The Community for Technology Leaders

Computer Society Connection

Pages: pp. 82-84

Computer Society Winner Nets $50,000 Prize

For his multiple processor-based project, "Automated Parallelization through Dynamic Analysis," Kevin Michael Ellis, 18, of Portland, Oregon, recently received a $1,000 IEEE Computer Society prize at the 2010 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) in San Jose, California. Ellis also received the $50,000 Intel Foundation Young Scientist Award, one of the top prizes at ISEF.

Founded by the nonprofit educational organization Society for Science & the Public in 1950, Intel ISEF is the world's largest precollege science fair.

This year, the competition included 1,611 young scientists from 59 countries, regions, and territories. The Intel Foundation awarded $8,000 to each of 19 "Best of Category" winners and also provided $1,000 grants to the winners' schools and the affiliated science fairs they represent. Dozens of other corporate, academic, government, and science-focused sponsors provided more than 600 additional awards and prizes.

Intel Isef Competition

ISEF-affiliated science fairs throughout the world bring together competitors from the 9th through 12th grades. Students must develop a hypothesis, a procedure for testing the hypothesis, and a detailed research plan. Once the project is approved, contestants begin experimenting, observing and collecting data in a project journal, and subsequently interpret the data and observations before drawing conclusions in a final report for presentation.

Complete details on past, current, and future ISEF competitions, as well as resources for locating affiliated regional science fairs, are available at

Computer Society Awards

Seven competitors at Intel ISEF 2010 received cash awards from the IEEE Computer Society. Based on scores compiled by a team of expert volunteer judges fielded by the Computer Society, winners of IEEE Computer Society awards at ISEF 2010 were

First Award—$1,000: Kevin Michael Ellis, 18, Portland, Oregon

"Automated Parallelization through Dynamic Analysis"

Second Award—$500: Dylan Freedman, 16, Carmel, California

"A Novel Approach to Text Compression Using N-Grams"

Third Award—$350: Vighnesh Leonard Shiv, 16, Portland, Oregon

"BeatHoven: Identifying and Inventing Solutions to Obsta-cles Hindering Automatic Transcription of Polyphonic Music of a Single Instrument"

Team First Award—$500 for each team member: Spencer August Berglund, 14, and David Alexandre Joseph Campeau, 15, Rochester, Minnesota

"Autonomous Robotic Rubik's Cube Solver"

Team Second Award—$400 for each team member: Akash Krishnan, 15, and Mathew Fernandez, 16, Portland, Oregon

"The Classification and Recognition of Emotions in Prerecorded Speech"

Award winners also receive a gift certificate for any Computer Society publication and a one-year subscription to a Society magazine of their choice.

Other Honors

Said lead IEEE Computer Society judge Lowell Johnson, "Each year the winners of Computer Society awards usually win several other honors, usually comparable to ours monetarily. However, this year our first-place winner (Ellis) won approximately a dozen other awards, including the Intel Foundation Young Scientist Award of $50,000, which is the second-highest of the Intel Grand Awards. I do not remember this ever happening before. Kevin's work was thoughtful, well-researched in terms of the literature, and he was rigorous in testing his approach."

Ellis received, among other honors, the $3,000 Intel ISEF Best of Category Award for computer science. Computer Society honoree Vighnesh Leonard Shiv earned a fourth award in the same category, as well as a $5,000 scholarship to Oregon Institute of Technology and $2,000 in United Technologies corporate stock. Computer Society award winner Dylan Freedman earned an $8,000 scholarship subsidy from the US Office of Naval Research. Society honorees Akash Krishnan and Mathew Fernandez won an all-expense paid trip to attend the 2011 European Union Contest for Young Scientists, "Genius Scholarships" to Sierra Nevada College, and a $5,000 Intel ISEF Best of Category Award for team projects.

The overall Intel ISEF winner for 2010 was Amy Chyao, 16, of Richardson, Texas, who received the new $75,000 Gordon E. Moore Award for developing a photosensitizer for photodynamic therapy, an emerging cancer treatment that uses light energy to activate a drug that kills cancer cells.

The Intel International Science and Engineering Fair moves to Los Angeles, California in 2011. Further information about ISEF is available at

Society Publication Seeks Volunteer EIC

The IEEE Computer Society seeks applicants for the position of editor in chief of Annals of the History of Computing, serving a two-year term , starting 1 January 2013. Prospective candidates are asked to provide (as PDF files) by 1 March 2011 a complete curriculum vitae, a brief plan for the publication's future, and a letter of support from their institution or employer. For more information on the search process and to submit application materials, please contact Robin Baldwin,

Qualifications and Requirements

Candidates for any Computer Society editor-in-chief position should possess a good understanding of industry, academic, and government aspects of the specific publication's field. In addition, candidates must demonstrate the managerial skills necessary to process manuscripts through the editorial cycle in a timely fashion. An editor in chief must be able to attract respected experts to the publication's editorial board. Major responsibilities include

  • actively soliciting high-quality manuscripts from potential authors and, with support from publication staff, helping these authors get their manuscripts published;
  • identifying and appointing editorial board members, with the concurrence of the Publications Board;
  • selecting competent manuscript reviewers, with the help of editorial board members, and managing timely reviews of manuscripts;
  • directing editorial board members to seek special-issue proposals and manuscripts in specific areas;
  • providing a clear, broad focus through promotion of personal vision and guidance where appropriate; and
  • resolving conflicts or problems as necessary.

Applicants should possess recognized expertise in the computer science and engineering community and must have clear employer support.


Other IEEE Computer Society publications have editors in chief who are currently standing for reappointment to a second two-year term. The IEEE Computer Society Publications Board invites comments on the tenures of the individual editors. Editors in chief standing for reappointment to terms in 2012-2013 are:

  • Gabriel Taubin, IEEE Computer Graphics & Applications
  • Simon Liu, IT Professional
  • John R. Smith, IEEE Multimedia
  • Nigel Davies, IEEE Pervasive Computing
  • Ravi Sandhu, IEEE Transactions on Dependable & Secure Computing
  • Ivan Stojmenovic, IEEE Transactions on Parallel & Distributed Systems
  • Bashar Nuseibeh, IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering
  • Kevin Skadron, Computer Architecture Letters

Send comments to:

Ed Zintel, for IEEE Multimedia

Bob Ward, for IT Professional

Kathy Santa Maria, for all Transactions and Letters

Jennifer Stout, for IEEE Computer Graphics & Applications and IEEE Pervasive Computing.

Board of Governors Votes to Amend Bylaws

At a recent meeting, the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors voted to amend two articles of the Society's bylaws. Article IV ( was changed to reflect changes to the makeup of the Executive Committee. Article XII ( was edited to clarify duties and membership qualifications for the Awards Committee.

View the revised bylaws online. Changes to Article IV are available via, while changes to Article XII are available via Deletions are marked in strikeout text, and insertions are underlined.

66 ms
(Ver 3.x)