The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 12 - December (2005 vol. 38)
ISSN: 0018-9162
pp: 80-81
IEEE Computer Society members recently selected Michael R. Williams, head curator of the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, California, to serve as the Society's president-elect for 2006.
Over the years, Williams has served the Computer Society in a variety of roles. He began as an editorial board member for IEEE Annals of the History of Computing, then was assistant editor in chief for several years, and finally served two terms as editor in chief of Annals. Additionally, Williams chaired the History Committee and the Pioneer Awards Committee and also served a term as editor in chief of the Computer Society Press.
Candidates elected to the Computer Society presidency serve a three-year term in a leadership role. After serving a year as president-elect under 2006 president Deborah Cooper, Williams will assume the duties of Society president in 2007. Following his term as president, Williams will continue to be an active Society leader in 2008 as past president.
New Vice Presidents Chosen
Rangachar Kasturi topped the balloting for 2006 first vice president, while Susan (Kathy) Land was elected 2006 second vice president. Each will serve as chair of one of the several Computer Society boards. The sitting president also appoints vice presidents to complement the two elected VPs as leaders of individual Society activities boards: Publications, Educational Activities, Conferences and Tutorials, Standards Activities, Technical Activities, Chapter Activities, and Student Activities.
All appointed Society vice presidents also serve as nonvoting members of the Board of Governors. Holding voting positions on the Board of Governors are the president, past president, president-elect, and the first and second vice presidents. Additional nonvoting members of the Board are the Society's staff executive director, the editor in chief of Computer, and the IEEE directors for divisions V and VIII—the Computer Society's elected representatives on the IEEE Board of Governors.
Board of Governors adds seven new members
In the 2005 Society election, which closed in early October, voters also cast ballots to fill seven openings on the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The full Board consists of 21 members. Each year, seven new or returning members are elected to serve three-year terms. Members chosen for 2006-2008 terms are Richard H. Eckhouse, James D. Isaak, Gary McGraw, James W. Moore, Robert H. Sloan, Makoto Takizawa, and Stephanie M. White. Many of the successful candidates have had recent Board of Governors experience.

2006 President-Elect Michael R. Williams sees the Society as a leader in providing service to the entire computing community.

2006 President Deborah M. Cooper is working to strengthen relationships with other organizations both within and outside the IEEE.

Elected officers volunteer their time and talents in an effort to further the goals of the Society and to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general. Society officers take a lead role in promoting new publications, educational efforts, technical focus groups, and international standards that help Computer Society members attain career goals.
The Computer Society mailed 79,895 ballots to members in the 2005 election. Of the 7,272 ballots cast—a return rate of 9.1 percent—3,102 were sent in by mail, and 4,134 were submitted via the Web. Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each officer. The full ballot for the 2005 election also included the candidates listed in Table 2.

Table 1. These new officers will begin serving the IEEE Computer Society on 1 January 2006.

Table 2. The full ballot for the 2005 election also included the following candidates.

Leaders Serve Members
Each year, Society members vote for the next year's president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and the seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.
The three presidents—incoming, active, and outgoing—work together in setting policy and making operational decisions. The active Society president is responsible for heading three annual Board of Governors meetings and for addressing major issues that affect the Computer Society during the year.
Nominate a Candidate
Any Computer Society member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of the IEEE and must have been members of the Computer Society for at least the preceding three years.
90 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))