The Community for Technology Leaders
2012 16th International Symposium on Wearable Computers (2006)
Montreux, Switzerland
Oct. 11, 2006 to Oct. 14, 2006
ISSN: 1550-4816
ISBN: 1-4244-0597-1
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Papers
Papers

Sponsors (PDF)

pp. xii

Towards Less Supervision in Activity Recognition from Wearable Sensors (Abstract)

Bernt Schiele , Computer Science Department, TU Darmstadt, Germany. schiele@mis.tu-darmstadt.de
Tam Huynh , Computer Science Department, TU Darmstadt, Germany. huynh@mis.tu-darmstadt.de
pp. 3-10

Discovering Characteristic Actions from On-Body Sensor Data (Abstract)

Thad Starner , College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA 30332 USA. thad@cc.gatech.edu
David Minnen , College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA 30332 USA. dminn@cc.gatech.edu
Charles Isbell , College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA 30332 USA. isbell@cc.gatech.edu
Irfan Essa , College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA 30332 USA. irfan@cc.gatech.edu
pp. 11-18

Evaluation of an Eyes-Free Cursorless Numeric Entry System for Wearable Computers (Abstract)

Gabor Blasko , Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, New York, NY, 10027. gblasko@cs.columbia.edu
Steven Feiner , Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, New York, NY, 10027. feiner@cs.columbia.edu
pp. 21-28

Evaluation of Four Wearable Computer Pointing Devices for Drag and Drop Tasks when Stationary and Walking (Abstract)

Joanne Zucco , Wearable Computer Laboratory, School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Austra
Bruce Thomas , Wearable Computer Laboratory, School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Austra
Karen Grimmer , Centre of Allied Health, School of Health Sciences, University of South Australia, Adelaide, SA, 500
pp. 29-36

Using the "HotWire" to Study Interruptions in Wearable Computing Primary Tasks (Abstract)

Kare Synnes , Media Technology, Lule? University of Technology, SE-97187 Lule?, Sweden. kare.synnes@ltu.se
Hendrik Witt , TZI, Wearable Computing Lab., University of Bremen, D-28359 Bremen, Germany. hwitt@tzi.de
Peter Parnes , Media Technology, Lule? University of Technology, SE-97187 Lule?, Sweden. peter.parnes@ltu.se
Mikael Drugge , Media Technology, Lule? University of Technology, SE-97187 Lule?, Sweden. mikael.drugge@ltu.se
pp. 37-44

A 10mW Wearable Positioning System (Abstract)

Cliff Randell , Mobile and Wearable Computing group, University of Bristol
Henk Muller , Mobile and Wearable Computing group, University of Bristol
Andrew Moss , Mobile and Wearable Computing group, University of Bristol
pp. 47-50

Modelling and Handling Seams in Wide-Area Sensor Networks (Abstract)

Dieter Schmalstieg , Institute for Computer Graphics and Vision, Graz University of Technology. schmalstieg@icg.tu-graz.a
Joseph Newman , Institute for Computer Graphics and Vision, Graz University of Technology, Computer Laboratory, Univ
Gerhard Schall , Institute for Computer Graphics and Vision, Graz University of Technology. schall@icg.tu-graz.ac.at
pp. 51-54

User Localization Using Wearable Electromagnetic Tracker and Orientation Sensor (Abstract)

Akihiro Hamaguchi , Graduate School of Information Science, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, 8916-5 Takayama-ch
Masayuki Kanbara , Graduate School of Information Science, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, 8916-5 Takayama-ch
Naokazu Yokoya , Graduate School of Information Science, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, 8916-5 Takayama-ch
pp. 55-58

Augmenting spatial awareness with Haptic Radar (Abstract)

Masatoshi Ishikawa , Department of Information Physics and Computing, University of Tokyo, 7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo
Alvaro Cassinelli , Department of Information Physics and Computing, University of Tokyo, 7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo
Carson Reynolds , Department of Information Physics and Computing, University of Tokyo, 7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo
pp. 61-64

Design and Evaluation of a Wearable Optical Sensor for Monitoring Seated Spinal Posture (Abstract)

Brian Caulfield , School of Physiotherapy and Performance Science, University College Dublin, Ireland. brian.caulfield
Barry Smyth , School of Computer Science and Informatics, University College Dublin, Ireland. barry.smyth@ucd.ie
Lucy Dunne , School of Computer Science and Informatics, University College Dublin, Ireland. lucy.dunne@ucd.ie
Pauline Walsh , School of Physiotherapy and Performance Science, University College Dublin, Ireland. pauline.walsh2@
pp. 65-68

Textile Pressure Sensor for Muscle Activity and Motion Detection (Abstract)

Paul Lukowicz , Institute for Computer Systems and Networks, UMIT Hall, Austria. paul.lukowicz@umit.at
Jan Meyer , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Zurich, Switzerland. meyer@ife.ee.ethz.ch
Gerhard Troster , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Zurich, Switzerland. troester@ife.ee.ethz.ch
pp. 69-72

Assessing the Wearability of Wearable Computers (Abstract)

Michael Gargalakos , Institute of Communication and Computer Systems, Athens, Greece
Daniel Deen-Williams , School of Electronic, Electrical&Computer Engineering, The University of Birmingham, Birmingham, B15
James Knight , School of Electronic, Electrical&Computer Engineering, The University of Birmingham, Birmingham, B15
Stamatina Anastopoulou , Research&Development Dept., Ellinogermaniki Agogi, Athens, Greece
Theodoros Arvanitis , School of Electronic, Electrical&Computer Engineering, The University of Birmingham, Birmingham, B15
Sofoklis Sotiriou , Research&Development Dept., Ellinogermaniki Agogi, Athens, Greece
Chris Baber , School of Electronic, Electrical&Computer Engineering, The University of Birmingham, Birmingham, B15
pp. 75-82

A Construction Kit for Electronic Textiles (Abstract)

Leah Buechley , Craft Technology Group, University of Colorado at Boulder, Department of Computer Science. buechley@
pp. 83-90

Managing Smart Garments (Abstract)

Aaron Toney , Wearable Computing Laboratory, School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Austr
Bruce Thomas , Wearable Computing Laboratory, School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Austr
Wynand Marais , Wearable Computing Laboratory, School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Austr
pp. 91-94

Combining Motion Sensors and Ultrasonic Hands Tracking for Continuous Activity Recognition in a Maintenance Scenario (Abstract)

Georg Ogris , Institute for Computer Systems and Networks, UMIT Innsbruck, Austria. georg.ogris@umit.at
Holger Junker , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland. junker@ife.ee.ethz.ch
Gerhard Troster , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland. troester@ife.ee.ethz.ch
Thomas Stiefmeier , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland. stiefmeier@ife.ee.ethz.ch
Paul Lukowicz , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland; Institute for Computer Systems and Networks, UMIT I
pp. 97-104

Workers' Routine Activity Recognition using Body Movements and Location Information (Abstract)

Haruo Noma , ATR Knowledge Science Laboratories. noma@atr.jp
Futoshi Naya , ATR Knowledge Science Laboratories. naya@atr.jp
Ren Ohmura , ATR Knowledge Science Laboratories. ren@atr.jp
Kiyoshi Kogure , ATR Knowledge Science Laboratories. kogure@atr.jp
Fusako Takayanagi , ATR Knowledge Science Laboratories. fusako@atr.jp
pp. 105-108

VibeFones: Socially Aware Mobile Phones (Abstract)

Alex Pentland , MIT Media Lab. pentland@media.mit.edu
Anmol Madan , MIT Media Lab. anmol@media.mit.edu
pp. 109-112

Palm-sized Attraction Force Display Exploiting the Nonlinearity of Perception (Abstract)

Hideyuki Ando , NTT Communication Science Laboratories, NTT Corporation, 3-1 Morinosato Wakamiya, Atsugi-shi, Kanaga
Tomohiro Amemiya , NTT Communication Science Laboratories, NTT Corporation, 3-1 Morinosato Wakamiya, Atsugi-shi, Kanaga
Taro Maeda , NTT Communication Science Laboratories, NTT Corporation, 3-1 Morinosato Wakamiya, Atsugi-shi, Kanaga
pp. 115-116

Experience Map Creation by Virtual WLAN Location Estimation (Abstract)

Kenji Matsuzawa , School of Engineering, Nagoya University
Yasushi Hirano , Information Technology Center, Nagoya University
Kenji Mase , Information Technology Center, Nagoya University. mase@nagoya-u.jp
Shoji Kajita , Information Technology Center, Nagoya University
pp. 117-118

Wearable Biomedical Monitoring System Using TextileNet (Abstract)

Mihoko Kunita , Future University-Hakodate, 116-2, Kamedanakano, Hakodate, Hokkaido, 041-8655, Japan. g3106004@fun.a
Junichi Akita , Kanazawa University, Kakuma, Kanazawa, Ishikawa, 920-8667, Japan. akita@is.t.kanazawa-u.ac.jp
Masashi Toda , Future University-Hakodate, 116-2, Kamedanakano, Hakodate, Hokkaido, 041-8655, Japan. toda@fun.ac.jp
Keisuke Yanagihara , Future University-Hakodate, 116-2, Kamedanakano, Hakodate, Hokkaido, 041-8655, Japan. g2105030@fun.a
Shigeru Sakurazawa , Future University-Hakodate, 116-2, Kamedanakano, Hakodate, Hokkaido, 041-8655, Japan. sakura@fun.ac.
Kunio Iwata , Future University-Hakodate, 116-2, Kamedanakano, Hakodate, Hokkaido, 041-8655, Japan. iwata@fun.ac.j
pp. 119-120

FingerMouse - Architecture of an ASIC-based Mobile Stereovision Smart Camera (Abstract)

G. Troster , Wearable Computing Laboratory, ETH Z?rich. troester@ife.ee.ethz.ch
P. La Hamette , Wearable Computing Laboratory, ETH Z?rich. pdelaham@ife.ee.ethz.ch
pp. 121-122

A Computer System for Accessing Ambient Display and Computing Resources in Wearable Environments (Abstract)

Asim Smailagic , Carnegie Mellon University, 5000 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213. asim@cs.cmu.edu
Lu Luo , Carnegie Mellon University, 5000 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213. luluo@cs.cmu.edu
Harvey Vrsalovic , Carnegie Mellon University, 5000 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213. harveyv@ece.cmu.edu
Matthew Hornyak , Carnegie Mellon University, 5000 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213. matth@cs.cmu.edu
Daniel Siewiorek , Carnegie Mellon University, 5000 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213. dps@cs.cmu.edu
pp. 123-124

Low Power Wearable Audio Player Using Human Body Communications (Abstract)

Namjun Cho , Dept. of EECS, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). tornado@eeinfo.kaist.ac.k
Seung Lee , Dept. of EECS, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). tornado@eeinfo.kaist.ac.k
Seong-jun Song , Dept. of EECS, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). tornado@eeinfo.kaist.ac.k
Hoi-jun Yoo , Dept. of EECS, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). tornado@eeinfo.kaist.ac.k
pp. 125-126

Practical Context Awareness for GSM Cell Phones (Abstract)

Ian Anderson , Department of Computer Science, University of Bristol, U.K. anderson@cs.bris.ac.uk
Henk Muller , Department of Computer Science, University of Bristol, U.K.
pp. 127-128

ActionGSR: A Combination Galvanic Skin Response-Accelerometer for Physiological Measurements in Active Environments (Abstract)

Thad Starner , College of Computing, GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. thad@cc.gatech.edu
Peter Presti , Interactive Media Technology Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. peter.presti@imtc.gatech.edu
Tracy Westeyn , College of Computing, GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. turtle@cc.gatech.edu
pp. 129-130

Design and Analysis of a Compact Dual-Element Off-Axis Display (Abstract)

Ozan Cakmakci , CREOL, College of Optics and Photonics, University of Central Florida. ozan.cakmakci@gmail.com
Jannick Rolland , CREOL, College of Optics and Photonics, University of Central Florida
Adam Oranchak , Human Artifact R&D, Brooklyn, New York
pp. 131-132

Designing Wearables (Abstract)

Richard Hurford , Smart Clothes&Wearable Technology Research Group, University of Wales, Newport. richard.hurford1@new
Povl Larsen , Smart Clothes&Wearable Technology Research Group, University of Wales, Newport. plarsen-pdr@uwic.ac.
Adam Martin , Smart Clothes&Wearable Technology Research Group, University of Wales, Newport. adam.martin@newport.
pp. 133-134

Maximum Power Point Tracking (MPPT) for on-body Context Systems (Abstract)

Nagendra Bharatula , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland, E-mail: bhargava@ife.ee.ethz.ch
Jamie Ward , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland
Paul Lukowicz , Department of Mathematics and Informatics, University of Passau, Germany
Gerhard Troster , Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Z?rich, Switzerland
pp. 135-136

Wearable Sensor Network for Body Kinematics Monitoring (Abstract)

J.H. Correia , University of Minho, Dept. Industrial Electronics, Campus Azurem, 4800-058 Guimar?es, Portugal. lroc
L.A. Rocha , University of Minho, Dept. Industrial Electronics, Campus Azurem, 4800-058 Guimar?es, Portugal. lroc
pp. 137-138

A Low-power Star-topology Body Area Network Controller for Periodic Data Monitoring Around and Inside the Human Body (Abstract)

Kyomin Sohn , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
Sungdae Choi , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
Seong-jun Song , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
Jerald Yoo , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
Jooyoung Kim , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
Hoi-jun Yoo , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
Hyejung Kim , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea. next@eeinfo.kaist.ac.kr
pp. 139-140

A Wearable Textile for Monitoring Respiration, Using a Yarn-Based Sensor (Abstract)

Chien-fa Tang , Taiwan Textile Research Institute. cftang0277@ttri.org.tw
Chien-lung Shen , Taiwan Textile Research Institute. Clshen.0865@ttri.org.tw
Ching-tang Huang , Taiwan Textile Research Institute. cthuang.0528@ttri.org.tw
pp. 141-142

Wearable Band Using a Fabric-Based Sensor for Exercise ECG Monitoring (Abstract)

Ching-tang Huang , Department of Product Development, Taiwan Textile Research Institute, Tucheng, Taipei County, Taiwan
Tsair Kao , Institute of Biomedical Engineering National Yang-Ming University, Taipei, Taiwan. tskao@ym.edu.tw
Chien-lung Shen , Institute of Biomedical Engineering National Yang-Ming University, Taipei, Taiwan; Department of Pro
Jun-huei Lee , Department of Product Development, Taiwan Textile Research Institute, Tucheng, Taipei County, Taiwan
pp. 143-144

Eye of the Beholder: Phone-Based Text-Recognition for the Visually-Impaired (Abstract)

Pablo Quinones , Carnegie Mellon University. pag@andrew.cmu.edu
Asim Smailagic , Carnegie Mellon University. asim@andrew.cmu.edu
Priya Narasimhan , Carnegie Mellon University. priyan@andrew.cmu.edu
Matthew Lee , Carnegie Mellon University. mllee@andrew.cmu.edu
Dan Siewiorek , Carnegie Mellon University. ds1p@andrew.cmu.edu
Tudor Dumitras , Carnegie Mellon University. tdumitra@andrew.cmu.edu
pp. 145-146

Trinetra: Assistive Technologies for Grocery Shopping for the Blind (Abstract)

Aaron Paulos , Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA
Dan Rossi , Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA
Andrew Williams , Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA
Priya Narasimhan , Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA
Patrick Lanigan , Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA
pp. 147-148

Applying Bayesian Networks to Sensor-Driven Systems (Abstract)

Alan Mycroft , Computer Laboratory, 15 JJ Thomson Avenue, Cambridge, CB3 0FD, UK. Email: am@cl.cam.ac.uk
Eleftheria Katsiri , DSE, Imperial College London, 180, Queens Gate, London SW7 2AZ, UK. Email: ek@doc.ic.ac.uk
pp. 149-150

Author Index (PDF)

pp. 151

Covers (PDF)

pp. C1

Covers (PDF)

pp. C2
104 ms
(Ver )