Jiawei Han Recipient of McDowell Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 30 April, 2010 – Jiawei Han, a computer science professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is the 2009 winner of the prestigious W. Wallace McDowell Award.
Jiawei has been working on research into data mining, information network analysis, data warehousing, stream mining, spatiotemporal and multimedia data mining, text and Web mining, and software bug mining. With more than 400 conference and journal publications to his credit, Han has chaired or participated in more than 100 international conference program committees.
He previously served on the editorial board for Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery, IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, Journal of Computer Science and Technology, and Journal of Intelligent Information Systems. He is currently the founding editor in chief of ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery from Data (TKDD).
Jiawei has received IBM Faculty Awards, an HP Innovation Award, the Outstanding Contribution Award at the 2002 International Conference on Data Mining, a 2004 ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award, and an IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award in 2005.
An IEEE and ACM Fellow, Jiawei is currently director of the Information Network Academic Research Center (INARC) supported by the Network Science-Collaborative Technology Alliance (NS-CTA) program of US Army Research Lab. He is author of the textbook “Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques” (Morgan Kaufmann).
A bronze medal and $2,000 honorarium accompany the award, which is presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions that fall within the scope of Computer Society interest.
McDowell, who spent decades working for IBM, directed development of the first commercial electronic calculator. He was later responsible for development of major advances, including IBM's card-programmed calculator, magnetic drums and tape units, magnetic core and disc storage, the company’s “700” systems, and the Naval Ordinance Research Calculator.
Rice University computer scientist Krishna Palem, also head of the Institute of Sustainable Nanoelectronics (ISNE) at Singapore’s Nanyang Technological University (NTU), was winner of the 2008 W. Wallace McDowell Award for his pioneering contributions to the growing field of embedded computing.
One of computing's most prestigious individual honors, the W. Wallace McDowell Award has a list of past winners that reads like a who's who of industry giants. They include Intel Corp. co-founder Gordon Moore (1978); microprocessor inventor Federico Faggin (1994); World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee (1996); Lotus Notes creator and Microsoft Chief Software Architect Ray Ozzie (2000); supercomputer pioneers Seymour Cray (1968), Gene Amdahl (1976) and Ken Kennedy (1995); and the architect of IBM's mainframe computer Frederick Brooks (1970).

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinarsprofessional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit http://www.computer.org.