The Community for Technology Leaders

Cooper Named 2005 Computer Society President-Elect: New vice presidents and Board of Governors members also named

Pages: pp. 92-93

IEEE Computer Society members recently selected Deborah M. Cooper, an independent consultant on computer security and information assurance issues, to serve as the Society's president-elect for 2005.

Over the past 20 years, Cooper has served the Computer Society in a variety of roles. She served as secretary of the Society in 2002, and has been either a board member or guest editor of IEEE Security & Privacy, IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, and IEEE Software. A 1998 inductee into the Computer Society's Golden Core, Cooper is also a member of the IEEE, the ACM, the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association, and the American Association of University Women.

Candidates elected to the Computer Society presidency serve a three-year term in a leadership role. After serving a year as president-elect under 2005 President Gerald L. Engel, Cooper will assume the duties of Society president in 2006. Following her term as president, Cooper will continue to be an active Society leader in 2007 as past president.


Michael R. Williams topped the balloting for 2005 first vice president, and James W. Moore was elected 2005 second vice president. Each will serve as chair of one of the several Computer Society boards. The sitting president also appoints vice presidents to complement the two elected VPs as leaders of individual Society boards: Publications, Educational Activities, Conferences and Tutorials, Standards Activities, Technical Activities, Chapter Activities, and Student Activities.

All appointed Society vice presidents also serve as nonvoting members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. Holding voting positions on the Board of Governors are the president, past president, president-elect, and the first and second vice presidents. Additional nonvoting members of the Board include the Society's staff executive director, the editor in chief of Computer, and the IEEE directors for divisions V and VIII—the Computer Society's elected representatives on the IEEE Board of Governors.


In the 2004 Society election, which closed in early October, voters also cast ballots to fill seven openings on the Board of Governors. The full Board consists of 21 members. Each year, seven new or returning members are elected to serve three-year terms. Members chosen for 2005-2007 terms are Jean M. Bacon, George V. Cybenko, Richard A. Kemmerer, Susan K. Land, Itaru Mimura, Brian M. O'Connell, and Christina M. Schober. Many of these successful candidates have had recent Board of Governors experience.

Elected officers volunteer their time and talents in an effort to further the goals of the Society and to elevate the profile of the computing profession in general. Society officers take a lead role in promoting new publications, educational efforts, technical focus groups, and international standards that help Computer Society members to attain career goals.

The Computer Society mailed 80,944 ballots to members in the 2004 election. Of the 8,452 ballots cast, a return rate of 10.4 percent, 3,626 were sent in by mail, and 4,784 were submitted via the Web. Table 1 shows the breakdown of votes cast for each officer. The full ballot for the 2004 election also included the candidates listed in Table 2.

Table 1. These new officers will begin serving the IEEE Computer Society on 1 January 2005.

Table 2. The full ballot for the 2004 election also included the following candidates.


Each year, Society members vote for the next year's president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and seven members of the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors. The Society president and vice presidents each serve a one-year active term, while the 21 Board of Governors members serve three-year terms, rotating in three groups of seven.

The three presidents—incoming, active, and outgoing—work together in setting policy and making operational decisions. The active Society president is responsible for heading three annual Board of Governors meetings and for addressing major issues that affect the Computer Society during the year.


Any Computer Society member can nominate candidates for Society offices. Most members are also eligible to run for a seat on the Board of Governors. Candidates for other offices must be full members of the IEEE and must have been members of the Computer Society for at least the preceding three years.

See for more details on the 2004 IEEE Computer Society elections.

Michael R. Lightner Named IEEE President-Elect for 2005

IEEE members recently selected University of Colorado professor Michael R. Lightner as their president-elect for 2005. An IEEE Fellow who joined the IEEE in 1971, Lightner is a past president of the IEEE's Circuits and Systems Society. He has also served on the IEEE Board of Directors and IEEE Executive Committee, most recently as vice president of the Publication Services and Products Board.

Lightner will serve one year as IEEE president-elect, participating in Board of Directors activities. He will then assume the role of president in the following year. After his term in 2006, Lightner will serve as past president in 2007.

In the same election, IEEE members chose Oscar N. Garcia as division V director-elect for 2005. Garcia, the Founding Dean of the new College of Engineering at the University of North Texas, received the IEEE Computer Society's Richard E. Merwin Distinguished Service Award in 1988.

Division directors represent IEEE societies on the IEEE Board of Directors and the Technical Activities Board. Division directors V and VIII are elected to represent the Computer Society membership. After acting as director-elect in 2005, Garcia will serve as division director for 2006-2007. The division directors also serve as ex officio members of the Computer Society's Board of Governors and Executive Committee.

68 ms
(Ver 3.x)