The Community for Technology Leaders
Proceedings of the 2006 IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols (2006)
Fess parker's Doubletree, Santa Barbara, Ca, USA
Nov. 12, 2006 to Nov. 15, 2006
ISBN: 1-4244-0593-9
TABLE OF CONTENTS

External reviewers (PDF)

pp. xvii-xviii

Forensic Analysis for Epidemic Attacks in Federated Networks (Abstract)

Yinglian Xie , Carnegie Mellon University, ylxie@cs.cmu.edu
Vyas Sekar , Carnegie Mellon University, vyass@cs.cmu.edu
Michael K. Reiter , Carnegie Mellon University, reiter@cs.cmu.edu
Hui Zhang , Carnegie Mellon University, hzhang@cs.cmu.edu
pp. 43-53

Internet Cache Pollution Attacks and Countermeasures (Abstract)

Yan Gao , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. ygao@cs.northwestern.edu
Leiwen Deng , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. karldeng@cs.northwestern.edu
Aleksandar Kuzmanovic , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. akuzma@cs.northwestern.edu
Yan Chen , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. ychen@cs.northwestern.edu
pp. 54-64

TrueLink: A Practical Countermeasure to the Wormhole Attack in Wireless Networks (Abstract)

Jakob Eriksson , University of California, Riverside
Srikanth V. Krishnamurthy , University of California, Riverside
Michalis Faloutsos , University of California, Riverside
pp. 75-84
Papers

Copyright page (PDF)

pp. nil3

Table of Contents (PDF)

pp. v-ix

Heterogeneous Congestion Control: Efficiency, Fairness and Design (Abstract)

S.H. Low , EAS Div., California Inst. of Technol., Pasadena, CA
D. Wei , EAS Div., California Inst. of Technol., Pasadena, CA
Ao Tang , EAS Div., California Inst. of Technol., Pasadena, CA
S.H. Low , EAS Div., California Inst. of Technol., Pasadena, CA
D. Wei , EAS Div., California Inst. of Technol., Pasadena, CA
Ao Tang , EAS Div., California Inst. of Technol., Pasadena, CA
pp. 127-136

Throughput Guaranteed Restorable Routing Without Traffic Prediction (Abstract)

M. Kodialam , Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, NJ, USA
T. V. Lakshman , Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, NJ, USA
Sudipta Sengupta , Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, NJ, USA
pp. 137-146
Papers

Committees (PDF)

pp. xiv-xvi

Chunkyspread: Heterogeneous Unstructured Tree-Based Peer-to-Peer Multicast (Abstract)

Vidhyashankar Venkataraman , Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. vidya@cs.cornell.edu
Kaouru Yoshida , University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan. kyoshida@hongo.wide.ad.jp
Paul Francis , Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. francis@cs.cornell.edu
pp. 2-11

Key Grids: A Protocol Family for Assigning Symmetric Keys (Abstract)

Amitanand S. Aiyer , University of Texas, Austin. anand@cs.utexas.edu
Lorenzo Alvisi , University of Texas, Austin. lorenzo@cs.utexas.edu
Mohamed G. Gouda , University of Texas, Austin. gouda@cs.utexas.edu
pp. 178-186

High Speed Pattern Matching for Network IDS/IPS (Abstract)

Mansoor Alicherry , Lucent Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA - 07974. Email: mansoor@bell-labs.com
M. Muthuprasanna , Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA - 50011. Email: muthu@iastate.edu
Vijay Kumar , Lucent Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA - 07974. Email: vijay@bell-labs.com
pp. 187-196
Papers

Modeling Heterogeneous User Churn and Local Resilience of Unstructured P2P Networks (Abstract)

Zhongmei Yao , Department of Computer Science, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77802 USA. mayyao@cs.tamu.edu
Derek Leonard , Department of Computer Science, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77802 USA. dleonard@cs.tamu.edu
Xiaoming Wang , Department of Computer Science, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77802 USA. xmwang@cs.tamu.edu
Dmitri Loguinov , Department of Computer Science, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77802 USA. dmitri@cs.tamu.edu
pp. 32-41

Forensic Analysis for Epidemic Attacks in Federated Networks (Abstract)

Yinglian Xie , Carnegie Mellon University, ylxie@cs.cmu.edu
Vyas Sekar , Carnegie Mellon University, vyass@cs.cmu.edu
Michael Reiter , Carnegie Mellon University, reiter@cs.cmu.edu
Hui Zhang , Carnegie Mellon University, hzhang@cs.cmu.edu
pp. 43-53

Internet Cache Pollution Attacks and Countermeasures (Abstract)

Yan Gao , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. ygao@cs.northwestern.edu
Leiwen Deng , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. karldeng@cs.northwestern.edu
Aleksandar Kuzmanovic , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. akuzma@cs.northwestern.edu
Yan Chen , Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 60208. ychen@cs.northwestern.edu
pp. 54-64

Mitigating Attacks Against Measurement-Based Adaptation Mechanisms in Unstructured Multicast Overlay Networks (Abstract)

AAron Walters , Department of Computer Science and CERIAS, Purdue University, 305 N. University St., West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA. arwalter@cs.purdue.edu
David Zage , Department of Computer Science and CERIAS, Purdue University, 305 N. University St., West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA. zagedj@cs.purdue.edu
Cristina Nita-Rotaru , Department of Computer Science and CERIAS, Purdue University, 305 N. University St., West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA. crisn@cs.purdue.edu
pp. 65-74

TrueLink: A Practical Countermeasure to the Wormhole Attack in Wireless Networks (Abstract)

Jakob Eriksson , University of California, Riverside
Srikanth Krishnamurthy , University of California, Riverside
Michalis Faloutsos , University of California, Riverside
pp. 75-84

Impact of Routing Metrics on Path Capacity in Multirate and Multihop Wireless Ad Hoc Networks (Abstract)

Hongqiang Zhai , Department of Electrical&Computer Engineering, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida 32611-6130. Tel: (352) 846-3043, Fax: (352) 392-0044, E-mail: zhai@ecel.ufl.edu
Yuguang Fang , Department of Electrical&Computer Engineering, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida 32611-6130. Tel: (352) 846-3043, Fax: (352) 392-0044, E-mail: fang@ece.ufl.edu
pp. 86-95

Reducing Congestion Effects in Wireless Networks by Multipath Routing (Abstract)

Lucian Popa , Department of Computer Science, University of California, Berkeley. popa@cs.berkeley.edu
Costin Raiciu , Department of Computer Science, University College London. c.raiciu@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Ion Stoica , Department of Computer Science, University of California, Berkeley. istoica@cs.berkeley.edu
David Rosenblum , Department of Computer Science, University College London. d.rosenblum@cs.ucl.ac.uk
pp. 96-105

Robust Path-Vector Routing Despite Inconsistent Route Preferences (Abstract)

Aaron D. Jaggard , Department of Mathematics, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA USA. adj@math.tulane.edu
Vijay Ramachandran , Department of Computer Science, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ USA. vijayr@cs.stevens.edu
pp. 270-279
Papers

Rigorous Protocol Design in Practice: An Optical Packet-Switch MAC in HOL (Abstract)

Adam Biltcliffe , Computer Laboratory, University of Cambridge, adam.biltcliffe@cl.cam.ac.uk
Michael Dales , Intel Research, Cambridge. Michael.W.Dales@intel.com
Sam Jansen , Intel Research, Cambridge. Sam.Jansen@intel.com
Thomas Ridge , Computer Laboratory, University of Cambridge, thomas.ridge@cl.cam.ac.uk
Peter Sewell , Computer Laboratory, University of Cambridge, peter.sewell@cl.cam.ac.uk
pp. 117-126

Heterogeneous Congestion Control: Efficiency, Fairness and Design (Abstract)

Ao Tang , EAS Division, California Institute of Technology, Mung Chiang, EE Department, Princeton University
David Wei , EAS Division, California Institute of Technology, Mung Chiang, EE Department, Princeton University
Steven Low , EAS Division, California Institute of Technology, Mung Chiang, EE Department, Princeton University
pp. 127-136

Throughput Guaranteed Restorable Routing Without Traffic Prediction (Abstract)

M. Kodialam , Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, NJ, USA
T. Lakshman , Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, NJ, USA
Sudipta Sengupta , Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, NJ, USA
pp. 137-146

O-MAC: A Receiver Centric Power Management Protocol (Abstract)

Hui Cao , The Ohio State University, caohu@cse.ohio-state.edu
Kenneth W. Parker , The Samraksh Company, kenneth.parker@skynetaccess.net
Anish Arora , The Ohio State University, anish@cse.ohio-state.edu
pp. 311-320
Papers

On the Practical and Security Issues of Batch Content Distribution Via Network Coding (Abstract)

Qiming Li , Computer&Information Science Dept, Polytechnic University, Email: qiming.li@ieee.org
Dah-ming Chiu , Information Engineering Dept, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Email: dmchiu@ie.cuhk.edu.hk
John C.S. Lui , Computer Science&Eng. Dept, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Email: cslui@cse.cuhk.edu.hk
pp. 158-167

Vault: A Secure Binding Service (Abstract)

Guor-huar Lu , University of Minnesota, luxx0137@umn.edu
Changho Choi , University of Minnesota, choi@cs.umn.edu
Zhi-li Zhang , University of Minnesota, zhzhang@cs.umn.edu
pp. 168-177

Key Grids: A Protocol Family for Assigning Symmetric Keys (Abstract)

Amitanand Aiyer , University of Texas, Austin. anand@cs.utexas.edu
Lorenzo Alvisi , University of Texas, Austin. lorenzo@cs.utexas.edu
Mohamed Gouda , University of Texas, Austin. gouda@cs.utexas.edu
pp. 178-186

High Speed Pattern Matching for Network IDS/IPS (Abstract)

Mansoor Alicherry , Lucent Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA - 07974. Email: mansoor@bell-labs.com
M. Muthuprasanna , Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA - 50011. Email: muthu@iastate.edu
Vijay Kumar , Lucent Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA - 07974. Email: vijay@bell-labs.com
pp. 187-196

Virtual Surrounding Face Geocasting with Guaranteed Message Delivery for Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks (Abstract)

Jie Lian , Department of E&CE, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada. jlian@swen.uwaterloo.ca
Kshirasagar Naik , Department of E&CE, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada. knaik@swen.uwaterloo.ca
Yunhao Liu , Department of CSE, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong. liu@cse.ust.hk
Lei Chen , Department of CSE, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong. leichen@cse.ust.hk
pp. 198-207

Benefit-based Data Caching in Ad Hoc Networks (Abstract)

Bin Tang , Computer Science Department, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11790. Email: bintang@cs.sunysb.edu
Himanshu Gupta , Computer Science Department, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11790. Email: hgupta@cs.sunysb.edu
Samir Das , Computer Science Department, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11790. Email: samir@cs.sunysb.edu
pp. 208-217

A Distributed Algorithm for Joint Sensing and Routing in Wireless Networks with Non-Steerable Directional Antennas (Abstract)

Chun Zhang , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Hawthorne, NY, czhang1@us.ibm.com
Jim Kurose , Dept. of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, kurose@cs.umass.edu
Yong Liu , Dept. of Electrical&Computer Engineering, Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, NY, yongliu@poly.edu
Don Towsley , Dept. of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, towsley@cs.umass.edu
Michael Zink , Dept. of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, zink@cs.umass.edu
pp. 218-227

RAIN: A Reliable Wireless Network Architecture (Abstract)

Haiyun Luo , Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA. haiyun@cs.uiuc.edu
Chong-ho Choi , School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Seoul National University, Korea. chchoi@csl.snu.ac.kr
pp. 228-237

The Delicate Tradeoffs in BitTorrent-like File Sharing Protocol Design (Abstract)

Bin Fan , Dept. of Computer Science&Eng., The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Email: bfan@cse.cuhk.edu.hk
Dah-ming Chiu , Dept. of Information Eng., The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Email: dmchiu@ie.cuhk.edu.hk
John Lui , Dept. of Computer Science&Eng., The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Email: cslui@cse.cuhk.edu.hk
pp. 239-248

Modeling and Caching of Peer-to-Peer Traffic (Abstract)

Osama Saleh , School of Computing Science, Simon Fraser University, Surrey, BC, Canada
Mohamed Hefeeda , School of Computing Science, Simon Fraser University, Surrey, BC, Canada
pp. 249-258

Characterizing and Mitigating Inter-domain Policy Violations in Overlay Routes (Abstract)

Srinivasan Seetharaman , Networking and Telecommunications Group, College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia 30332. srini@cc.gatech.edu
Mostafa Ammar , Networking and Telecommunications Group, College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia 30332. ammar@cc.gatech.edu
pp. 259-268

Robust Path-Vector Routing Despite Inconsistent Route Preferences (Abstract)

Aaron Jaggard , Department of Mathematics, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA USA. adj@math.tulane.edu
Vijay Ramachandran , Department of Computer Science, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ USA. vijayr@cs.stevens.edu
pp. 270-279

Differentiated BGP Update Processing for Improved Routing Convergence (Abstract)

Wei Sun , University of Michigan, wsunz@eecs.umich.edu
Zhuoqing Mao , University of Michigan, zmao@eecs.umich.edu
Kang Shin , University of Michigan, kgshin@eecs.umich.edu
pp. 280-289

Pretty Good BGP: Improving BGP by Cautiously Adopting Routes (Abstract)

Josh Karlin , University of New Mexico, karlinjf@cs.unm.edu
Stephanie Forrest , University of New Mexico, Santa Fe Institute, forrest@cs.unm.edu
Jennifer Rexford , Princeton University, jrex@cs.princeton.edu
pp. 290-299

Robust Egress Interdomain Traffic Engineering (Abstract)

Jian Qiu , Department of ECE, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003. jqiu@ecs.umass.edu
Lixin Gao , Department of ECE, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003. lgao@ecs.umass.edu
pp. 300-309

O-MAC: A Receiver Centric Power Management Protocol (Abstract)

Hui Cao , The Ohio State University, caohu@cse.ohio-state.edu
Kenneth Parker , The Samraksh Company, kenneth.parker@skynetaccess.net
Anish Arora , The Ohio State University, anish@cse.ohio-state.edu
pp. 311-320

Dynamic Conflict-free Query Scheduling for Wireless Sensor Networks (Abstract)

Octav Chipara , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis. ochipara@cse.wustl.edu
Chenyang Lu , Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis. lu@cse.wustl.edu
John Stankovic , Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia. stankovic@cs.virginia.edu
pp. 321-331

Author Index (PDF)

pp. 342
234 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))