu
pp. 1-10

Network Information Flow in Network of Queues (PDF)

Phillipa Gill , University of Calgary, psessini@ucalgary.ca
Zongpeng Li , University of Calgary, zongpeng@ucalgary.ca
Anirban Mahanti , Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, mahanti@cse.iitd.ernet.in
Jingxiang Luo , University of Calgary, jxluo@ucalgary.ca
Carey Williamson , University of Calgary, carey@ucalgary.ca
pp. 1-8

Optimal Layered Multicast with Network Coding: Mathematical Model and Empirical Studies (PDF)

Ajay Gopinathan , University of Calgary, agopinat@ucalgary.ca
Zongpeng Li , University of Calgary, zongpeng@ucalgary.ca
pp. 1-10

Optimizing Galois Field Arithmetic for Diverse Processor Architectures and Applications (PDF)

Kevin M. Greenan , Univ. of California, Santa Cruz, kmgreen@cs.ucsc.edu
Ethan L. Miller , Univ. of California, Santa Cruz, elm@cs.ucsc.edu
S.J. Thomas J. E. Schwarz , Santa Clara University, tjschwarz@scu.edu
pp. 1-10

TCP over WiMAX: A Measurement Study (PDF)

Emir Halepovic , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Canada, emirh@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
Qian Wu , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Canada, qianwu@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
Carey Williamson , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Canada, carey@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
Majid Ghaderi , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Canada, mghaderi@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
pp. 1-10

Taxis: Scalable Strong Anonymous Communication (PDF)

Andreas Hirt , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, hirt@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
Michael Jacobson , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, jacobs@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
Carey Williamson , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, carey@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
pp. 1-10

An Analysis of Hard Drive Energy Consumption (PDF)

Anthony Hylick , University of Cambridge, Computer Laboratory, anthony.hylick@cl.cam.ac.uk
Ripduman Sohan , University of Cambridge, Computer Laboratory, ripduman.sohan@cl.cam.ac.uk
Andrew Rice , University of Cambridge, Computer Laboratory, andrew.rice@cl.cam.ac.uk
Brian Jones , University of Cambridge, Computer Laboratory, brian.jones@cl.cam.ac.uk
pp. 1-10

A Markov Chain Model to Account for Multi-Rate Transmission and Node Cooperative Behavior in IEEE 802.11 Data Link Protocol (PDF)

Lakshmi Narasimhan Kannan , The Univ. of Texas at Dallas, lakshmi@utdallas.edu
Niraj Agarwal , Microsoft Corporation, niraj.agarwal@microsoft.com
Andrea Fumagalli , The Univ. of Texas at Dallas, andreaf@utdallas.edu
Marco Tacca , The Univ. of Texas at Dallas, mtacca@utdallas.edu
pp. 1-10

Operational Analysis of Parallel Servers (PDF)

Terence Kelly , HP Labs
Kai Shen , U. Rochester CS
Alex Zhang , HP Labs
Christopher Stewart , HP Labs & U. Rochester CS
pp. 1-10

Tackling the Memory Balancing Problem for Large-Scale Network Simulation (PDF)

Hyojeong Kim , Department of Computer Science, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907, hjkim@cs.purdue.edu
Kihong Park , Department of Computer Science, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907, park@cs.purdue.edu
pp. 1-10

On Impact of Dynamic Virtual Machine Reallocation on Data Center Efficiency (PDF)

Andrzej Kochut , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, 19 Skyline Drive, Hawthorne, NY, 10532, USA, akochut@us.ibm.com
pp. 1-8

Modelling and Validation of Response Times in Zoned RAID (PDF)

Abigail S. Lebrecht , Department of Computing, Imperial College London, 180 Queen's Gate, London SW7 2BZ, United Kingdom. as1102@doc.ic.ac.uk
Nicholas J. Dingle , Department of Computing, Imperial College London, 180 Queen's Gate, London SW7 2BZ, United Kingdom. njd200@doc.ic.ac.uk
William J. Knottenbelt , Department of Computing, Imperial College London, 180 Queen's Gate, London SW7 2BZ, United Kingdom. wjk@doc.ic.ac.uk
pp. 1-10

Characterization of Large-Scale SMTP Traffic: the Coexistence of the Poisson Process and Self-Similarity (PDF)

Youngjae Lee , Computer Science Department, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST), South Korea, yjlee@camars.kaist.ac.kr
Jin-Soo Kim , Computer Science Department, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST), South Korea, jinsoo@cs.kaist.ac.kr
pp. 1-10

GRAID: A Green RAID Storage Architecture with Improved Energy Efficiency and Reliability (PDF)

Bo Mao , Key Laboratory of Data Storage Systems, Ministry of Education of China; College of Computer Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Email: hustmb@smail.hust.edu.cn
Dan Feng , Key Laboratory of Data Storage Systems, Ministry of Education of China; College of Computer Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Email: dfeng@hust.edu.cn
Hong Jiang , Department of Computer Science & Engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Email: jiang@cse.unl.edu
Suzhen Wu , Key Laboratory of Data Storage Systems, Ministry of Education of China; College of Computer Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Email: suzhen66@smail.hust.edu.cn
Jianxi Chen , Key Laboratory of Data Storage Systems, Ministry of Education of China; College of Computer Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Lingfang Zeng , Key Laboratory of Data Storage Systems, Ministry of Education of China; College of Computer Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
pp. 1-8

Allocation and Admission Policies for Service Streams (PDF)

Michele Mazzucco , Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK, Michele.Mazzucco@ncl.ac.uk
Isi Mitrani , Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK, Isi.Mitrani@ncl.ac.uk
Mike Fisher , BT Group, Adastral Park, UK
Paul McKee , BT Group, Adastral Park, UK
pp. 1-8

Realistic Topology Modeling for the Internet BGP Infrastructure (PDF)

Veena Raghavan , Department of ECE, Georgia Institute of Technology, raghavan@ece.gatech.edu
George Riley , Department of ECE, Georgia Institute of Technology, riley@ece.gatech.edu
Talal Jaafar , Department of ECE, Georgia Institute of Technology, jaafar@ece.gatech.edu
pp. 1-8

Modeling Software Contention Using Colored Petri Nets (PDF)

Nilabja Roy , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37203, USA
Akshay Dabholkar , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37203, USA
Nathan Hamm , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37203, USA
Larry Dowdy , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37203, USA
Douglas Schmidt , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37203, USA
pp. 1-8

Sensitivity Based Power Management of Enterprise Storage Systems (PDF)

Sriram Sankar , Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22904, ss2wn@cs.virginia.edu
Sudhanva Gurumurthi , Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22904, gurumurthi@cs.virginia.edu
Mircea R. Stan , Department of Electrical and Computer Engg., University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22904, mircea@virginia.edu
pp. 1-10

Evaluating the Effectiveness of Information Extraction in Real-World Storage Management (PDF)

Aameek Singh , IBM Almaden Research Center, aameek.singh@us.ibm.com
Sandeep Uttamchandani , IBM Almaden Research Center, sandeepu@us.ibm.com
Yin Wang , University of Michigan, yinw@eecs.umich.edu
pp. 1-10

On the Stability of Best Effort Flow Control Mechanisms in On-Chip Architectures (PDF)

Mohammad S. Talebi , School of Computer Science, IPM, mstalebi@ipm.ir
Ahmad Khonsari , ECE Department, University of Tehran, School of Computer Science, IPM, ak@ece.ut.ac.ir, ak@ipm.ir
pp. 1-8

Finding Good Configurations in High-Dimensional Spaces: Doing More with Less (PDF)

Risi Thonangi , Duke University, rvt@cs.duke.edu
Vamsidhar Thummala , Duke University, vamsi@cs.duke.edu
Shivnath Babu , Duke University, shivnath@cs.duke.edu
pp. 1-10

AKCE: An Efficient and Accurate K-Coverage Eligibility Algorithm in Wireless Sensor Networks (PDF)

Meng-Chun Wueng , Yuan Ze University, s929401@mail.yzu.edu.tw
Shyh-In Hwang , Yuan Ze University, shyhin@cs.yzu.edu.tw
Chia-Hsuan Ho , Yuan Ze University, freeanita17@yahoo.com.tw
pp. 1-8

PEARL: Performance, Energy, and Reliability Balanced Dynamic Data Redistribution for Next Generation Disk Arrays (PDF)

Tao Xie , San Diego State University, xie@cs.sdsu.edu
Yao Sun , Teradata Corporation, calvin.sun@teradata.com
pp. 1-8

A Large-scale and Decentralized Infrastructure for Multiple Queries Optimization and Aggregation (PDF)

Xiaoyu Yang , Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio 45221, Email: yangxu@ececs.uc.edu
Yiming Hu , Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio 45221, Email: yhu@ececs.uc.edu
pp. 1-8

Multi-Torrent: a Performance Study (PDF)

Yan Yang , Univ. of Southern California
Alix L.H. Chow , Univ. of Southern California
Leana Golubchik , Univ. of Southern California
pp. 1-8

A Novel and Generic Model for Synthesizing Disk I/O Traffic Based on The Alpha-stable Process (PDF)

Qiang Zou , School of Computer, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China; Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics, China, hustmathcs@gmail.com
Dan Feng , School of Computer, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China; Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics, China, dfeng@hust.edu.cn
Yifeng Zhu , University of Maine, Orono, ME, USA, zhu@eece.maine.edu
Hong Jiang , University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE, USA, jiang@cse.unl.edu
Xiaohu Ge , Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China
Zhihua Zhou , School of Computer, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China
pp. 1-10

Filtering Effects of Media Merging in a Cache Hierarchy (PDF)

Jean Cao , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Email: caox@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
Carey Williamson , Department of Computer Science, University of Calgary, Email: carey@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
pp. 1-3

Lifetime Estimation of Large IEEE 802.15.4 Compliant Wireless Sensor Networks (PDF)

Carol J. Fung , University of Waterloo, Canada, j22fung@cs.uwaterloo.ca
Yanni Ellen Liu , University of Manitoba, Canada, yliu@cs.umanitoba.ca
pp. 1-4

Evaluating the Effectiveness of REDCAP to Recover the Locality Missed by Today's Linux Systems (PDF)

Pilar Gonzalez-Ferez , Universidad de Murcia, pilar@ditec.um.es
Juan Piernas , Universidad de Murcia, piernas@ditec.um.es
Toni Cortes , U. Poliècnica de Catalunya and Barcelona Supercomp. Center, toni@ac.upc.es
pp. 1-4

Influence of Propagation Modeling on VoIP Quality Performance in Wireless Mesh Network Simulation (PDF)

Arlen Nascimento , Department of Computer Science, Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM), Brazil, aon1@dcc.ufam.edu.br
Saulo Queiroz , Department of Computer Science, Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM), Brazil, sjbq@dcc.ufam.edu.br
Leandro Galvao , Department of Computer Science, Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM), Brazil, galvao@dcc.ufam.edu.br
Edjair Mota , Department of Computer Science, Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM), Brazil, edjair@dcc.ufam.edu.br
Edson Nascimento , Department of Computer Science, Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM), Brazil, edson@dcc.ufam.edu.br
pp. 1-3

Using Non-Volatile RAM as a Write Buffer for NAND Flash Memory-based Storage Devices (PDF)

Sungmin Park , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, syrilo@hanyang.ac.kr
Hoyoung Jung , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, horong@hanyang.ac.kr
Hyoki Shim , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, dahlia@hanyang.ac.kr
Sooyong Kang , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, sykang@hanyang.ac.kr
Jaehyuk Cha , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, chajh@hanyang.ac.kr
pp. 1-3

Write Buffer-aware Address Mapping for NAND Flash Memory Devices (PDF)

Sungmin Park , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, syrilo@hanyang.ac.kr
Hoyoung Jung , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, horong@hanyang.ac.kr
Hyoki Shim , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, dahlia@hanyang.ac.kr
Sooyong Kang , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, sykang@hanyang.ac.kr
Jaehyuk Cha , Division of Information and Communications, Hanyang Univ., Seoul, 133-791, Korea, chajh@hanyang.ac.kr
pp. 1-2

A Discrete Event Simulation Model for Parallel Data Transfer Applications (PDF)

John Sherrell , Kansas State University, jms7373@ksu.edu
Jason S. Wertz , Sandia National Laboratories, jswertz@sandia.gov
Don Gruenbacher , Kansas State University, grue@ksu.edu
pp. 1-2

Efficient index lookup for De-duplication backup system (PDF)

Youjip Won , Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering, Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea
Jongmyeong Ban , Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering, Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea
Jaehong Min , Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering, Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea
Jungpil Hur , MacroImpact, Seoul, Korea
Sangkyu Oh , MacroImpact, Seoul, Korea
Jangsun Lee , MacroImpact, Seoul, Korea
pp. 1-3

An Energy-efficient Buffer Cache Replacement Algorithm (PDF)

Jianhui Yue , Univ. of Maine, Orono, jyue@eece.maine.edu
Yifeng Zhu , Univ. of Maine, Orono, zhu@eece.maine.edu
Zhao Cai , Univ. of Maine, Orono, zcai@eece.maine.edu
pp. 1-2
102 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))