The Community for Technology Leaders
Green Image
Issue No. 04 - April (2005 vol. 38)
ISSN: 0018-9162
pp: 76-78
William J. Dally Earns 2004 Cray Honor

William J. Dally has made fundamental contributions to high-performance computer processing technology.

In recognition of groundbreaking achievements in high-performance computer processing, the IEEE Computer Society recently presented Stanford University's William J. Dally with the 2004 Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award. Dally's citation highlights his "fundamental contributions to the design and engineering of high-performance interconnection networks, parallel computer architectures, and high-speed signaling technology."
The chair of the Computer Science Department at Stanford University, Dally is principal investigator on the Imagine processor. This programmable signal and image processor achieves the performance of a special-purpose processor. Imagine is the first of its kind to use stream processing and partitioned register organization.
In addition to the Imagine processor, Dally has been instrumental in developing a "streaming supercomputer" capable of scaling easily from a single chip to thousands of processors. In contrast to conventional cluster-based supercomputers, the streaming supercomputer uses stream processing combined with a high-performance net- work that accesses a globally shared memory.
Working with Cray Research and Intel researchers, Dally has incorporated many of his innovations into commercial parallel computers. With Avici Systems, Dally has brought his technologies to Internet routers.
At Stanford, Dally is a member of the Computer Systems Laboratory, leads the Concurrent VLSI Architecture Group, and holds the Willard R. and Inez Kerr Bell Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science position.
Dally has played a key role in founding Stream Processors, a company whose mission is to commercialize stream processors for embedded applications. Prior to joining Stanford's faculty, Dally worked at Bell Labs, Caltech, and MIT. At Bell Labs, he contributed to the design of the Bellmac32 microprocessor and designed the Mars hardware accelerator. At MIT, Dally led development of the Reliable Router high-performance routing chip and of the M-Machine, a fine-grained multicomputer project that later moved to Stanford.
A fellow of the IEEE and the ACM, Dally recently received the 2005 ACM/ Sigarch Maurice Wilkes Award for outstanding contributions to computer architecture.
The Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award recognizes individuals whose contributions to high-performance computing systems best reflect the creative spirit of supercomputing pioneer Seymour Cray. Recipients of the Cray Award receive a crystal memento, an illuminated certificate, and a $10,000 honorarium. Recent recipients include John Hennessy, Monty Denneau, and Burton Smith.
For further information on the Cray and other Computer Society awards, visit
Computer Society Recognizes Outstanding Students
The future of computer engineering depends upon nurturing talented students who can bring a fresh perspective and enthusiasm to a profession challenged by shifting global priorities.
In recognition of the impact of education on future professionals, the IEEE Computer Society rewards student achievers with scholarships, promotes innovation through events like the Computer Society International Design Competition (CSIDC), supports student chapter activities, and sponsors awards for precollege science fair participants.
The IEEE Computer Society recently presented student awards to two outstanding undergraduates.
Lance Stafford Larson Outstanding Student Paper Award
Akin Günay of Eastern Mediterranean University in Northern Cypress won a $500 scholarship for submitting the winning entry in this year's Lance Stafford Larson best paper contest. The contest, open only to student members of the Computer Society, rewards a future computing professional who demonstrates exceptional skill in writing and communication. Judges score entries on writing proficiency, technical content, and overall presentation. To be eligible for the Larson Award, student members must maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA.
Upsilon Pi Epsilon award for academic excellence
In cooperation with international computing honor society Upsilon Pi Epsilon, the Computer Society presents the Upsilon Pi Epsilon Award for Academic Excellence to students who demonstrate high academic achievement and participate in computer-related extracurricular activities.
This year, the IEEE Computer Society presented the UPE Award to Neha Jain of North Carolina State University. Jain is also a 2004 winner of the Google-sponsored Anita Borg Scholarship.
Up to four UPE awards of $500 each are presented annually. Winners also receive their choice of either a Computer Society book or a one-year subscription to a Computer Society periodical.
Computer Society volunteers Lowell Johnson, Fiorenza Albert-Howard, and Murali Varanasi served as judges for the Larson and Upsilon Pi Epsilon scholarships. Applications for next year's scholarships are due by 31 October.
Each year, the IEEE Computer Society also offers up to 10 Richard Merwin Student Scholarships to student chapter leaders. The $4,000 Merwin prizes are paid out to individual winners in four installments. The deadline to apply is 31 May
For more information or to apply for Computer Society student awards programs, visit
Computer Society Honors Berger with Fernbach Award
Marsha Berger, a professor of computer science at New York University's Courant Institute, has been honored with the 2004 IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award.
In the awards citation, the award committee praised Berger's "many contributions to, and enormous influence on, computational fluid dynamics, including adaptive mesh refinement methods, Cartesian grid methods, and practical mathematical algorithms for solving significant and previously intractable problems."
Berger's research focuses on scientific computing applications in fluid dynamics and encompasses areas of computer science, numerical analysis, and applied mathematics.
Berger earned the 2002 NASA Software of the Year Award for her collaboration on Cart3D, a package for automated Cartesian grid generation and aerodynamic database creation. Her other honors include the 2000 NYU Sokol Faculty Award in the Sciences, the NSF Faculty Award for Women, and the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award. Berger was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2000.
The Fernbach Award recognizes individuals who have made notable strides in developing applications for high-performance computing. An awards committee associated with the annual SC high-performance computing, networking, and storage conference evaluates nominations. The Fernbach winner receives a certificate of recognition and a $2,000 honorarium during a special ceremony at the conference.
Nominations for the next year's Fernbach Award are due by 31 July. To nominate a potential recipient or to learn more about any IEEE Computer Society award, visit
79 ms
(Ver 3.3 (11022016))