The Community for Technology Leaders

Report to Members

Pages: pp. 81-82

Kasturi Voted 2007 Computer Society President-Elect: Board of Governors members and new vice presidents also named.

IEEE Computer Society members recently selected Rangachar Kasturi, chair of computer science and engineering at the University of South Florida, to serve as the Society's president-elect for 2007.

Currently vice president for conferences and tutorials, Kasturi served as the Computer Society's treasurer in 2004 and 2005, and vice president of publications from 2001 to 2003. Kasturi was editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence from 1995 to 1998.

Candidates elected to the Computer Society presidency serve a three-year term in a leadership role. After serving a year as president-elect under 2007 president Michael Williams, Kasturi will assume the duties of Society president in 2008. Following his term as president, Kasturi will continue to be an active Society leader in 2009 as past president.

New Vice Presidents Chosen

Susan (Kathy) Land topped the balloting for 2007 first vice president, while Sorel Reisman was elected 2007 second vice president. Each will serve as chair of one of the several Computer Society boards. The sitting president also appoints vice presidents to complement the two elected VPs as leaders of individual Society boards: Publications, Educational Activities, Conferences and Tutorials Board, Standards Activities, Technical Activities, and Chapter Activities.

Holding voting positions on the Board of Governors are the president, past president, president-elect, and the first and second vice presidents. All appointed Society vice presidents serve as nonvoting members of the Board. Additional nonvoting members of the Board are the Society's staff executive director, the editor in chief of Computer, and the IEEE directors for divisions V and VIII—the Computer Society's elected representatives on the IEEE Board of Directors.

Board of Governors Adds Seven New Members

In the 2006 Society election, which closed in early October, voters also cast ballots to fill seven openings on the Board of Governors. The full Board consists of 21 members. Each year, seven new or returning members are elected to serve three-year terms. Candidates elected to 2007–2009 terms are Robert Dupuis, Van Eden, Frank Ferrante, Roger Fujii, Ann Quiroz Gates, Juan Gilbert, and Donald Shafer. Many of the successful candidates have had recent Board of Governors experience.

Elected officers volunteer their time and talents in an effort to further the goals of the Society and to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general. Society officers take a lead role in promoting new publications, educational efforts, technical focus groups, international standards, and other activities that help Computer Society members attain career goals.

The Computer Society mailed 78,292 ballots to members in the 2006 election. Of the 7,278 ballots cast—a return rate of 9.3 percent—4,167 were submitted via the Web, 3,083 were mailed in, and 28 were cast by fax. Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each officer. The full ballot for the 2006 election also included the candidates listed in Table 2.

Table 1. These new officers will begin serving the IEEE Computer Society on 1 January 2007.

Table 2. The full ballot for the 2006 election also included the following candidates.

Leaders Serve Members

Each year, Society members vote for the next year's president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.

The three presidents—incoming, active, and outgoing—work together in setting policy and making operational decisions. The active Society president is responsible for heading three annual Board of Governors meetings and for addressing major issues that affect the Computer Society during the year.

Nominate a Candidate

Any Computer Society member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of the IEEE and must have been members of the Computer Society for at least the preceding three years.

See for more details on the 2006 IEEE Computer Society elections.

Lewis Terman Named IEEE President-Elect for 2007

Lewis Terman developed MOS logic and memory designs at IBM.

IEEE members recently selected Lewis Terman as their president-elect for 2007. An IEEE Fellow since 1975, Terman was president of the IBM Academy of Technology from 2001 to 2003. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1996.

Terman will serve one year as IEEE president-elect, participating in Board of Directors activities. He will then assume the role of president in the following year. After his term in 2008, Terman will serve as past president in 2009.

In the same election, IEEE members chose 2006 Computer Society president Deborah Cooper as division V director-elect for 2007. Cooper is president and founder of an independent consulting firm specializing in computer security and information assurance. She has been a guest editor for IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering and IEEE Software, and a board member of IEEE Security & Privacy.

Division directors represent IEEE societies on the IEEE Board of Directors and Technical Activities Board. Division directors V and VIII are elected to represent the Computer Society membership. Cooper will act as director-elect in 2007 and as division director for 2008–2009. The division directors also serve as ex officio members of the Computer Society's Board of Governors and Executive Committee.

70 ms
(Ver 3.x)