The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 12 - Dec. (2012 vol. 45)
ISSN: 0018-9162
pp: 93-95
IEEE Computer Society members recently selected Dejan S. Milojičić of HP Labs to serve as president-elect for 2013.
Milojičić, is currently the Society's first vice president, has served on its Board of Governors, and participated in developing the IEEE-CS 2011 Strategic Plan. He is the founding editor of the Society's Computing Now portal and an IEEE Internet Computing editorial board member. He was appointed as the first Special Technical Communities chair, and has served as chair of the IEEE-CS Technical Committee on Operating Systems and on many program committees, including ICDCS, CLOUD, and EDOC. An IEEE Fellow, Milojičić is also an IEEE-CS Golden Core member and an ACM Distinguished Engineer. He has published two books and more than 120 papers and has been awarded 11 patents and 22 patent applications.
Candidates elected to the Computer Society presidency serve in leadership roles for a three-year term. After serving a year as president-elect under 2013 president David Alan Grier, Milojičić will assume the duties of Society president in 2014. Following his 2014 term as president, he will continue to be an active Society leader in 2015 as past president.

2013 IEEE Computer Society president-elect Dejan S. Milojičić will focus on aligning the CS with the technology transformation reflected in cloud computing and social networking.

2013 IEEE Computer Society president David Alan Grier is exploring ways to strengthen support for conferences, intellectual property rights management, technical education, and plans for the society's future.

Leaders Serve Members
Each year, Society members vote for the next year's president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.
The three presidents—president-elect, current president, and past president—work together in setting Society policies and making operational decisions. The current Society president is responsible for heading three annual Board of Governors meetings and for addressing major issues that affect the Computer Society during the year.
New Vice Presidents Elected
Thomas M. Conte of the Georgia Institute of Technology was elected 2013 first vice president, while Elizabeth (Liz) Burd of Durham University in the UK topped the balloting for 2013 second vice president. Conte will serve as chair of the Publications Board; Burd will chair the Member and Geographic Activities Board.
The sitting president also appoints vice presidents to complement the two elected VPs as leaders of individual Society activities boards: Publications, Educational Activities, Standards Activities, Technical and Conference Activities, and Professional Activities.
The appointed Society vice presidents also serve as nonvoting members of the Board of Governors. Holding voting positions on the Board are the president, past president, president-elect, and the first and second vice presidents. Additional nonvoting members include the Society's staff executive director and the IEEE directors for Divisions V and VIII—the Computer Society's elected representatives on the IEEE Board of Directors.
Board of Governors Adds Seven New Members
In the 2012 Society election, which closed in early October, voters also cast ballots to fill seven openings on the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The seven members chosen for 2013-2015 terms are Ann DeMarle, Jean-Luc Gaudiot, Phillip Laplante, Cecilia Metra, Nita Patel, Diomidis Spinellis, and Stefano Zanero. Many of the successful candidates have had recent Computer Society Board of Governors and leadership experience.
Elected officers volunteer their time and talents to further the Society's goals and to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general. Society officers take a lead role in promoting new publications, educational efforts, technical focus groups, and international standards that help Society members attain career goals.
Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each office. The full ballot for the 2012 election also included the candidates listed in Table 2.

Table 1. New officers who will begin serving the IEEE Computer Society on 1 January 2013.

Table 2. The full ballot for the 2012 Computer Society election also included the following candidates.

Nominate a Candidate
Any member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of IEEE and must have been Society members for at least the preceding three years.
Visit for more details on the 2012 IEEE Computer Society election.
79 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))