The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 03 - March (2008 vol. 41)
ISSN: 0018-9162
pp: 83-85
Bob Ward , IEEE Computer Society
Society Names Cray and Fernbach Award Winners
The IEEE Computer Society recently presented two of its most prestigious awards in a special ceremony at SC07, an international conference dedicated to advances in high-performance computing, networking storage, and analysis, in Reno, Nevada. The Seymour Cray Award recognizes innovative contributions to high-performance computer systems. The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award honors innovative uses of high-performance computing in problem solving.
Batcher Receives Cray Award

Kent State's Kenneth Batcher earned recognition for his work on massively parallel computation.

Kenneth Batcher has been named the recipient of the 2007 Seymour Cray Computer Science & Engineering Award. Batcher, a professor of computer science at Ohio's Kent State University, was recognized for fundamental theoretical and practical contributions to massively parallel computation, which involve distributing jobs across thousands of processors. His work has involved interconnection networks, parallel sorting algorithms, and pioneering designs of the STARAN and MPP computers.
Batcher is renowned for his early work on sorting networks. He developed the odd-even merge sort and "bitonic sort," and showed how each could be implemented in hardware. His bitonic sort, often called the "Batcher sort," is one of the classic algorithms in the field. He also designed the architectures of the STARAN (in 1972) and the MPP (in 1983), two of the earliest single-instruction, multiple-data parallel computers. These designs were among the first commercially successful massively parallel computers. Batcher also contributed to the development of the associative computing field, including computational models, algorithms, and languages.
Established in 1998, the Seymour Cray award recognizes innovative contributions to high-performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit of Seymour Cray. The award includes a crystal memento, illuminated certificate, and $10,000 honorarium.
Keyes Wins Fernbach Award
David Keyes of Columbia University recently received the 2007 Sidney Fernbach Award. Keyes, the Fu Foundation Professor of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics at Columbia University, was recognized for his outstanding contributions to the development of scalable numerical algorithms for the solution of nonlinear partial differential equations and exceptional leadership in high-performance computation.

Columbia University's David Keyes is a leading force in high-performance computation.

Keyes is world-renowned for contributions to Newton-Krylov-Schwarz methods for the efficient solution of nonlinear partial differential equations on high-performance computers. These methods are at the heart of many applications, including aerodynamics, radiation transport, acoustics, and magnetohydrodynamics. They have been incorporated into open mathematical software libraries that have enabled hundreds of users to make efficient use of parallel computers, from small clusters to the world's largest computers. He also has played a major role in the high-performance computing community through his professional service and leadership of the DOE SciDAC TOPS center.
The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award honors innovative uses of high-performance computing in problem solving. This award was established in 1992 in memory of Sidney Fernbach, a pioneer in the development and application of high-performance computers for the solution of large computational problems. A certificate and $2,000 are awarded for innovative approaches and outstanding contributions in the application of high-performance computers.
More information on the presentation is available at
Computer Society awards recognize technical achievements, contributions to engineering education, and service to the Society or the profession. Nominations for the Cray and Fernbach awards are due by 1 July. To nominate a candidate for any IEEE Computer Society award, visit
Society Announces 2008 CSDP Testing Opportunities
More than 60 years ago, the IEEE Computer Society established itself as the leading association for computing professionals worldwide. Today there are nearly 90,000 members in more than 140 countries. The Computer Society seeks to provide unparalleled technical information and services to the world's computing professionals. The Society recognizes that a recent explosion in technology advancements continues to drive an explosion in certification programs—many directed to computer professionals as well as to millions of technicians. After more than three years of extensive research in the field among professionals, employers and their customers, IEEE Computer Society volunteer leaders moved to develop and offer the Certified Software Development Professional program.
Certification Exam
Veteran software engineering professionals have seen the handful of certifications offered in the 1960s grow to thousands offered today by software companies and independent organizations. As the art, science, engineering, and technology of software advanced into the 1990s, the need for a professional credential of the highest value and distinction became evident.
The three critical components of professional certification include exam-based testing demonstrating mastery of a body of knowledge; extensive experience base in the performance of the work or profession being certified; and continuing professional education in areas related to the body of knowledge.
The CSDP is the only professional certification that has all of these critical components, plus the support of the IEEE, which has more than 300,000 members worldwide, and it is the only certification for computing professionals that carries the brand, reputation, and standards of the IEEE Computer Society.
2008 CSDP Requirements and Testing Dates
Candidates applying for certification as a CSDP must have a baccalaureate or equivalent university degree, at least two years of software engineering experience within the four-year period prior to the application, and a minimum of 9,000 hours of software engineering experience in at least six of the 11 knowledge areas listed below.

    • Business Practices and Engineering

    • Economics

    • Software Requirements

    • Software Design

    • Software Construction

    • Software Testing

    • Software Maintenance

    • Software Configuration Management

    • Software Engineering Management

    • Software Engineering Process

    • Software Engineering Tools and Methods

    • Software Quality

Test-takers can choose from two testing windows in 2008. Applications to test, including proof of experience and all applicable fees, are due by 27 June for test dates between 14 January and 11 July, and by 1 December for dates between 18 August and 12 December.
The CSDP examination registration fee has two components: a $100 application fee, which is nonrefundable and nontransferable, and an examination fee.
IEEE or IEEE Computer Society members pay the application fee of $100 and an examination fee of $350 for a total of $450. In addition to the $100 application fee, nonmembers pay an examination fee of $450, for a total of $550. Applications submitted without full payment will not be processed for the current testing window.
Society Supports Education and Certification
The CSDP examination was developed in collaboration with Thomson Prometric. The program is part of the Society's larger effort to provide education and certification services for the software engineering community. Throughout the year, in support of the certification program, the Computer Society offers education programs covering the principal content areas of the examination.
To learn more about IEEE Computer Society professional certification programs, visit
87 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))