The Computer Society is an association of people with professional interest in the field of computers. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society upon payment of the annual Society membership fee of \$15.00. Members of certain professional societies and other computer professionals are also eligible to be members of the Computer Society. For information on joining, write to IEEE Computer Society, 1730 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036-1903.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

President: ROY L. RUSSO President Elect: EDWARD PARRISH First Vice President for Educational Activities: MICHAEL C. MULDER Second Vice President for Technical Activities: KENNETH R. ANDERSON Vice President for Conferences and Tutorials: JAMES H. AYLOR Vice President for Area Activities: WILLIS K. KING Vice President for Publications: J. T. CAIN Vice President for Membership and Information: MERLIN G. SMITH Vice President for Standards Activities: HELEN M. WOOD Secretary: DUNCAN H. LAWRIE

Treasurer: JOSEPH E. URBAN Junior Past President: MARTHA SLOAN
Director, Division V—Computer: MARTHA SLOAN
Director, Division VIII—Computer: H. TROY NAGLE, JR.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Term Ending December 31, 1987

BARRY W. BOEHM PAUL L. BORRILL GLEN G. LANGDON, JR. DUNCAN H. LAWRIE SUSAN L. ROSENBAUM

CS Press:

BRUCE D. SHRIVER HAROLD S. STONE WING N. TOY HELEN M. WOOD AKIHIKO YAMADA

Term Ending December 31, 1988 MARIO BARBACCI Victor R. Basili LORRAINE M. DUVALL MICHAEL EVANGELIST ALLEN L. HANKINSON

LAUREL KALEDA TED LEWIS MING T. LIU

EARL E. SWARTZLANDER, JR. JOSEPH E. URBAN

PUBLICATIONS BOARD

Vice President: J. T. CAIN Vice Chair: RICHARD C. JAEGER Secretary: WILLIS K. KING Publications Finance Chair: J. T. CAIN Publications Planning Chair: MICHAEL EVANGELIST

Editors-in-Chief

BRUCE SHRIVER Computer: Computer:
IEEE CG&A:
IEEE Micro:
IEEE D&T:
IEEE Software: JOHN STAUDHAMMER James J. Farrell III Vishwani Agrawal TED LEWIS IEEE Sojtware. IEEE Expert: IEEE TC: IEEE TPAMI: IEEE TSE: DAVID PESSEL MING T. LIU STEVEN L. TANIMOTO C. V. RAMAMOORTHY

Ez Nahouraii

Advisory Committees

Computer/Magazine Advisory: Transactions Advisory: Computer Society Press Advisory:

DENNIS R. ALLISON DUNCAN J. LAWRIE

RICHARD C. JAEGER

Reps. to IEEE Publications Board: BRUCE SHRIVER, THEO PAVLIDIS Rep. to CS TAB: NORMAN F. SCHNEIDEWIND Pubs. Rules and Practices Chair: DHARMA P. AGRAWAL

THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONIC ENGINEERS, INC. Officers

HENRY L. BACHMAN. President RUSSELL C. DREW, President-Elect MERRILL W. BUCKLEY, JR., Executive Vice President RAMIRO GARCIA SOSA, Secretary EDWARD J. DOYLE, Treasurer

RONALD G. HOELZEMAN, Vice President, Educational Activities CARLETON A. BAYLESS, Vice President, Professional Activities CHARLES H. HOUSE, Vice President, Publication Activities ROBERT S. DUGGAN, JR., Vice President, Regional Activities EMERSON W. PUGH, Vice President, Technical Activities

MARTHA SLOAN, Director, Division V—Computer Division H. TROY NAGLE, JR., Director, Division VIII—Computer Division

Headquarters Staff

ERIC HERZ, Executive Director and General Manager ELWOOD K. GANNETT, Deputy General Manager

THOMAS W. BARTLETT, Controller DONALD CHRISTIANSEN, Editor, IEEE Spectrum IRVING ENGELSON, Staff Director, Technical Activities LEO FANNING, Staff Director, Professional Activities

SAVA SHERR, Staff Director, Standards DAVID L. STAIGER, Staff Director, Publishing Services
CHARLES F. STEWART, JR., Staff Director, Administration
DONALD L. SUPPERS, Staff Director, Field Services
THOMAS C. WHITE, Staff Director, Public Information

Publications Department

Publication Managers: Ann H. Burgmeyer, Gail S. Ferenc, Carolyne Tamney Associate Editor: MINDY ELLIS

IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering is published monthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society/Council, or its members. IEEE Headquarters: 345 East 47 Street, New York, NY 10017-2394. NY Telephone: 212-705 + extension: Information -7900; General Manager -7910; Controller -7748; Public Information -7867; Publishing Services -7560; Spectrum -7556; Standards -7960; Technical Activities -7890. NY Telecopier: 212-752-4929. NY Telex: 236-411 (international messages only). IEEE Service Center (for orders, subscriptions, address changes, Educational Activities, Region/Section/Student Services): 445 Hoos Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. NJ Telephone: 201-981-0060. IEEE Washington Office (for U.S. professional activities): 1111 19th Street, NW, Suite 608, Washington, DC 20036. Washington Telephone: 202-785-0017. Price/Publication Information: Individual copies: IEEE members \$10.00 (first copy only), nonmembers \$20.00 per copy. (Note: Add \$4.00 postage and handling charge to any order from \$1.00 to \$50.00, including prepaid orders.) Member and nonmember subscription prices available on request. Available in microffiche and microffin. Copyright and Reprint Permissions: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy beyond the limits of the U.S. Copyright Law for private use of patrons: 1) those post-1977 articles that carry a code at the bottom of the first page, provided the per-copy fee indicated in the code is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 29 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970; 2) pre-1978 articles without fee. Instructors are permitted to photocopy isolated articles for nonnonnonnersical clearance muse without fee. For all other copyrigh, reprint or republication premission, by premissions Department, IEEE Publishing Services, 345 East 471 Evet., New York, NY 10017-2394. Copyright © 1987 by The Institute of Electrical and Electroni