The Community for Technology Leaders
2013 IEEE International Symposium on Workload Characterization (IISWC) (2007)
Boston, MA, USA
Sept. 27, 2007 to Sept. 29, 2007
ISBN: 978-1-4244-1561-8
TABLE OF CONTENTS

[Breaker page] (PDF)

pp. nil1
Papers

Breaker pages (PDF)

pp. nil1

Characterizing the Effect of Microarchitecture Design Parameters on Workload Dynamic Behavior (Abstract)

Wangyuan Zhang , Intelligent Design of Efficient Architecture Lab(IDEAL), Department of ECE, University of Florida. zhangwy@ufl.edu
Tao Li , Intelligent Design of Efficient Architecture Lab(IDEAL), Department of ECE, University of Florida. taoli@ece.ufl.edu
Chang-Burm Cho , Intelligent Design of Efficient Architecture Lab(IDEAL), Department of ECE, University of Florida. choreno@ufl.edu
pp. 5-14

Implications of False Conflict Rate Trends for Robust Software Transactional Memory (Abstract)

Ravi Rajwar , Intel Corporation. ravi.rajwar@intel.com
Craig Zilles , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. zilles@cs.uiuc.edu
pp. 15-24

Predicting Program Behavior Based On Objective Function Minimization (Abstract)

Ruhi Sarikaya , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598. sarikaya@us.ibm.com
Alper Buyuktosunoglu , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598. alperb@us.ibm.com
pp. 25-34

On the Effects of Memory Latency and Bandwidth on Supercomputer Application Performance (Abstract)

Richard Murphy , Sandia National Laboratories, PO Box 5800, MS-1110, Albuquerque, NM 87185-1110. rcmurph@sandia.gov
pp. 35-43

An Evaluation of Server Consolidation Workloads for Multi-Core Designs (Abstract)

Natalie Enright Jerger , Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Wisconsin-Madison. enrightn@cae.wisc.edu
Mikko Lipasti , Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Wisconsin-Madison. mikko@engr.wisc.edu
Dana Vantrease , Computer Science Department, University of Wisconsin-Madison. danav@cs.wisc.edu
pp. 47-56

Performance Studies of Commercial Workloads on a Multi-core System (Abstract)

Hubertus Franke , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598-0218, US. frankeh@us.ibm.com
Toshio Nakatani , IBM Toyko Research Lab., 1623-14 Shimo-tsuruma, Yamato-shi, Kanagawa 242-8502, Japan. nakatani@jp.ibm.com
Jessica H. Tseng , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598-0218, US. jhtseng@us.ibm.com
Pratap Pattnaik , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598-0218, US. pratap@us.ibm.com
Shailabh Nagar , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598-0218, US. shailabh@us.ibm.com
Niteesh Dubey , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598-0218, US. niteesh@us.ibm.com
Hiroshi Inoue , IBM Toyko Research Lab., 1623-14 Shimo-tsuruma, Yamato-shi, Kanagawa 242-8502, Japan. inouehrs@jp.ibm.com
Hao Yu , IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598-0218, US. yuh@us.ibm.com
pp. 57-65

Addressing Cache/Memory Overheads in Enterprise Java CMP Servers (Abstract)

Srihari Makineni , Intel Corporation
Kumar Shiv , Intel Corporation
Mahesh Bhat , Intel Corporation
Jason Domer , Intel Corporation
Michael Jones , Intel Corporation
Don Newell , Intel Corporation
Ravi Iyer , Intel Corporation
Ramesh Illikkal , Intel Corporation
pp. 66-75

Benchmarking BGP Routers (Abstract)

Qiang Wu , Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA. qwu@ecs.umass.edu
Yong Liao , Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA. yliao@ecs.umass.edu
Lixin Gao , Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA. lgao@ecs.umass.edu
Tilman Wolf , Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA. wolf@ecs.umass.edu
pp. 79-88

Characterizing and Improving the Performance of Bioinformatics Workloads on the POWER5 Architecture (Abstract)

Lei Chen , IBM Systems and Technology Group, Austin, TX 78758. Email: chenl@us.ibm.com
Mark Stephenson , Novel Systems Architectures, IBM Austin Research Lab, Austin, TX 78758. Email: mstephen@us.ibm.com
Vipin Sachdeva , Novel Systems Architectures, IBM Austin Research Lab, Austin, TX 78758. Email: vsachde@us.ibm.com
Evan Speight , Novel Systems Architectures, IBM Austin Research Lab, Austin, TX 78758. Email: speight@us.ibm.com
pp. 89-97

Pynamic: the Python Dynamic Benchmark (Abstract)

Dong H. Ahn , Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California 94550. Email: ahn1@llnl.gov
Patrick Miller , Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California 94550. Email: miller220@llnl.gov
John Gyllenhaal , Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California 94550. Email: gyllen@llnl.gov
Gregory L. Lee , Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California 94550. Email: lee218@llnl.gov
Bronis R. de Supinski , Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California 94550. Email: bronis@llnl.gov
pp. 101-106

Delaunay Triangulation with Transactions and Barriers (Abstract)

Virendra J. Marathe , Department of Computer Science, University of Rochester, vmarathe@cs.rochester.edu
Luke Dalessandro , Department of Computer Science, University of Rochester, luked@cs.rochester.edu
Michael L. Scott , Department of Computer Science, University of Rochester, scott@cs.rochester.edu
Michael F. Spear , Department of Computer Science, University of Rochester, spear@cs.rochester.edu
pp. 107-113

FacePerf: Benchmarks for Face Recognition Algorithms (Abstract)

Michelle Strout , Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523-1873. Email: mstrout@cs.colostate.edu
J. Ross Beveridge , Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523-1873. Email: ross@cs.colostate.edu
David S. Bolme , Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523-1873. Email: bolme@cs.colostate.edu
pp. 114-119

HD-VideoBench. A Benchmark for Evaluating High Definition Digital Video Applications (Abstract)

Mateo Valero , Department of Computer Architecture. Universitat Polit
Mauricio Alvarez , Department of Computer Architecture. Universitat Polit
Alex Ramirez , Department of Computer Architecture. Universitat Polit
Esther Salami , Department of Computer Architecture. Universitat Polit
pp. 120-125

Seekable Compressed Traces (Abstract)

Tipp Moseley , Department of Computer Science, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO 80309. moseleyt@colorado.edu
Ramesh Peri , Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR. ramesh.v.peri@intel.com
Dirk Grunwald , Department of Computer Science, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO 80309. grunwald@colorado.edu
pp. 129-138

Analysis of Statistical Sampling in Microarchitecture Simulation: Metric, Methodology and Program Characterization (Abstract)

Pen-Chung Yew , Department of CSE; The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455. yew@cs.umn.edu
Jinpyo Kim , Department of CSE; The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455. jinpyo@cs.umn.edu
Sreekumar V. Kodakara , Department of ECE; The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455. sreek@ece.umn.edu
David J. Lilja , Department of ECE; The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455. lilja@ece.umn.edu
Wei-Chung Hsu , Department of CSE; The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455. hsu@cs.umn.edu
pp. 139-148

Easy and Efficient Disk I/O Workload Characterization in VMware ESX Server (Abstract)

Irfan Ahmad , VMware Inc., Palo Alto, CA 94304 USA. irfan@vmware.com
pp. 149-158

An Observation-Based Approach to Performance Characterization of Distributed n-Tier Applications (Abstract)

Jason Parekh , jparekh@cc.gatech.edu
Gueyoung Jung , gueyoung.jung@cc.gatech.edu
Calton Pu , calton@cc.gatech.edu
Akhil Sahai , Georgia Institute of Technology, HP Labs. akhil.sahai@hp.com
pp. 161-170

Workload Analysis and Demand Prediction of Enterprise Data Center Applications (Abstract)

Alfons Kemper , Technische Universit
Ludmila Cherkasova , Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, Palo Alto, CA, USA. lucy.cherkasova@hp.com
Jerry Rolia , Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, Palo Alto, CA, USA. jerry.rolia@hp.com
Daniel Gmach , Technische Universit
pp. 171-180

SCRAP: A Statistical Approach for Creating a Database Query Workload Based on Performance Bottlenecks (Abstract)

Biplob K. Debnath , Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Minnesota, USA. debna004@umn.edu
David J. Lilja , Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Minnesota, USA. lilja@umn.edu
Mohamed F. Mokbel , Computer Science Department, University of Minnesota, USA. mokbel@cs.umn.edu
James Skarie , Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Minnesota, USA. skar0059@umn.edu
pp. 183-192

Representative Multiprogram Workloads for Multithreaded Processor Simulation (Abstract)

Brad Calder , Microsoft. Email: calder@cs.ucsd.edu
Lieven Eeckhout , ELIS, Ghent University, Belgium. Email: leeckhou@elis.UGent.be
Michael Van Biesbrouck , CSE, University of California, San Diego, USA. Email: mvanbies@cs.ucsd.edu
pp. 193-203

Hierarchical Means: Single Number Benchmarking with Workload Cluster Analysis (Abstract)

Hsien-Hsin S. Lee , School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA 30332. leehs@ece.gatech.edu
Kingsum Chow , Managed Runtime Division, Software and Solutions Group, Intel Corp., Hillsboro, OR 97123. kingsum.chow@intel.com
Richard M. Yoo , School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA 30332. yoo@ece.gatech.edu
Han Lee , Managed Runtime Division, Software and Solutions Group, Intel Corp., Hillsboro, OR 97123. han.lee@intel.com
pp. 204-213
98 ms
(Ver )