The Community for Technology Leaders
2007 IEEE/ACM/IFIP Workshop on Embedded Systems for Real-Time Multimedia (2007)
Salzburg
Oct. 4, 2007 to Oct. 5, 2007
ISSN: 2325-1271
ISBN: 978-1-4244-1654-7
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interposing Flash between Disk and DRAM to Save Energy for Streaming Workloads (Abstract)

M.G. Khatib , Department of Computer Science, University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands, m.g.khatib@utwente.nl
B.J. van der Zwaag , Department of Computer Science, University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands, b.j.vanderzwaag@utwente.nl
P.H. Hartel , Department of Computer Science, University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands, pieter.hartel@utwente.nl
G.J.M. Smit , Department of Computer Science, University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands, g.j.m.smit@utwente.nl
pp. 7-12

Code Placement for Reducing the Energy Consumption of Embedded Processors with Scratchpad and Cache Memories (PDF)

Yuriko Ishitobi , Graduate School of Inf. Sci. & EE, Kyushu University
Tohru Ishihara , System LSI Research Center, Kyushu University
Hiroto Yasuura , Faculty of Inf. Sci. & EE, Kyushu University
pp. 13-18

Network Calculus Applied to Verification of Memory Access Performance in SoCs (PDF)

Tomas Henriksson , NXP Semiconductors Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands, tomas.henriksson@nxp.com
Pieter van der Wolf , NXP Semiconductors Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Axel Jantsch , Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
Alistair Bruce , ARM, Sheffield, U.K.
pp. 21-26

Performance Analysis of Parallel Execution of H.264 Encoder on the Cell Processor (PDF)

Jonghan Park , School of EECS, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea, forhim@iris.snu.ac.kr
Soonhoi Ha , School of EECS, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea, sha@iris.snu.ac.kr
pp. 27-32

Signature-based Microprocessor Power Modeling for Rapid System-level Design Space Exploration (Abstract)

Peter van Stralen , Computer Systems Architecture group, Informatics Institute, University of Amsterdam, Email: pstralen@science.uva.nl
Andy D. Pimentel , Computer Systems Architecture group, Informatics Institute, University of Amsterdam, Email: andy@science.uva.nl
pp. 33-38

A Quick Safari Through the MPSoC Run-Time Management Jungle (PDF)

Vincent Nollet , IMEC, Kapeldreef 75, 3001 Leuven, Belgium, nollet@imec.be
Diederik Verkest , IMEC, Kapeldreef 75, 3001 Leuven, Belgium; Professor at Vrije Univ. Brussel and at Katholieke Univ. Leuven, verkest@imec.be
Henk Corporaal , Technical University Eindhoven, Eindhoven, The Netherlands, h.corporaal@tue.nl
pp. 41-46

Run-time Task Overlapping on Multiprocessor Platforms (Abstract)

Zhe Ma , IMEC, Kapeldreef 75, Leuven 3000, Belgium, mazhe@imec.be
Daniele P. Scarpazza , IMEC, Kapeldreef 75, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Francky Catthoor , IMEC, Kapeldreef 75, Leuven 3000, Belgium; professor of K.U.Leuven- ESAT
pp. 47-52

Adaptive mapping to resource availability for dynamic wavelet-based applications (PDF)

Vissarion Ferentinos , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium, Vissarion.Ferentinos@imec.be; ECE Department, University of Patras, Greece, feredin@ece.upatras.gr
Bert Geelen , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium, Bert.Geelen@imec.be; EE Department, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Francky Catthoor , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium, Francky.Catthoor@imec.be; EE Department, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Gauthier Lafruit , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium, Gauthier.Lafruit@imec.be
Thanos Stouraitis , ECE Department, University of Patras, Greece, thanos@upatras.gr
Rudy Lauwereins , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium, Rudy.Lauwereins@imec.be; EE Department, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium; Interdisciplinary institute for BroadBand, Technology, Belgium (IBBT)
Diederik Verkest , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium, Diederik.Verkest@imec.be; EE Department, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium; EE Department, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
pp. 53-58

Impact of Task Migration on Streaming Multimedia for Embedded Multiprocessors: A Quantitative Evaluation (PDF)

Michele Pittau , Dept. of Mathematics and Computer Science - University of Cagliari, Italy
Andrea Alimonda , Dept. of Mathematics and Computer Science - University of Cagliari, Italy
Salvatore Carta , Dept. of Mathematics and Computer Science - University of Cagliari, Italy
Andrea Acquaviva , Electronic Systems Design Group (ESD) - University of Verona, Italy
pp. 59-64

Still Image Processing on Coarse-Grained Reconfigurable Array Architectures (PDF)

Matthias Hartmann , Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Technology Dresden, Helmholtzstrasse 18, 01062 Dresden, Germany
Vassilis Pantazis , IMEC Leuven, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium
Tom Vander Aa , IMEC Leuven, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium
Mladen Berekovic , IMEC Leuven, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium; Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Christian Hochberger , Department of Computer Science, University of Technology Dresden, Helmholtzstrasse 10, 01062 Dresden, Germany
Bjorn de Sutter , IMEC Leuven, Kapeldreef 75, B-3001 Leuven, Belgium
pp. 67-72

Design and Implementation of a Multithreaded High Resolution MPEG4 Decoder on Sandblaster DSP (PDF)

Vaidyanathan Ramadurai , Sandbridge Technologies, 1 North Lexington Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601, vramadurai@sandbridgetech.com
Sanjay Jinturkar , Sandbridge Technologies, 1 North Lexington Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
Mayan Moudgill , Sandbridge Technologies, 1 North Lexington Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
John Glossner , Sandbridge Technologies, 1 North Lexington Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
pp. 73-76

Embedded Low Complexity JPEG2000 Videocoding System (PDF)

Arthur Schuchter , University of Salzburg, Department of Computer Sciences, Jakob-Haringerstr. 2, 5020 Salzburg, Austria, Telephone: +43 (0)662 8044 6347, Email: aschucht@cosy.abg.ac.at
Andreas Uhl , University of Salzburg, Department of Computer Sciences, Jakob-Haringerstr. 2, 5020 Salzburg, Austria, Telephone: +43 (0)662 8044 6303, E-mail: uhl@cosy.sbg.ac.at
pp. 77-82

Leveraging Predicated Execution for Multimedia Processing (Abstract)

Dietmar Ebner , Institut für Computersprachen, Technische Universitä at Wien, Argentinierstr. 8, A-1040 Wien, Austria, ebner@complang.tuwien.ac.at
Florian Brandner , Institut für Computersprachen, Technische Universitä at Wien, Argentinierstr. 8, A-1040 Wien, Austria, brandner@complang.tuwien.ac.at
Andreas Krall , Institut für Computersprachen, Technische Universitä at Wien, Argentinierstr. 8, A-1040 Wien, Austria, andi@complang.tuwien.ac.at
pp. 85-90

Data-Parallel Code Generation from Synchronous Dataflow Specification of Multimedia Applications (PDF)

Seongnam Kwon , School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Seoul National University, Seoul 151-742, KOREA, TEL: +82-28807292, ksn@iris.snu.ac.kr
Choonseung Lee , School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Seoul National University, Seoul 151-742, KOREA, TEL: +82-28807292, cslee@iris.snu.ac.kr
Soonhoi Ha , School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Seoul National University, Seoul 151-742, KOREA, TEL: +82-28807292, sha@iris.snu.ac.kr
pp. 91-96

Component Based Library Implementation of Abstract Data Types for Resource Management Customization of Embedded Systems (PDF)

C. Baloukas , VLSI Design and Testing Center-Democritus Univ., Thrace 67100, Xanthi, Greece, cmpalouk@ee.duth.gr
L. Papadopoulos , VLSI Design and Testing Center-Democritus Univ., Thrace 67100, Xanthi, Greece, lpapadop@ee.duth.gr
S. Mamagkakis , IMEC vzw, Kapeldreef 75, 3001 Heverlee, Belgium, mamagka@imec.be
D. Soudris , VLSI Design and Testing Center-Democritus Univ., Thrace 67100, Xanthi, Greece, dsoudris@ee.duth.gr
pp. 99-104

MP-Queue: an Efficient Communication Library for Embedded Streaming Multimedia Platforms (PDF)

Alessandro Dalla Torre , DEIS, Uni. of Bologna - Italy, Andrea Acquaviva, Computer Science Dep., Uni. of Verona - Italy
Martino Ruggiero , DEIS, Uni. of Bologna - Italy, Andrea Acquaviva, Computer Science Dep., Uni. of Verona - Italy
Luca Benini , DEIS, Uni. of Bologna - Italy, Andrea Acquaviva, Computer Science Dep., Uni. of Verona - Italy
pp. 105-110

Actor-Oriented Modeling and Simulation of Sliding Window Image Processing Algorithms (PDF)

Joachim Keinert , Fraunhofer IIS, Erlangen, Germany, ket@iis.fraunhofer.de
Joachim Falk , Department of Computer Science 12, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, falk@cs.fau.de
Christian Haubelt , Department of Computer Science 12, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, haubelt@cs.fau.de
Jurgen Teich , Department of Computer Science 12, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, teich@cs.fau.de
pp. 113-118

An Optimized Application Architecture of the H.264 Video Encoder for Application Specific Platforms (PDF)

Muhammad Shafique , University of Karlsruhe, Chair for Embedded Systems, Karlsruhe, Germany, shafique@informatik.uni-karlsruhe.de
Lars Bauer , University of Karlsruhe, Chair for Embedded Systems, Karlsruhe, Germany, lars.bauer@informatik.uni-karlsruhe.de
Jorg Henkel , University of Karlsruhe, Chair for Embedded Systems, Karlsruhe, Germany, henkel@informatik.uni-karlsruhe.de
pp. 119-124

A Modular Suite for High-Definition Image Processor Co-Verification (PDF)

Marc Bertola , Gennum Corporation, mbertola@gennum.com
Ron Irvine , Gennum Corporation, rirvine@gennum.com
pp. 125-130
79 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))