Scope of TLT

The IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies will publish archival research papers and critical survey papers. Topics within the scope include technology advances in online learning systems; intelligent tutors; educational software applications and games; simulation systems for education and training; collaborative learning tools, devices and interfaces for learning; interactive techniques for learning; tools for formative and summative assessment; ontologies for learning systems; standards and web services that support learning; authoring tools for learning materials; computer support for peer tutoring and learning via discovery or project work or field or lab work; and creation and management of learning objects. A paper must either describe original research or offer a critical review of the state of the art in a particular area. Papers concerned with evaluation of technology are only appropriate if the technology itself is novel or if significant technical insights are provided. In order to best serve the community, the TLT will be published online, using a delayed open-access policy under which paying subscribers and per-article purchasers have access to newly published content, and then 12 months after the publication of each issue, all readers will have access to the content, free of charge.


According to Thomson Reuters' 2013 Journal Citation Report, TLT has an impact factor of 1.22 and a five-year impact factor of 1.38.

TLT's average time to first decision for papers submitted in 2013 was 56 days and the acceptance rate for papers submitted in 2012 was 16%.

Editorial Board


Peter Brusilovsky -

Associate Editor-in-Chief

Mike Sharples -

Associate Editors

Moti Ben-Ari -

Gautam Biswas -

Tom Boyle -

Simon Buckingham Shum -

Susan Bull -

Rafael Calvo -

Ricardo Conejo -

Ulrike Cress -

Sidney D'Mello -

Carlos Delgado Kloos -

Michel Desmarais -

Erik Duval -

Sven Esche -

Baltasar Fernández-Manjón -

Denis Gillet -

H. Chad Lane -

Davinia Hernández-Leo -

Lung Hsiang Wong -

Gwo-Jen Hwang -

Patrick Jermann -

Ralf Klamma -

Eric Klopfer -

Rob Koper -

Rynson Lau -

Tobias Ley -

Stefanie Lindstaedt -

Martín Llamas Nistal -

Lauri Malmi -

Marcelo Milrad -

Antonija Mitrovic -

Hiroaki Ogata -

Abelardo Pardo -

Philip Pavlik -

Christoph Rensing -

Carolyn Penstein Rosé -

Julita Vassileva -

Martin Wolpers -

Diego Zapata-Rivera -

Contact Information

Dr. Peter Brusilovsky
Home Page

Associate Editor-in-Chief
Dr. Mike Sharples
Home Page

TLT Publication Coordinator
IEEE Computer Society
Los Alamitos, CA 90720, USA
PHONE: +1.714.821.8380
FAX: +1.714.821.9975

TLT Steering Committee


Baltasar Fernández-Manjón
Universidad Complutense de Madrid (UCM)

IEEE Computer Society

Judy Kay
University of Sydney

Wolfgang Nejdl
Institut für Verteilte Systeme

Demetrios G. Sampson
University of Piraeus

IEEE Education Society

Baltasar Fernández-Manjón
Universidad Complutense de Madrid (UCM)

Euan Lindsay
Charles Sturt University