IEEE Board Confirms Award Recipients

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 19 December, 2011 – Past IEEE Computer Society award winners John L. Hennessy, Leonard Kleinrock, and Edward McCluskey were honored with major IEEE awards confirmed by the Board of Directors last month.

Hennessy, a computer architecture pioneer, is the 2011 winner of the IEEE Medal of Honor. He was the recipient of the ACM/IEEE-CS Eckert-Mauchly Award in 2000 and the IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award in 2001.

Kleinrock, known as the “Father of the Internet,” is the 2011 winner of the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal. He received the IEEE-CS Harry M. Goode Memorial Award in 1996.

IEEE named McCluskey, a Stanford University professor of electrical engineering and computer science, this year’s John von Neuman Medal winner. He was recipient of an IEEE-CS Technical Achievement Award in 1985, a Taylor L. Booth Education Award in 1991, and an IEEE-CS Computer Pioneer Award in 1996. He was an IEEE-CS president from 1970-1971.

McCluskey developed the first algorithm for designing combinational circuits—the Quine-McCluskey logic minimization procedure—as a doctoral student at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. At Bell Labs and Princeton, he developed the modern theory of transients (hazards) in logic networks and formulated the concept of operating modes of sequential circuits.

Hennessy joined Stanford’s faculty in 1977 as an assistant professor of electrical engineering and served as the inaugural Willard R. and Inez Kerr Bell Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from 1987 to 2004. He was director of the Computer Systems Laboratory and became dean of the School of Engineering in 1996. In 1999, he was named provost and in 2000 president.

Kleinrock is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at UCLA known for developing the mathematical theory of packet networks while a graduate student at MIT. His host computer at UCLA became the first node of the Internet in September 1969. Kleinrock also wrote the first paper and first book on the subject, and directed the transmission of the first Internet message.

He is a 2007 National Medal of Science winner and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and holds IEEE, ACM, and other Fellowships.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool