The Community for Technology Leaders

Grier Voted 2012 Computer Society President-Elect: Members also choose new vice presidents and Board of Governors members.

Pages: pp. 69-70

IEEE Computer Society members recently selected David Alan Grier of George Washington University to serve as president-elect for 2012.

Grier is currently the Society's first vice president and serves on its Board of Governors (2009-), Executive Committee (2009-), and Planning Committee (2010-). He was formerly vice president of publications and has served on various IEEE committees, including TAB Periodicals, Periodical Review, and the Publication Services and Products Board. Grier is a senior member of IEEE.

Candidates elected to the Computer Society presidency serve in leadership roles for a three-year term. After serving a year as president-elect under 2012 president John W. Walz, Grier will assume the duties of Society president in 2013. Following his 2013 term as president, he will continue to be an active Society leader in 2014 as past president.


Each year, Society members vote for the next year's president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.


Figure    2012 IEEE Computer Society president-elect David Alan Grier will focus on conference support, intellectual property rights, technical education, and plans for the future of the Society.


Figure    2012 IEEE Computer Society president John W. Walz is exploring ways to recruit and engage volunteers; promote collaboration across conferences, publications, and standards; and implement new content-generation and distribution models.

The three presidents—incoming, current, and outgoing—work together in setting policy and making operational decisions. The current Society president is responsible for heading three annual Board of Governors meetings and for addressing major issues that affect the Computer Society during the year.


Thomas M. Conte of the Georgia Institute of Technology was elected 2012 first vice president, while André Ivanov of the University of British Columbia topped the balloting for 2012 second vice president. Each will serve as chair of one of the several Computer Society boards. The sitting president also appoints vice presidents to complement the two elected VPs as leaders of individual Society activities boards: Publications, Educational Activities, Conferences and Tutorials, Standards Activities, Technical Activities, Chapter Activities, and Student Activities.

The appointed Society vice presidents also serve as nonvoting members of the Board of Governors. Holding voting positions on the Board are the president, past president, president-elect, and first and second vice presidents. Additional nonvoting members are the Society's staff executive director and the IEEE directors for Divisions V and VIII—the Computer Society's elected representatives on the IEEE Board of Governors.


In the 2011 Society election, which closed in early October, voters also cast ballots to fill seven openings on the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The seven members chosen for 2012-2014 terms are Hironori Kasahara, David S. Ebert, Arnold N. Pears, Hakan Erdogmus, Fabrizio Lombardi, José-Ignacio Castillo-Velázquez, and Gargi Keeni. Many of the successful candidates have had recent Computer Society Board of Governors and leadership experience.

Elected officers volunteer their time and talents to further the Society's goals and to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general. Society officers take a lead role in promoting new publications, educational efforts, technical focus groups, and international standards that help Society members attain career goals.

Computer Society members returned 7,292 ballots in the 2011 election. From a total of 62,757 eligible members, this represents a participation rate of 11.62 percent. Voters cast 7,049 electronic ballots and 243 in paper form. Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each office. The full ballot for the 2011 election also included the candidates listed in Table 2.

Table 1. These new officers will begin serving the IEEE Computer Society on 1 January 2012.

Table 2. The full ballot for the 2011 Computer Society election also included the following candidates.


Any member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of IEEE and must have been Society members for at least the preceding three years.

Visit for more details on the 2011 IEEE Computer Society election.


IEEE members recently selected Peter W. Staecker as their president-elect for 2012. Staecker received a BS and EE from MIT, and an MS and PhD from Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn. His career started in 1972 at MIT Lincoln Laboratory, where he developed microwave design and test techniques for satellite communications. In 1986, Staecker joined M/A-COM, where he led program, product, and process development. He retired from M/A-COM as director of research and development.

Staecker will serve one year as IEEE president-elect, participating in Board of Directors activities. He will then assume the role of president in the following year. After his term in 2013, Staecker will serve as past president in 2014.


Figure    Peter W. Staecker created the IEEE's first digital Society Opera-tions Manual.

In the same election, IEEE members chose Computer Society Board of Governors member Roger U. Fujii as Division VIII director-elect for 2012. Fujii, an IEEE Fellow, is vice president of network communication systems at Northrop Grumman.

Division directors represent IEEE societies on the IEEE Board of Directors and Technical Activities Board. Division directors V and VIII are elected to represent the Computer Society membership. Fujii will act as director-elect in 2012 and as division director for 2013-2014. The division directors also serve as ex officio members of the Computer Society's Board of Governors and Executive Committee.

63 ms
(Ver 3.x)