The Community for Technology Leaders

Computer Society Connection

Pages: –102

Abstract—News of interest to Computer Society members.

Keywords—IEEE Transactions on Big Data; IEEE Transactions on Multi-Scale Computing Systems; Technical Achievement Award; Kevin Bowyer; W. Bruce Croft; Srinivas Devadas; Pedro Felzenszwalb; Albert Zomaya

EIC Applicants Sought for CS Periodicals

The IEEE Computer Society seeks applicants for editors in chief of two new journals, IEEE Transactions on Multi-Scale Computing Systems (TMSCS) and IEEE Transactions on Big Data (TBD) for three-year terms starting 1 January 2015.

IEEE TMSCS ( is a peer-reviewed publication devoted to computing systems that exploit multi-scale and multi-functionality. IEEE TBD ( publishes peer-reviewed articles focusing on big data, providing cross-disciplinary innovative research ideas and applications results for big data including novel theories, algorithms, and applications.

Candidates for editor in chief should possess a good understanding of industry, academic, and government aspects of the specific publication's field. In addition, candidates must demonstrate the managerial skills necessary to process manuscripts through the editorial cycle in a timely fashion. An editor in chief must be able to attract respected experts to his or her editorial board.

Major responsibilities include

  • actively soliciting high-quality manuscripts from potential authors and, with support from publication staff, helping these authors get their manuscripts published;
  • identifying and appointing editorial board members, with the concurrence of the Steering Committee;
  • selecting competent manuscript reviewers, with the help of editorial board members, and managing timely reviews of manuscripts;
  • directing editorial board members to seek special issue proposals and manuscripts in specific areas;
  • providing a clear, broad focus through promotion of personal vision and guidance where appropriate; and
  • resolving conflicts or problems as necessary.

Applicants should possess recognized expertise in the computer science and engineering community, and must have clear employer support.

Applicants will be notified of the search results approximately four months following the application deadline.

Prospective candidates are asked to provide a complete curriculum vitae, a brief plan for the publication's future, and a letter of support from their institution or employer (as PDF files) to Kimberly Sperka,, by 1 June 2014.

Technical Achievement Awardees Announced

Five prominent technologists from a range of computer science areas have been named IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Awardees:

  • Kevin Bowyer, the Schubmehl-Prein Professor and Chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, for “pioneering contributions to the science and engineering of biometrics”;
  • W. Bruce Croft, a Distinguished Professor in the School of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, for “outstanding contributions to information retrieval and the development of search engines”;
  • Srinivas Devadas, the Webster Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for “pioneering work in secure hardware, including the invention of Physical Unclonable Functions and single-chip secure processor architectures”;
  • Pedro Felzenszwalb, associate professor of engineering and computer science at Brown University, for “the deformable parts model method of detecting objects in images and video”; and
  • Albert Zomaya, the Chair of High Performance Computing and Networking and Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow in the School of Information Technologies at the University of Sydney, “for outstanding contributions to the solution of scheduling problems in parallel and distributed computing systems.”

The Computer Society Technical Achievement Award recognizes outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science, and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10 to 15 years. The award consists of a certificate and $2,000 honorarium. For more information, visit

69 ms
(Ver 3.x)