The Community for Technology Leaders
2008 Grid Computing Environments Workshop (2008)
Austin, TX
Nov. 12, 2008 to Nov. 16, 2008
ISSN: 2152-1085
ISBN: 978-1-4244-2860-1
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Increasing TeraGrid User Productivity through Integration of Information and Interactive Services (Abstract)

Maytal Dahan , Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin. maytal@tacc.utexas.edu
Praveen Nuthulapati , Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin. praveen@tacc.utexas.edu
Steven Mock , Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin. mock@tacc.utexas.edu
Rion Dooley , Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin. dooley@tacc.utexas.edu
Patrick Hurley , Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin. phurley@tacc.utexas.edu
John R. Boisseau , Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin. boisseau@tacc.utexas.edu
pp. 1-11

Real-time Data Delivery and Remote Visualization through Multi-layer Interfaces (PDF)

Vinaitheerthan Sundaram , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, 47906, USA. vsundar@purdue.edu
Lan Zhao , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, 47906, USA. zhao4@purdue.edu
Carol X. Song , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, 47906, USA. carolxsong@purdue.edu
Bedrich Benes , Department of Computer Graphics Technology, Purdue University, West Lafayette, 47906, USA. bbenes@purdue.edu
Rakesh Veeramacheneni , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, 47906, USA. rveerama@purdue.edu
Peter Kristof , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, 47906, USA. pkristof@purdue.edu
pp. 1-10

Cross-reality Services for 3D Virtual Environments (PDF)

Krishna P.C. Madhavan , Member, Clemson University, Clemson, SC 29634. phone: 864-656-5874; fax: 864-656-0145; e-mail: cm@clemson.edu
Sebastien Goasguen , Senior Member, IEEE, Clemson University, Clemson, SC 29634. phone: 864-656-6753; fax: 864-656-0145; e-mail: sebgoa@clemson.edu
pp. 1-7

Rapid component-based development for Condor job submission (PDF)

Jae-Woo Lee , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47906. jaewoolee@purdue.edu
David Braun , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47906. dbraun@purdue.edu
Carol X. Song , Rosen Center for Advanced Computing, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47906. carolxsong@purdue.edu
pp. 1-5

Collective Collaborative Tagging System (PDF)

Jong Y. Choi , Community Grids Laboratory, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404, USA. jychoi@cs.indiana.edu
Joshua Rosen , Community Grids Laboratory, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404, USA. jjrosen@cs.indiana.edu
Siddharth Maini , Community Grids Laboratory, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404, USA. smaini@cs.indiana.edu
Marlon E. Pierce , Community Grids Laboratory, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404, USA. marpierc@cs.indiana.edu
Geoffrey C. Fox , Community Grids Laboratory, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404, USA. gcf@cs.indiana.edu
pp. 1-7

Toward a Unified Ontology of Cloud Computing (PDF)

Lamia Youseff , University of California, Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA 93106. lyouseff@cs.ucsb.edu
Maria Butrico , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, New York 10598. butrico@us.ibm.com
Dilma Da Silva , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, New York 10598. dilmasilva@us.ibm.com
pp. 1-10

Automatic Certificate Based Account Generation and Secure AJAX Calls in a Grid Portal (PDF)

Mark L. Green , Tech-X Corporation, 5621 Arapahoe Avenue Suite A, Boulder, CO 80301. + 1 (303) 448-7751, mlgreen@txcorp.com
David A. Alexander , Tech-X Corporation, 5621 Arapahoe Avenue Suite A, Boulder, CO 80301. + 1 (303) 448-7751, alexanda@txcorp.com
Roopa Pundaleeka , Tech-X Corporation, 5621 Arapahoe Avenue Suite A, Boulder, CO 80301. + 1 (303) 448-7751, roopa@txcorp.com
James Matykiewicz , Tech-X Corporation, 5621 Arapahoe Avenue Suite A, Boulder, CO 80301. + 1 (303) 448-7751, james@txcorp.com
pp. 1-8

Cloud Computing and Grid Computing 360-Degree Compared (PDF)

Ian Foster , Department of Computer Science, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA; Computation Institute, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA; Math & Computer Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL, USA. foster@mcs.anl.gov
Yong Zhao , Microsoft Corporation, Redmond, WA, USA. yozha@microsoft.com
Ioan Raicu , Department of Computer Science, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA. iraicu@cs.uchicago.edu
Shiyong Lu , Department of Computer Science, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI, USA. shiyong@wayne.edu
pp. 1-10

On the Use of Social Networking Groups for Automatic Configuration of Virtual Grid Environments (PDF)

Pierre St Juste , Advanced Computing and Information Systems Lab, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611. ptony82@ufl.edu
David Wolinsky , Advanced Computing and Information Systems Lab, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611. davidiw@ufl.edu
Jiangyan Xu , Advanced Computing and Information Systems Lab, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611. jiangyan@ufl.edu
Michael Covington , Corporate Technology Group, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR 97124. michael.j.covington@intel.com
Renato Figueiredo , Advanced Computing and Information Systems Lab, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611. renato@acis.ufl.edu
pp. 1-10

Using the Pylons Web Framework for Science Gateways (PDF)

Mary P. Thomas , Member, IEEE, Department of Computer Science, San Diego State University, San Diego, CA 92186 USA. e-mail: mthomas@sciences.sdsu.edu
pp. 1-9

Cyberaide JavaScript: A JavaScript Commodity Grid Kit (PDF)

Gregor von Laszewski , Rochester Institute Of Technology, 102 Lomb Memorial Drive Rochester, NY 14623. E-mail: laszewski@gmail.com
Fugang Wang , Rochester Institute Of Technology, 102 Lomb Memorial Drive Rochester, NY 14623
Andrew Younge , Rochester Institute Of Technology, 102 Lomb Memorial Drive Rochester, NY 14623
Xi He , Rochester Institute Of Technology, 102 Lomb Memorial Drive Rochester, NY 14623
Zhenhua Guo , Community Grid Lab, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404
Marlon Pierce , Community Grid Lab, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47404
pp. 1-10

e-Science Project and Experiment Management with Microsoft Project (PDF)

Gregor von Laszewski , Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY 14623. Email: laszewski@gmail.com
Leor E. Dilmanian , Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY 14623
pp. 1-8

Toward an OpenSocial Life Science Gateway (PDF)

Wenjun Wu , Computation Institute, University of Chicago & Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Michael E. Papka , Computation Institute, University of Chicago & Argonne National Laboratory, USA; Mathematics and Computer Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Rick Stevens , Computation Institute, University of Chicago & Argonne National Laboratory, USA; Mathematics and Computer Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
pp. 1-6
79 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))