The Community for Technology Leaders

Computer Society Announces Award Winners

Pages: pp. 72-73

The IEEE Computer Society sponsors a robust program of awards designed to recognize both technical achievement and service to the society and the profession. Technical honors may be given for pioneering and significant contributions to the field of computer science and engineering. Service awards may be presented to both volunteers and staff for well-defined and highly valued contributions to the society.

Nvidia's Dally Receives 2010 IEEE/ACM Eckert Mauchly Award


Figure    William J. Dally designed the MOSSIM simulation engine.

The IEEE Computer Society and the ACM have joined to present the Eckert-Mauchly Award to William J. Dally of NVIDIA for his innovative contributions to the architecture of interconnection networks and parallel computers. Today, strong commercial demands provide a driving force for parallel processing applications in data mining, oil exploration, Web search engines, medical imaging and diagnosis, pharmaceutical design, and financial and economic modeling. Parallel processing also enables continued scaling of computing performance in the current energy-constrained environment.

Dally developed the system and network architecture, signaling, routing, and synchronization technology found in most large parallel computers today. He also introduced the Imagine processor, which employs stream-processing architecture to provide high-performance computers with power, speed, and efficiency.

Dally joined NVIDIA in 2009 as chief scientist and senior vice president of research. From 2005 to 2009, he served as chair of Stanford University's computer science department, where he has been a computer science professor since 1997. Prior to his time at Stanford, Dally led a group at MIT that built the J-Machine and the M-Machine, parallel machines that pioneered the separation of mechanism and programming model.

Dally has published more than 200 papers and holds more than 75 patents. A fellow of IEEE, the ACM, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, he also received the IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Award in 2004. Dally has a BS from the Virginia Institute of Technology and an MS from Stanford, both in electrical engineering. He received a PhD in computer science from Caltech.

The IEEE Computer Society and the ACM cosponsor the $5,000 Eckert-Mauchly prize. The award was named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who collaborated on the design and construction of the Electronic Numerical Integrator and Computer (ENIAC), the first large-scale electronic computing machine, which was completed in 1947.

Han Named Recipient of W. Wallace Mcdowell Award


Figure    Jiawei Han is editor in chief of ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery from Data.

Jiawei Han, a computer science professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is the 2009 winner of the IEEE Computer Society W. Wallace McDowell Award. He conducts research into data mining, information network analysis, data warehousing, stream mining, spatiotemporal and multimedia data mining, text and Web mining, and software bug mining. Han's award citation reads "For significant contributions to knowledge discovery and data mining."

An IEEE and ACM fellow, Han is currently director of the Information Network Academic Research Center. He's author of the textbook Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques (Morgan Kaufmann, 2000). Han also received the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award in 2005.

With more than 400 conference and journal publications to his credit, Han has chaired or participated in more than 100 international conference program committees and served on the editorial boards of Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery, IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, Journal of Computer Science and Technology, and Journal of Intelligent Information Systems. He's the founding editor in chief of ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery from Data.

One of computing's most prestigious individual honors, the W. Wallace McDowell Award has been presented to many industry giants. They include Intel cofounder Gordon Moore (1978); microprocessor inventor Federico Faggin (1994); World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee (1996); Lotus Notes creator and Microsoft chief software architect Ray Ozzie (2000); supercomputer pioneers Seymour Cray (1968), Gene Amdahl (1976), and Ken Kennedy (1995); and IBM mainframe computer architect Frederick Brooks (1970).

A bronze medal and $2,000 honorarium accompany the award, which is presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions that fall within the scope of IEEE Computer Society interest.

Valero Wins Goode Award


Figure    Mateo Valero is director of Spain's Barcelona Supercomputing Centre.

The IEEE Computer Society recently named Mateo Valero, of Spain's Technical University of Catalonia, winner of the 2009 Harry H. Goode Memorial Award. His citation reads "In recognition of seminal contributions to vector, out-of-order, multithreaded, and VLIW processor architectures." Valero is a fellow of the ACM, and has been an Intel Distinguished Research Fellow since 2002. He won the IEEE/ACM Eckert-Mauchly Award in 2007.

The Harry H. Goode Memorial Award was originally presented each year by the American Federation of Information Processing Societies to honor and encourage outstanding contributions to the field of information processing. Upon the dissolution of AFIPS in 1990, the IEEE Computer Society assumed responsibility for the award's continuation.

Recipients are selected on the basis of achievements in the field that are considered either a single contribution of theory, design, or technique of outstanding significance, or the accumulation of important contributions on theory or practice over an extended time period, the total of which represents an outstanding contribution.

Winners receive a bronze medallion and a $2,000 honorarium.

King Named Winner of Merwin Award


Figure    Willis King served on the ABET board of directors from 2005 to 2008.

Willis King, a professor at the University of Houston, recently received the IEEE Computer Society's 2009 Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service. His citation reads "For exemplary service to the IEEE Computer Society and to the computing profession at large."

King's research interests include computer architecture and computer science education, concentrating on memory hierarchy and multiprocessor systems. He was a major contributor to the Model Curricula 2001 published by the IEEE Computer Society and the ACM. King received an MS in electrical engineering from the Technische Hochschule, Darmstadt, Germany, in 1963, and a PhD in electrical engineering from the University of Pennsylvania in 1969. He joined the computer science department at the University of Houston in 1969.

The Merwin award is the highest-level volunteer service honor presented by the IEEE Computer Society. Winners receive a bronze medal and $5,000 for outstanding service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society or its predecessor organizations. Richard E. Merwin was a pioneer in the field of digital computer engineering and, at the time of his death, president of the Computer Society. A graduate of the Moore School of Electrical Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania, he participated in the development of the ENIAC and MANIAC computers.

Computer Society Awards

For more information about the IEEE Computer Society's awards programs, including nomination materials, visit

70 ms
(Ver 3.x)