The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 03 - March (2007 vol. 40)
ISSN: 0018-9162
pp: 77-79
CHC 61 Sites Highlight "Unsung Heroes" in 2007
In 2006, the IEEE Computer Society created a special student Web design competition in celebration of its 60th anniversary. The competition, dubbed the 60th Computer History Competition (or CHC 60), enjoyed such great success that organizers decided to run the competition again this year, offering a Microsoft-sponsored $10,000 first-place prize.
CHC 61 Competition Theme
The overarching theme for the 2007 competition is "Unsung Heroes," which encourages student teams to consider contributions to computing made by players from more obscure quarters. CHC 61 challenges a team of four undergraduates to create an English-language Web site that highlights lesser-known computer pioneers. Particularly welcome are sites featuring female pioneers or pioneers in countries not immediately associated with early computing.
Competition rules for CHC 61 encourage students to work together as a team to design, research, and implement a high-quality Web site. Organizers stress the importance of transferable skills such as time management and the division of a major task among a group.
Said CHC 61 chair Alan Clements of the UK's University of Teesside, "Because the competition stresses teamwork and good design, the Web sites should include a section on the way in which the teams approached their project and how they allocated tasks among team members."
Establishing Teams and Projects
Team members must be full-time undergraduate students in the same university and be enrolled during the academic school year that they register for CHC 61. However, graduation prior to the final submission date will not invalidate a team member's eligibility. CHC 61 strongly encourages an inter-disciplinary approach, drawing team members from all departments. Not all students on a team need to come from a computer-related department.
Each Web site must be composed of original material created by the team. Any other material must be footnoted and, if necessary, have the copyright owner's permission to use it in the competition. Teams can use software tools to create their site or they can generate their own code. A site will not be judged by the tools used to create it, but rather on its appearance, usability, and content. Sites should comply with W3C standards and should run stably on a variety of widely available browsers.
Important Deadlines
The application deadline for CHC 61 is 15 March. The final submission date for URLs is 14 July. CHC 61 will be restricted to 200 teams. If more than 200 teams register before 15 March, teams to participate in the competition will be selected at random. The top 10 teams will later be required to submit their Web site electronically on CD or DVD to be hosted on Computer Society servers.
The winning team will be announced on 1 October 2007. Further information on CHC 61 is available at
Seymour Cray and Sidney Fernbach Award Nominations Due 30 June
Presented each fall by the IEEE Computer Society, the Seymour Cray Award and the Sidney Fernbach Award, two of the most coveted awards in computing, recognize individuals for making outstanding contributions to computer science and engineering.
Seymour Cray, often called the father of supercomputing, was well known for discovering unconventional solutions to vexing problems. The IEEE Computer Society's Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award recognizes individuals whose contributions to high-performance computing systems best reflect Cray's innovative, creative spirit. Recipients of the Cray Award also receive a crystal memento, an illuminated certificate, and a $10,000 honorarium.
High-performance computing pioneer Sidney Fernbach made important early strides in the use of high-performance computers to solve large computational problems. In 1992, the Computer Society established the Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award to recognize individuals who have made notable contributions to developing applications for high-performance computing. Awards committees associated with the annual Supercomputing conference evaluate nominations for the honor. The Fernbach award winner receives a certificate of recognition and a $2,000 honorarium.
Winners of both the Cray and the Fernbach awards will accept their honors during a special awards ceremony at SC 2007 in Reno, Nevada, this November.
Computer Society awards recognize technical achievements, contributions to engineering education, and service to the Society or the profession. Nominations for the Cray and Fernbach awards are due by 30 June. To obtain nomination materials for any IEEE Computer Society award, visit
Computer Society and IEEE Foundation Offer Cash Prizes at Intel Science Fair
Each year, both the IEEE Computer Society and the IEEE Foundation sponsor special awards for outstanding high school students at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, which takes place this year from 13–19 May in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Intel ISEF 2007, presented in cooperation with Agilent Technologies, provides an opportunity for outstanding young scientists from around the globe to share ideas and display cutting-edge science projects while competing for more than $4 million in scholarships, scientific trips, tuition grants, and scientific equipment. The annual event draws competitors from more than 40 countries, making it the world's largest international high school science and engineering competition.
The Computer Society typically sponsors six to eight individual and team awards at ISEF that range from $300 to $700. Winners of Computer Society awards receive a framed certificate and a one-year free subscription to an IEEE Computer Society magazine of their choice. Computer will publish a group photo of the winners in an upcoming issue.
The IEEE Foundation Presidents' Scholarship recognizes outstanding achievement in the research and presentation of engineering knowledge in electrical engineering, information technology, or other IEEE fields of interest. Winners receive $2,500 during each of four years of undergraduate study, as well as an IEEE student membership. A framed certificate and an engraved plaque accompany the award.
ISEF moves to Atlanta in 2008. For further information about the IEEE Presidents' Scholarship, visit For a detailed list of ISEF winners from previous years, including recipients of Computer Society prizes, visit
81 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))