Computer Society Award Nominations Deadline Approaching

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 23 September, 2010 – The deadline is rapidly approaching to nominate a computer science or engineering professor or researcher for one of the IEEE Computer Society’s technical, service, and education awards.

Take advantage of the opportunity to receive international recognition from the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. To make a nomination, visit

The IEEE Computer Society recognizes outstanding work by computer professionals who advance the field through exceptional technical achievement and service to the profession and to society. Major technical awards include the:
Computer Entrepreneur Award, which recognizes the technical managers and entrepreneurial leaders who are responsible for the growth of some segment of the computer industry;
Computer Pioneer Award, which honors outstanding individuals whose main contribution to the concepts and development of the computer field was made at least 15 years ago;
Harry H. Goode Award, for achievements in the information processing field;
Tsutomu Kanai Award, for major contributions to the state-of-the art distributed computing systems and their applications;
Hans Karlsson Standards Award, for development or promotion of standards;
W. Wallace McDowell Award, which is presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions;
Harlan D. Mills Award, for outstanding contributions to the theory and practice of the information sciences;
Software Process Achievement Award, in which recipients prepare an SEI Technical Report describing their accomplishments, experiences, and lessons learned; and
Technical Achievement Awards, for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology.

The Taylor L. Booth Education Award, the Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award, and the Distinguished Service in a Pre-College Environment Award are handed out to recognize contributions in the education arena.

Taylor L. Booth Education Award, for outstanding record in computer science and engineering education;
Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award, for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education through teaching and service;
Distinguished Service in a Pre-College Environment Award, for furthering the professional and technical goals of the IEEE Computer Society in a pre-college environment.

Seven different types of service awards are given out to recognize volunteer and staff contributions. The Richard E. Merwin Distinguished Service Award is the highest level volunteer service award and is given for outstanding service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 38 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities. For more information, go to

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool