IEEE-CS Board Approves 2012 Executive Committee Members

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 23 November, 2011 – The IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors has approved a new slate of Executive Committee members.
The vice presidents will serve under 2012 President John Walz, who will take office in January. Several of the vice presidents are incumbents. Elizabeth Burd, a professor at Durham University, will continue serving as vice president for Educational Activities. Paul Joannou, president of Axial Engineering, will serve for another year as vice president of Professional Activities. MITRE Corp.'s James W. Moore will continue as Treasurer, and CSC Fellow Paul Croll as vice president for Technical & Conference Activities.
Thomas M. Conte, a professor of computer science and electrical and computer engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, and 2011 Computer Society Awards Committee chair, will replace 2013 President-elect David Alan Grier as vice president for Publications. Charlene ("Chuck") J. Walrad, managing director of Davenport Consulting, will replace retired Northrop Grumman Vice President Roger U. Fujii as vice president for Standard Activities. And SAP Labs IT consultant Sattupathu Sankaran will replace Rangachar Kasturi as vice president for Member and Geographic Activities. Second Vice President Andre Ivanov was elected by the Board as the 2012 Secretary.
The following Standing Committee chairs will serve in 2012:
• Awards – David A. Bader, professor of computational science and engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology;
• Constitution and Bylaws, Planning – Grier, associate professor of international science and technology policy at George Washington University;
• Electronic Products and Services – Paolo Montuschi, a computer engineering professor and chair of the Control and Computer Engineering Department at Politecnico di Torino;
• Fellows – Gerard Medioni, a professor of University of Southern California's Institute for Robotics and Intelligence Systems;
• Finance – Moore,;
• History – David Walden, chair of the 2011 IEEE-CS History Committee;
• Intersociety Cooperation, Nominations – IEEE-CS Past-President Sorel Reisman; and
• Assistant Treasurer – Christine M. Schober, a Honeywell product team leader.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinarsprofessional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit