Huffman Recognized for IEEE-CS Industry Advisory Board Leadership

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 21 October, 2011 – Stephen D. Huffman, vice president and CTO at MITRE Corp., has been given an award to acknowledge his leadership in setting up the IEEE Computer Society’s Industry Advisory Board (IAB).

Huffman was a founding member and founding chair of the IAB, a panel that was established in mid-2008 to focus on new ways that the IEEE Computer Society can assist technology companies. He was given the award during the IAB’s October meeting at Mitre Corp. in recognition of his “leadership, outstanding service, and dedication.” The board is set to meet next in San Jose in spring 2012.

Harold Javid, director of Americas/Australia Regional Programs at Microsoft Research, replaced Huffman as board chairman last April.

Two programs so far have had their genesis with the IAB: the Corporate Affiliate Program, a new membership model that extends Computer Society education and training resources to employees; and the training webinar program, which connects companies’ employees with useful training information from Computer Society experts.

The IAB is helping develop a business model for implementing continuous updates for the Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK). Board members have also discussed putting effort into working with the Professional Activities Board to better define the information technology industry and its needs and cooperating with the Educational Activities Board to outline a roadmap for development of education products. The IAB has also been involved in working with other volunteers to update the IEEE Computer Society strategic plan.

The members of the board are:
• Avijit Biswas, senior vice president of Siemens IT in India;
• Nick Bowen, vice president of technology at IBM;
• Deborah Dunie, executive vice president and CTO of CACI;
• Steven J. Hillenius, executive vice president of SRC and executive director of the Semiconductor Research Corp.;
• Stephen D. Huffman, vice president and CTO at MITRE Corp.;
• Harold Javid, director of Americas/Australia Regional Programs at Microsoft Research
• Gargi Keeni, VP, Tata Consultancy Services;
• Cheryl McIntyre, director of software engineering at Lockheed Martin.
• Ike Nassi, executive vice president and chief scientist, SAP;
• Tirumale (TK) Ramesh, Boeing Technical Fellow, Boeing;
• Shmuel Shottan, senior vice president and CTO of BlueArc;
• Neil Siegel, sector vice president, Technology and Advanced Systems, Northrop Grumman Information Systems;
• Brian Stevens, CTO, Red Hat Software; and
• Henry Tirri, senior vice president and head of Nokia Research Center.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool