The Community for Technology Leaders
Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium, International (2007)
Long Beach, CA, USA
Mar. 26, 2007 to Mar. 30, 2007
ISBN: 1-4244-0909-8
pp: 300
Bhupesh Bansal , University of Southern California, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Vivian Hall of Engineering, 610, Los Angeles, CA 90089-0242. bansal@usc.edu
Umit Catalyurek , Department of Biomedical Informatics, The Ohio State University, 333 West 10th Avenue, Columbus, OH 43210. umit@bmi.osu.edu
Jacqueline Cheme , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292. jchame@isi.edu
Chun Chen , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292. chunchen@isi.edu
Ewa Deelman , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292. deelman@isi.edu
Yolanda Gil , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292. gil@isi.edu
Mary Hall , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292. mhall@isi.edu
Vijay Kumar , Department of Biomedical Informatics, The Ohio State University, 333 West 10th Avenue, Columbus, OH 43210. vijayskumar@bmi.osu.edu
Tahsin Kurc , Department of Biomedical Informatics, The Ohio State University, 333 West 10th Avenue, Columbus, OH 43210. kurc@bmi.osu.edu
Kristina Lerman , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292. lerman@isi.edu
Aiichiro Nakano , University of Southern California, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Vivian Hall of Engineering, 610, Los Angeles, CA 90089-0242. anakano@usc.edu
Yoon-ju Lee Nelson , University of Southern California, Information Sciences Institute, 4676 Admiralty Way, Marian del Rey, CA 90292.
Joel Saltz , Department of Biomedical Informatics, The Ohio State University, 333 West 10th Avenue, Columbus, OH 43210. saltz@bmi.osu.edu
Ashish Sharma , Department of Biomedical Informatics, The Ohio State University, 333 West 10th Avenue, Columbus, OH 43210. ashish@bmi.osu.edu
Priya Vashishta , University of Southern California, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Vivian Hall of Engineering, 610, Los Angeles, CA 90089-0242. priyav@usc.edu
ABSTRACT
This paper describes a new project that systematically addresses the enormous complexity of mapping applications to current and future parallel platforms. By integrating the system layers-domain specific environment, application program, compiler, run-time environment, performance models and simulation, and workflow manager - and through a systematic strategy for application mapping, our approach will exploit the vast machine resources available in such parallel platforms to dramatically increase the productivity of application programmers. This project brings together computer scientists in the areas represented by the system layers (i.e., language extensions, compilers, run-time systems, workflows) together with expertise in knowledge representation and machine learning. With expert domain scientists in molecular dynamics (MD) simulation, we are developing our approach in the context of a specific application class which already targets environments consisting of several hundreds of processors. In this way, we gain valvable insight into a generalizable strategy, while simultaneously producing performance benefits for existing and important applications.
INDEX TERMS
null
CITATION

Y. Lee Nelson et al., "Intelligent Optimization of Parallel and Distributed Applications," 2007 IEEE International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium(IPDPS), Rome, 2007, pp. 300.
doi:10.1109/IPDPS.2007.370490
181 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))