The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 02 - Feb. (2014 vol. 47)
ISSN: 0018-9162
pp: 91
News of interest to Computer Society members.
50 Years of Fellows
This year, IEEE celebrates its 50th year honoring select IEEE members with Fellow status. Fellows are those members whose accomplishments have advanced the engineering field, and as a result, they have brought significant value to society. The grade of Fellow was first established in 1964, when the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE) and the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE) merged; it's a highly selective elevation, as only one-tenth of one percent of the total voting membership can be elevated in any one year.
Over the past 50 years, IEEE has elevated roughly 10,000 members to this honor. Throughout 2014, IEEE will celebrate its Fellows in a number of ways.
For more information about the IEEE Fellow program, please see:
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must
  • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science, and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
  • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted; and
  • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.
The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of the IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.
90 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))