New Golden Core Members Named

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 23 February, 2011 – The IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors recognized 23 new Golden Core members at its recent meeting.

The new Golden Core members are:

  • David A. Bader
  • Susamma Barua
  • Luca Benini
  • Elizabeth L. Burd
  • Silvia Ceballos
  • Yaw-Chung Chen
  • Cheng-Chung (William) Chu
  • Thomas M. Conte
  • Patrick Girard
  • Luis Kun
  • Jean-Claude Laprie
  • Yiorgos Makris
  • Bruce McMillin
  • Giorgio Di Natale
  • Brandi Ortega
  • Cynthia A. Phillips
  • Bill Pitts
  • Andy Chih-Yin Shih
  • Elena Strange
  • Mladen Vouk
  • Feng-Jian Wang
  • George B. Westrom
  • Hongji Yang

A plaque is awarded for longstanding member or staff service to the society. This program was initiated in 1996 with a charter membership of 450. Each year the Awards Committee will select additional recipients from a continuing pool of qualified candidates and permanently include their names in the Golden Core Member master list.

A Golden Core candidate must have received one of the following:
• Meritorious Service Certificate
• Outstanding Contribution Certificate
• Distinguished Service Certificate
• Richard E. Merwin Award
• Harry Hayman Award
or must have served in one of the following capacities:
• Staff member with five years tenure
• Board of Governors members
• Executive Committee member
• President

For more information, visit

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool