Online Voting Offered in Upcoming Election

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 10 September, 2009 – IEEE Computer Society members can vote online in addition to by mail or fax in the upcoming election. The deadline to cast ballots is Monday, 5 October, 2009.

Ballots and candidate information for president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and Board of Governors members was mailed in early September to all eligible Computer Society members. To vote online at, members will need their IEEE member number and the election passcode provided in the election materials.

Vice President of Publications Sorel Reisman and Board of Governors member Jon Rokne will vie for the position of 2010 Computer Society president. Reisman is managing director of MERLOT and professor of information systems at California State University, Fullerton. Rokne is professor of computer science at the University of Calgary.

Roger Fujii, vice president and business unit general manager for Northrop Grumman Information Systems; and Don Shafer, IEEE Computer Society Treasurer and CTO for the Athens Group; will compete for first vice president. Both are completing their first terms on the Board of Governors. Sattupatha Sankaran, Vice President of Chapter Activities and an IT consultant for SAP Labs; and Jeffrey Voas, director of systems assurance at SAIC; are running for the position of second vice president.

IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors candidates include:
• Pierre Bourque, associate professor and director of the master in software engineering program at Ecole de technologie superieure
• Elizabeth Burd, senior lecturer in the department of computer science at the University of Durham
• Jose I. Castillo-Velazquez, 2009 head of the Autonomous University of Mexico City’s Campus-SLT Engineering Academy
• Thomas M. Conte, professor of computer science at Georgia Tech
• Frank E. Ferrante, adjunct faculty/executive partner, Mason School of Business, College of William & Mary
• Jean-Luc Gaudiot, professor and chair, department of electrical engineering and computer science at University of California-Irvine
• Gargi Keeni, vice president of Quality Consulting Practice, Tata Consultancy Services
• Luis Kun, senior research professor of Homeland Security at the Information Resources Management College, National Defense University
• James W. Moore, principal engineer at MITRE Corp.
• Pablo F. Sanchez, CEO of Expértika
• John W. Walz, Lucent Technologies, retired.

To view candidate bios and position statements, visit Election results will be announced in the December issue of Computer.

About the Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 39 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities.

The Computer Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, and online courses. Its Certified Software Development Professional (CSDP) program for mid-career professionals and Certified Software Development Associate (CSDA) credential for recent college graduates confirm the skill and knowledge of those working in the field. The CS Digital Library (CSDL) is an excellent research tool, containing more than 250,000 articles from 1,600 conference proceedings and 26 CS periodicals going back to 1988.

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool