The Community for Technology Leaders

Land Voted 2008 Computer Society President-Elect: New vice presidents and Board of Governors members also chosen

Pages: pp. 62-63


Figure    2008 IEEE Computer Society President-Elect Susan (Kathy) Land, CSDP, will introduce efforts to ensure that IEEE Computer Society products remain relevant to the marketplace.


Figure    2008 President Rangachar Kasturi is working to build a stronger and more agile organization.

IEEE Computer Society members recently selected Susan (Kathy) Land, CSDP, of Northrop Grumman Information Technology, to serve as the Society's president-elect for 2008.

Land is currently the IEEE Computer Society's second vice president for standards activities. She is chair of the IEEE Computer Society Software Engineering Portfolio oversight committee, a member of the IEEE Computer Society International Design Competition Committee, and chair of the Computer Society Technical Achievement Award subcommittee. Land is the author of Jumpstart CMM/CMMI Software Process Improvement: Using IEEE Software Engineering Standards (John Wiley & Sons, 2005). She is coauthor of Practical Support for CMMI-SW Software Project Documentation: Using IEEE Software Engineering Standards (John Wiley & Sons, 2005) and Practical Support for ISO 9001 Software Project Documentation: Using IEEE Software Engineering Standards (John Wiley & Sons, 2006).

Candidates elected to the Computer Society presidency serve a three-year term in a leadership role. After serving a year as president-elect under 2008 president Rangachar Kasturi, Land will assume the duties of Society president in 2009. Following her term as president, Land will continue to be an active Society leader in 2010 as past president.

New Vice Presidents Elected

George Cybenko was elected 2008 first vice president, while Michel Israel topped the balloting for 2008 second vice president. Each will serve as chair of one of the several Computer Society boards. The sitting president also appoints vice presidents to complement the two elected VPs as leaders of individual Society activities boards: the Publications Board, the Educational Activities Board, the Conferences and Tutorials Board, the Standards Activities Board, the Technical Activities Board, the Chapter Activities Board, and the Student Activities Board.

All appointed Society vice presidents also serve as nonvoting members of the Board of Governors. Holding voting positions on the Board are the president, past president, president-elect, and the first and second vice presidents. Additional nonvoting members are the Society's staff executive director, the editor in chief of Computer, and the IEEE directors for divisions V and VIII—the Computer Society's elected representatives on the IEEE Board of Governors.

Board of Governors Adds Seven New Members

In the 2007 Society election, which closed in early October, voters also cast ballots to fill seven openings on the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The full Board consists of 21 members. Each year, seven new or returning members are elected to serve three-year terms. Members chosen for 2008–2010 terms are André Ivanov, Phillip Laplante, Itaru Mimura, Jon Rokne, Christina Schober, Ann Sobel, and Jeffrey Voas. Many of the successful candidates have had recent Board of Governors experience.

Elected officers volunteer their time and talents to further the Society's goals and to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general. Society officers take a lead role in promoting new publications, educational efforts, technical focus groups, and international standards that help Computer Society members attain career goals.

The Computer Society mailed 73,571 ballots to members in the 2007 election. Of the 7,106 ballots cast—a return rate of 9.66 percent—4,264 were submitted via the Web, 2,824 were mailed in, and 18 were cast by fax. Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each officer. The full ballot for the 2007 election also included the candidates listed in Table 2.

Table 1. These new officers will begin serving the IEEE Computer Society on 1 January 2008.

Table 2. The full ballot for the 2007 election also included the following candidates.

Leaders Serve Members

Each year, Society members vote for the next year's president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.

The three presidents—incoming, active, and outgoing—work together in setting policy and making operational decisions. The active Society president is responsible for heading the annual Board of Governors meetings and for addressing major issues that affect the Computer Society during the year.

Nominate a Candidate

Any Computer Society member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of the IEEE and must have been members of the Computer Society for at least the preceding three years.

See for more details on the 2007 IEEE Computer Society elections.

John Vig Named IEEE President-Elect for 2008

IEEE members recently selected John Vig as their president-elect for 2008. Vig is an IEEE Fellow and the recipient of the IEEE's W.G. Cady Award and C.B. Sawyer Memorial Award, which recognize outstanding contributions in frequency control.

Vig will serve one year as IEEE president-elect, participating in Board of Directors activities. He will then assume the role of president in the following year. After his term in 2009, Vig will serve as past president in 2010.

In the same election, IEEE members chose 2003 Computer Society president Stephen Diamond as division VIII director-elect for 2008. Diamond, a managing director at Picosoft, served as a member of the IEEE Board of Directors in 2005 and 2006. He currently serves as the chair of the IEEE Marketing and Sales Committee.

Division directors represent IEEE societies on the IEEE Board of Directors and Technical Activities Board. Division directors V and VIII are elected to represent the Computer Society membership. Diamond will act as director-elect in 2008 and as division director for 2009–2010. The division directors also serve as ex officio members of the Computer Society's Board of Governors and Executive Committee.

John Vig is a technical advisor for the US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.
74 ms
(Ver 3.x)