Awards Committee

The IEEE Computer Society sponsors an Awards Program to recognize both technical achievement and service to the Society.  In the technical area, recognition may be given for pioneering and current contributions to the field of computer science and engineering.  Service awards are given to both volunteers and staff for well-defined and highly valued contributions to the Society. In addition, the Society encourages nominations of its members for appropriate IEEE awards.

The Awards Committee selects and recommends recipients for awards administered by the Society, and nominates and recommends candidates for IEEE administered awards.

The Awards Committee is responsible for preserving the integrity of the evaluation and selection process, assuring that the process is both open and rigorous, and that the process contributes to the prestige of the Society and the award recipients.

The Awards Committee chair is appointed by the Society president.  Committee members, including the immediate past chair, chairs of all the awards subcommittees and one to three at-large members, are appointed by the Awards Committee chair with the concurrence of the society President.

Call for Award Nominations

Visit the Online Nomination Process

2014 Awards Committee

Awards Chair:  Rich Belgard

Vice Chair: TBD
Past Chair: David A. Bader

Technical Awards
B. Ramakrishna Rau Award:  Bill Mangione-Smith
Computer Entrepreneur:   Steven J. Wallach
Computer Pioneer:   Steven J. Wallach
Eckert-Mauchly:  Mark D. Hill
Hans Karlsson:   Roger Fujii
Harlan Mills Award: Bertrand Meyer
Harry Goode Memorial:   Scott Mahlke
IEEE CS / SEI Watts S. Humphrey 
Software Process Achievement:   Michael Konrad
Ken Kennedy Representative: Mary Hall
Seymour Cray Computer Engineering:   Horst Simon
Sidney Fernbach:   Horst Simon
Technical Achievement:   Elisa Bertino
W. Wallace McDowell:   Scott Mahlke

Educational Awards
CS&E Undergraduate Teaching:   Robert Reilly
Taylor L. Booth:   Robert Reilly

Service Awards
Richard E. Merwin:   Sorel Reisman
Service Awards:  Rich Belgard

Anne Marie Kelly*  |  Itaru Mimura | Ronny Ronen | Bhavani Thuraisingham


Last update 1 Oct 2014