The Community for Technology Leaders
2013 IEEE International Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software (ISPASS) (2008)
Austin, TX, USA
Apr. 20, 2008 to Apr. 22, 2008
ISBN: 978-1-4244-2232-6
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Papers

Commentary (Abstract)

pp. xiii-xiv

Quick Performance Models Quickly: Closely-Coupled Partitioned Simulation on FPGAs (Abstract)

Arvind , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Computation Structures Group, arvind@csail.mit.edu
Muralidaran Vijayaraghavan , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Computation Structures Group, vmurali@csail.mit.edu
Michael Pellauer , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Computation Structures Group, pellauer@csail.mit.edu
Michael Adler , Intel Corporation, VSSAD Group, Michael.Adler@intel.com
Joel Emer , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Computation Structures Group; Intel Corporation, VSSAD Group, Joel.Emer@intel.com
pp. 1-10

Program Phase Detection based on Critical Basic Block Transitions (Abstract)

Martin Burtscher , Center for Distributed and Grid Computing, The University of Texas at Austin, burtscher@ices.utexas.edu
Paruj Ratanaworabhan , Computer Systems Laboratory, Cornell University, paruj@csl.cornell.edu
pp. 11-21

An Adaptive Synchronization Technique for Parallel Simulation of Networked Clusters (Abstract)

Ayose Falcon , Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, ayose.falcon@hp.com
Daniel Ortega , Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, daniel.ortega@hp.com
Paolo Faraboschi , Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, paolo.faraboschi@hp.com
pp. 22-31

Conservative vs. Optimistic Parallelization of Stateful Network Intrusion Detection (Abstract)

Yung Ryn Choe , Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907, yung@purdue.edu
Vijay S. Pai , Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907, vpai@purdue.edu
Derek L. Schuff , Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907, dschuff@purdue.edu
pp. 32-43

Computer Aided Engineering of Cluster Computers (Abstract)

William R. Dieter , University of Kentucky, dieter@engr.uky.edu
Henry G. Dietz , University of Kentucky, hankd@engr.uky.edu
pp. 44-53

An Analysis of I/O And Syscalls In Critical Sections And Their Implications For Transactional Memory (Abstract)

Lee Baugh , Dept. of Computer Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, leebaugh@cs.uiuc.edu
Craig Zilles , Dept. of Computer Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, zilles@cs.uiuc.edu
pp. 54-62

Full-System Critical Path Analysis (Abstract)

Ali G. Saidi , The University of Michigan, Department of EECS, saidi@eecs.umich.edu
Steven K. Reinhardt , The University of Michigan, Department of EECS; Reservoir Labs, Portland, Oregon, stever@reservoir.com
Trevor Mudge , The University of Michigan, Department of EECS, tnm@eecs.umich.edu
Nathan L. Binkert , Hewlett-Packard Labs, Palo Alto, California, binkert@hp.com
pp. 63-74

Explaining the Impact of Network Transport Protocols on SIP Proxy Performance (Abstract)

Ian C. Fedeli , Rice University, ifedeli@rice.edu
Scott Rixner , Rice University, rixner@rice.edu
Kaushik Kumar Ram , Rice University, kaushik@rice.edu
Alan L. Cox , Rice University, alc@rice.edu
pp. 75-84

Performance Analysis of ARQ Protocols using a Theorem Prover (Abstract)

Osman Hasan , Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, o_hasan@ece.concordia.ca
Sofiene Tahar , Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, tahar@ece.concordia.ca
pp. 85-94

Investigating the TLB Behavior of High-end Scientific Applications on Commodity Microprocessors (Abstract)

Collin McCurdy , Future Technologies Group, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, cmccurdy@ornl.gov
Jeffrey Vetter , Future Technologies Group, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, vetter@ornl.gov
Alan L. Coxa , Department of Computer Science, Rice University, alc@rice.edu
pp. 95-104

Scientific Computing Applications on a Stream Processor (Abstract)

Xiaobo Yan , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China, Email: yxb@nudt.edu.cn
Xuejun Yang , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China, Email: xjyang@nudt.edu.cn
Ian Rogers , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China; The University of Manchester, Manchester, UK, Email: ian.rogers@manchester.ac.uk
Ying Zhang , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China, Email: zhangying@nudt.edu.cn
Yu Deng , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China, Email: dy@nudt.edu.cn
Guibin Wang , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China, Email: gbw@nudt.edu.cn
Gen Li , PDL, School of Computer, National University of Defence Technology, ChangSha, China, Email: genli@nudt.edu.cn
pp. 105-114

Pinpointing and Exploiting Opportunities for Enhancing Data Reuse (Abstract)

Gabriel Marin , Department of Computer Science, Rice University, 6100 Main St., MS 132, Houston, TX 77005, mgabi@cs.rice.edu
John Mellor-Crummey , Department of Computer Science, Rice University, 6100 Main St., MS 132, Houston, TX 77005, johnmc@cs.rice.edu
pp. 115-126

Processor Performance Modeling using Symbolic Simulation (Abstract)

Omid Azizi , Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Dinesh Patil , Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Jamison Collins , Microarchitecture Research Lab (MRL), Intel Corporation
Hong Wang , Microarchitecture Research Lab (MRL), Intel Corporation
Mark Horowitz , Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
pp. 127-138

Next-Generation Performance Counters: Towards Monitoring Over Thousand Concurrent Events (Abstract)

James C. Sexton , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
Valentina Salapura , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
Karthik Ganesan , University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX
Michael Gschwind , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
Alan Gara , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
Robert E. Walkup , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
pp. 139-146

Configurational Workload Characterization (Abstract)

Hashem H. Najaf-abadi , NC State University, hhashem@ece.ncsu.edu
Eric Rotenberg , NC State University, ericro@ece.ncsu.edu
pp. 147-156

Characterizing the Unique and Diverse Behaviors in Existing and Emerging General-Purpose and Domain-Specific Benchmark Suites (Abstract)

Lieven Eeckhout , ELIS Department, Ghent University, Sint-Pietersnieuwstraat 41, B-9000 Gent, Belgium, Email: leeckhou@elis.UGent.be
Kenneth Hoste , ELIS Department, Ghent University, Sint-Pietersnieuwstraat 41, B-9000 Gent, Belgium, Email: kehoste@elis.UGent.be
pp. 157-168

Independent Component Analysis and Evolutionary Algorithms for Building Representative Benchmark Subsets (Abstract)

Paul R. Schrater , Computer Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Apostolos Georgopoulos , Neuroscience, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
David J. Lilja , Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Vassilios N. Christopoulos , Computer Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
pp. 169-178

Characterization of SPEC CPU2006 and SPEC OMP2001: Regression Models and their Transferability (Abstract)

ElMoustapha Ould-Ahmed-Vall , Intel Corporation, 5000 W Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85226, elmoustapha.ould-ahmed-vall@intel.com
James Woodlee , Intel Corporation, 5000 W Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85226, jim.woodlee@intel.com
Kshitij A. Doshi , Intel Corporation, 5000 W Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85226, kshitij.a.doshi@intel.com
Charles Yount , Intel Corporation, 5000 W Chandler Blvd., Chandler, AZ 85226, chuck.yount@intel.com
pp. 179-190

Dynamic Thermal Management through Task Scheduling (Abstract)

Marek Chrobak , Computer Science, University of California, Riverside, CA 92521
Xiuyi Zhou , Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh PA 15261
Youtao Zhang , Computer Science, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh PA 15261
Jun Yang , Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh PA 15261
Lingling Jin , Nvidia Corporate, Santa Clara, CA 95050
pp. 191-201

Metrics for Architecture-Level Lifetime Reliability Analysis (Abstract)

Jude A. Rivers , IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598, jarivers@us.ibm.com
Pradip Bose , IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598, pbose@us.ibm.com
Sarita V. Adve , Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, sadve@uiuc.edu
Pradeep Ramachandrany , Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, pramach2@uiuc.edu, srinivsn@uiuc.edu
pp. 202-212

Trace-based Performance Analysis on Cell BE (Abstract)

Marina Biberstein , IBM Haifa Research Lab, Haifa 31905, Israel, biberstein@il.ibm.com
Javier Turek , IBM Haifa Research Lab, Haifa 31905, Israel, javier@il.ibm.com
Uzi Shvadron , IBM Haifa Research Lab, Haifa 31905, Israel, shvadron@il.ibm.com
Moon S. Chang , IBM Austin Lab, 11400 Burnet Rd., Austin, Texas 78758, cmoon@us.ibm.com
Bilha Mendelson , IBM Haifa Research Lab, Haifa 31905, Israel, bilha@il.ibm.com
pp. 213-222

HMMer-Cell: High Performance Protein Profile Searching on the Cell/B.E. Processor (Abstract)

Jizhu Lu , IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
Kursad Albayraktaroglu , University of Maryland, College Park, MD
Michael Perrone , IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY
Manoj Franklin , University of Maryland, College Park, MD
pp. 223-232

Author Index (PDF)

pp. 233
90 ms
(Ver )