CS Author Anita Jones Recognized by NAE

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 4 October, 2010 – Longtime IEEE Computer Society author and member Anita Jones has been presented with the National Academy of Engineering’s Arthur M. Bueche Award for leadership in the development of science and technology policy.
Jones, a member of NAE and a university professor emerita in the University of Virginia computer science department, was presented the award for “leadership in the development of US science and technology policy and the development of technologies for national security, including technical contributions to high-performance computing and cybersecurity.”
Jones was director of the Defense Department's Defense Research and Engineering from 1993-1997. In this role, she was the key player in developing and protecting the Pentagon science and technology budget, successfully growing R&D programs at a time when the department’s overall budget was being reduced.
She was a member of the National Science Board from 1999 to 2004 and served as its vice chair for two years, was a member of the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board from 1979 to 1984, served on the Defense Science Board numerous times, and was a member of the advisory council for the Policy and Global Affairs Division at the National Research Council from 1997 to 2006. In addition, she served on committees that authored two influential Research Council reports: Rising Above the Gathering Storm: Energizing and Employing America for a Brighter Economic Future and Polar Icebreakers in a Changing World: An Assessment of U.S. Needs.
Jones was awarded the IEEE Founders Medal in 2007 and the Ada Lovelace Award from the Association of Women in Computing in 2004. In 2000, she was named a fellow at both the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and in 2010, she was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society.
Jones received her PhD in computer science from Carnegie-Mellon University in 1973. She left CMU as an associate professor when she co-founded Tartan Laboratories, where she served as vice president from 1981-87. In 1988, she joined the University of Virginia as a professor and chair of the computer science department and retired this past June.
The National Academy of Engineering is a private, nonprofit institution that provides technology advice under a congressional charter. NAE also salutes leaders in engineering for their lifetime dedication to the field and their commitment to advancing society through great achievements. NAE dedicates more than $1 million annually to recognize these leaders and to bring better understanding of engineering’s importance to society. In addition to the Founders and Bueche awards, NAE presents the Charles Stark Draper Prize, the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize, and the Bernard M. Gordon Prize.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinarsprofessional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit http://www.computer.org.