## Message from the ICDE 2014 Program Committee and General Chairs

Established in 1984, ICDE has become a premier forum for the dissemination of data management research results among researchers, users, practitioners, and developers. The 30th IEEE International Conference on Data Engineering takes place in Chicago, IL, USA, from March 31 to April 4, 2014. We are proud to present its proceedings.

This year the conference features two keynote talks, each of which is delivered by a distinguished scientist: the first one by Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL, Switzerland), and the second by Amith Sheth (Wright State University, USA).

We thank all authors who submitted their work to ICDE for making the conference happen. We received 446 paper submissions for the research track, 33 submissions for the industrial track, and 65 demo proposals. The program committee was organized into 16 topic-based areas, each of which was headed by an area chair that was in charge of overseeing the evaluation of submissions assigned to that area. The area chairs were: Alejandro Buchmann, Chee Yong Chan, Torsten Grust, Donald Kossmann, Alexandros Labrinidis, Laks V.S. Lakshmanan, Maurizio Lenzerini, Feifei Li, Ninghui Li, Nikos Mamoulis, Jignesh Patel, Dino Pedreschi, Mirek Riedewald, Stratis D. Viglas, Min Wang, and Wei Wang. Each submission was assigned to three reviewers from the research program committee that consisted of 158 members, the industrial program committee that consisted of 20 members, and the demo program committee that consisted of 13 members. The evaluation process had several phases: assignment of papers to reviewers, reviewing, discussions among reviewers, decision making by area chairs, consolidation of decisions, and handling of papers assigned for shepherding. As a result of these efforts, the research program features 89 papers, the industrial program 10 papers (7 full papers and 3 short papers), and the demonstration program 28 demos. The conference program also includes 6 seminar tutorials and one panel. As a feature of ICDE conferences in recent years, all papers are presented at a poster session. Accompanying the main conference are 7 workshops.

The success of ICDE 2014 is in large measure the result of volunteer work by many committed scientists, all with many demands on their time, who contributed their expertise and time generously to making the conference a success.

We thank the area chairs, mentioned above, and the many program committee members for all their essential efforts. Next, we thank Rafae Bhatti, Malu Castellanos, and Yu Zheng who served as industrial program chairs; Walid Aref, Giovanna Guerrini, and Bin Cui who served as demo chairs; Panos K. Chrysanthis, Johannes Gehrke, and Rimma Nehme who served as panel chairs; Mohamed Mokbel, Peter Scheuermann, and Kian-Lee Tan who served as tutorial chairs; Reynold Cheng, Matthias Renz, and Philip Yu who served as workshops chairs; Alberto Laender and Barbara Carminati who served as poster chairs.

We also express our deep appreciation of the outstanding work put in over many months by the organization team: Xin Chen served as the local organization chair, Nikos Hardavellas served as the finance chair, Gabriel Ghinita and Ali Inan served as proceedings chairs, and Huiyong Xiao served as the web and publicity chair. We also wish to acknowledge the CMT team at Microsoft for their assistance.

It has been a pleasure to work with such a committed and insightful group of people who really care about ICDE and the data management research community. Without the contributions of all of these people, the conference would not have been a success.

We also gratefully acknowledge the financial support of our sponsors: Microsoft, Qatar Computing Research Institute, and HERE/Nokia as Platinum Sponsors, the Cyber Center of Purdue University and

McCormick School of Engineering at Northwestern University as Silver Sponsors, and Google as a Bronze Sponsor.

Finally, we thank all presenters and conference participants. We hope you all enjoy the conference!

ICDE 2014 PC Chairs Isabel Cruz, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria, Italy Yufei Tao, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

ICDE 2014 General Chairs Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA Goce Trajcevski, Northwestern University, USA