The Community for Technology Leaders
Digest of Papers. Third International Symposium on Wearable Computers (1999)
San Francisco, California
Oct. 18, 1999 to Oct. 19, 1999
ISSN: 1530-0811
ISBN: 0-7695-0428-0

Committees (PDF)

pp. xiii

Reviewers (PDF)

pp. xiv
Invited Papers

Situated Computing: Bridging the Gap between Intention and Action (Abstract)

Anatole V. Gershman , Andersen Consulting
Joseph F. McCarthy , Andersen Consulting
Andrew E. Fano , Andersen Consulting
pp. 3
Session 1: Context-Awareness

Virtual Information Towers-A Metaphor for Intuitive, Location-Aware Information Access in a Mobile Environment (Abstract)

Alexander Leonhardi , University of Stuttgart
Uwe Kubach , University of Stuttgart
Kurt Rothermel , University of Stuttgart
Andreas Fritz , University of Stuttgart
pp. 15

The Conference Assistant: Combining Context-Awareness with Wearable Computing (Abstract)

Anind K. Dey , Georgia Institute of Technology
Daniel Salber , Georgia Institute of Technology
Gregory D. Abowd , Georgia Institute of Technology
Masayasu Futakawa , Hitachi Research Laboratory
pp. 21

Indoor Navigation Using a Diverse Set of Cheap, Wearable Sensors (Abstract)

Andrew R. Golding , Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratory
Neal Lesh , Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratory
pp. 29

Realtime Personal Positioning System for Wearable Computers (Abstract)

Hisashi Aoki , Massachusetts Institute Technology
Bernt Schiele , Massachusetts Institute Technology
Alex Pentland , Massachusetts Institute Technology
pp. 37
Session 2: Systems and Architectures

Co-Modal Browser-An Interface for Wearable Computers (Abstract)

Jonny Farringdon , Philips Research Laboratories
Vanessa Oni , Philips Research Laboratories
Chi Ming Kan , Philips Research Laboratories
Leo Poll , Philips Research Laboratories
pp. 45

MEX: A Distributed Software Architecture for Wearable Computers (Abstract)

Juha Lehikoinen , Nokia Research Center
Jussi Holopainen , Nokia Research Center
Marja Salmimaa , Nokia Research Center
Angelo Aldrovandi , Nokia Research Center
pp. 52

Wearing Bike Components (Abstract)

Jo Herstad , University of Oslo
Do Van Thanh , Ericsson
pp. 58

MoCCA: A Mobile Communication and Computing Architecture (Abstract)

Asim Smailagic , Carnegie Mellon University
Dan Siewiorek , Carnegie Mellon University
Len Bass , Carnegie Mellon University
pp. 64
Session 3: Personal Applications

Smart Sight: A Tourist Assistant System (Abstract)

Jie Yang , Carnegie Mellon University
Weiyi Yang , Carnegie Mellon University
Matthias Denecke , Carnegie Mellon University
Alex Waibel , Carnegie Mellon University
pp. 73

Situated Documentaries: Embedding Multimedia Presentations in the Real World (Abstract)

Tobias Höllerer , Columbia University
Steven Feiner , Columbia University
John Pavlik , Columbia University
pp. 79

A Run on Sterling-Personal Finance on the Move (Abstract)

Lee Cooper , University of Birmingham
Chris Baber , University of Birmingham
Graham Johnson , NCR Knowledge Lab
pp. 87
Session 6: Hardware Components

A Small Planar Inverted-F Antenna for Wearable Applications (Abstract)

Pekka Salonen , Tampere University of Technology
Lauri Sydänheimo , Tampere University of Technology
Mikko Keskilammi , Tampere University of Technology
Markku Kivikoski , Tampere University of Technology
pp. 95

Non-Ideal Battery Properties and Low Power Operation in Wearable Computing (Abstract)

Thomas L. Martin , Carnegie Mellon University
Daniel P. Siewiorek , Carnegie Mellon University
pp. 101

Wearable Sensor Badge and Sensor Jacket for Context Awareness (Abstract)

Jonny Farringdon , Philips Research Laboratories
Andrew J. Moore , Philips Research Laboratories
Nancy Tilbury , Philips Research Laboratories
James Church , Philips Research Laboratories
Pieter D. Biemond , Philips Research Laboratories
pp. 107
Session 7: Panel
Session 8: Collaboration 1

When Cyborgs Meet: Building Communities of Cooperating Wearable Agents (Abstract)

Gerd Kortuem , University of Oregon
Jay Schneider , University of Oregon
Jim Suruda , University of Oregon
Steve Fickas , University of Oregon
Zary Segall , University of Oregon
pp. 124

Asymmetries in Collaborative Wearable Interfaces (Abstract)

M. Billinghurst , University of Washington
H. Kato , University of Washington
S. Bee , BT Laboratories
J. Bowskill , BT Laboratories
pp. 133

Wearable Computing Meets Ubiquitous Computing: Reaping the Best of Both Worlds (Abstract)

Bradley J. Rhodes , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Nelson Minar , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Josh Weaver , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
pp. 141
Session 9: Collaboration 2

"Where Are You Pointing At?" A Study of Remote Collaboration in a Wearable Videoconference System (Abstract)

Martin Bauer , University of Stuttgart
Gerd Kortuem , University of Oregon
Zary Segall , University of Oregon
pp. 151

Wearable Location Mediated Telecommunications: A First Step Towards Contextual Communication (Abstract)

J. Bowskill , BT Laboratories
M. Billinghurst , BT Laboratories
B. Crabtree , University of Washington
N. Dyer , University of Washington
A. Loffler , University of Washington
pp. 159
Poster Papers

Batteries and Power Supplies for Wearable and Ubiquitous Computing (Abstract)

Robert Hahn , Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration
Herbert Reichl , Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration
pp. 168

Sulawesi: A Wearable Application Integration Framework (Abstract)

Neill J. Newman , University of Essex
Adrian F. Clark , University of Essex
pp. 170

The Matchbox: A Small Wearable Platform (Abstract)

Greg DeFouw , Stanford University
Vaughan Pratt , Stanford University
pp. 172

A Wearable Context-Awareness Component (Abstract)

Albrecht Schmidt , University of Karlsruhe
Hans W. Gellersen , University of Karlsruhe
Michael Beigl , University of Karlsruhe
pp. 176

Acceleration Sensing Glove (Abstract)

John Kangchun Perng , University of California at Berkeley
Brian Fisher , University of California at Berkeley
Seth Hollar , University of California at Berkeley
Kristofer S.J. Pister , University of California at Berkeley
pp. 178

Force XXI LandWarrior: Implementing Spoken Commands for Soldier Wearable Systems (Abstract)

Gary Cleveland , Motorola, Systems Solutions Group
Linda McNinch , Motorola, Systems Solutions Group
pp. 183

Wearable Computers for the Fire Service and Police Force: Technological and Human Factors (Abstract)

David J. Haniff , The University of Birmingham
Chris Baber , The University of Birmingham
pp. 185

CMU Wearable Computers for Real-Time Speech Translation (Abstract)

Asim Smailagic , Carnegie Mellon University
Dan Siewiorek , Carnegie Mellon University
Richard Martin , Carnegie Mellon University
Denis Reilly , Carnegie Mellon University
pp. 187

Determination of Placement of a Body-Attached Mouse as a Pointing Input Device for Wearable Computers (Abstract)

Bruce Thomas , University of South Australia
Karen Grimmer , University of South Australia
Dan Makovec , University of South Australia
Joanne Zucco , University of South Australia
Bernard Gunther , University of South Australia
pp. 193

The WearBoy: A Platform for Low-Cost Public Wearable Devices (Abstract)

Peter Ljungstrand , Viktoria Institute
Staffan Björk , Viktoria Institute
Jennica Falk , Viktoria Institute
pp. 195

Context Sensing with the Twiddler Keyboard (Abstract)

Daniel Ashbrook , Georgia Institute of Technology
pp. 197

The WristCam as Input Device (Abstract)

Andrew Vardy , Memorial University of Newfoundland
John Robinson , Memorial University of Newfoundland
Li-Te Cheng , Memorial University of Newfoundland
pp. 199

Combining Positional Information with Visual Media (Abstract)

Neill Campbell , University of Bristol
Henk Muller , University of Bristol
Cliff Randall , University of Bristol
pp. 203

Author Index (PDF)

pp. 207
81 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))