IEEE Computer Society Marks 60th Anniversary

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 7 August, 2007 -- To commemorate the IEEE Computer Society's 60th anniversary, the History Committee has named the 60 most important computing events since the Society's founding in 1946.

1. 1946 AIEE Subcommittee on Large-Scale Computing Devices is formed (Charles Concordia, Chair); the origin of the IEEE Computer Society.

2. 1948 IRE Committee on Electronic Computers is formed (James Weiner, Chair); standardization activities begin.

3. 1951 Transactions on Electronic Computers is launched (Werner Buchholz, first EIC); the name is changed to IEEE Transactions on Computers in 1968 (Harry Huskey, EIC).

4. 1951 First IRE/AIEE Joint Computer Conference is launched (10-12 December, Philadelphia, 877 attendees).

5. 1960 Annual Symposium on Switching Circuit Theory and Logic Design is launched (September, Chicago); the name is changed to Switching and Automata Theory in 1966 and to Mathematical Foundation of Computer Sciences in 1975 (47th in 2006).

6. 1961 AFIPS is formed to sponsor a series of FJCC/SJCC (1961 to 1973) and NCC (1974 to 1987); dissolved in 1990.

7. 1963 AIEE and IRE merge to form IEEE; IEEE Computer Group is formed.

8. 1964 Design Automation Conference is launched (24-26 June, Atlantic City); (Computer Society withdraws support in November 1992).

9. 1966 Computer Group News is published (John Kirkley, first editor); the name is changed to Computer in September 1970.

10. 1967 Annual IEEE Computer Conference is launched (6-8 September, Chicago); it becomes a series of COMPCON from 1972 to 1997.

11. 1968 Annual Workshop on Microprogramming is launched; the name is changed to International Symposium on Microarchitecture in 2006 (39th in 2006).

12. 1968 Distinguished Visitors Program is launched; revived by Stephen S. Yau in 1971.

13. 1968 IEEE Computer Group membership reaches the 10,000 milestone.

14. 1970 International Test Conference is launched ( Cherry Hill, NJ) (37th in 2006).

15. 1971 IEEE Computer Group becomes IEEE Computer Society; the Society logo is adopted (designed by Kenneth Simon).

16. 1971 Harry Hayman is appointed Executive Secretary (retired in 1985).

17. 1971 Annual Symposium on Fault-Tolerant Computing is launched; the name is changed to Dependable Systems and Networks in 2000 (36 th in 2006).

18. 1972 ABET accredits the first BS in Computer Engineering program (Case Western University).

19. 1973 True Seaborn is appointed first Publisher (retired in 1996).

20. 1973 Annual Symposium on Computer Architecture is launched (9-11 December, Gainesville, Fla.) (33rd in 2006).

21. 1974 IEEE Computer Society establishes affiliation with British Computer Society.

22. 1974 First survey of electrical engineering and computer science departments in US is conducted by Martha Sloan, (becomes the annual CRA Taulbee Survey.)

23. 1975 Transactions on Software Engineering is launched (Raymond T. Yeh, first EIC).

24. 1975 International Conference on Software Engineering is launched (11-12 September, Washington, DC) (28th in 2006).

25. 1977 First model curriculum for CSE is published (Michael Mulder, Subcommittee Chair; James T. Cain, Editor).

26. 1977 COMPSAC is launched (11-18 November, Chicago) (30th in 2006).

27. 1978 Student Scholarship Program is launched; the name is changed to Richard Merwin Student Scholarship in 1982.

28. 1979 International Conference on Distributed Computing Systems is launched (1-5 October, Huntsville, Ala.) (26th in 2006).

29. 1979 IEEE Transactions on Pattern Recognition & Machine Intelligence is launched (K. S. Fu, first EIC).

30. 1979 Annals of the History of Computing is launched by AFIPS (Bernard Galler, first EIC); IEEE Computer Society takes over its publication in 1992 (J.A.N. Lee, EIC).

31. 1979 IEEE Computer Society membership reaches the 50,000 milestone.

32. 1980 Publications office opens ( Los Alamitos, Calif.).

33. 1981 IEEE Computer Graphics & Applications (Michael Wozny, first EIC) and IEEE Micro (Richard Jaeger and Peter Rony, first co-EICs) are launched.

34. 1981 Richard Merwin Distinguished Service Award is initiated (Stephen S. Yau, first recipient).

35. 1982 Michael Elliott is appointed first Executive Director (retired in 2000).

36. 1982 INFOCOM is jointly launched with IEEE Communications Society (29 March - 2 April, Las Vegas) (25th in 2006).

37. 1984 IEEE Design and Test of Computers (Roy Russo, first EIC) and IEEE Software (Bruce Shriver, first EIC) are launched.

38. 1984 Computing Sciences Accreditation Board (CSAB) is formed (Taylor Booth, first president).

39. 1985 IEEE 802 Project (Standards on LAN, MAN, and WAN) is initiated.

40. 1985 Harry Hayman Distinguished Service Award is initiated (True Seaborn, first recipient).

41. 1985 Headquarters office opens (Washington, DC).

42. 1985 European office opens (Brussels, Belgium); closed in 2002.

43. 1986 CSAB accredits the first 22 BS in Computer Science programs.

44. 1987 Taylor Booth Education Award is initiated (James T. Cain, first recipient).

45. 1987 IEEE Computer Society establishes affiliation with Information Processing Society of Japan (IPSJ).

46. 1988 Asian/Pacific Office Opens ( Tokyo, Japan).

47. 1988 Supercomputing conference is launched (14-18 November, Orlando).

48. 1988 IEEE Computer Society membership reaches the 100,000 milestone. (On 5 December; Mark Funkenhauser became the 100,000th member.)

49. 1989 IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering is launched (C. V. Ramamoorthy, first EIC).

50. 1990 IEEE Transactions on Parallel & Distributed Systems is launched (Tse-yun Feng, first EIC).

51. 1991 IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking is jointly launched with the IEEE Communications Society and ACM SIGCOM (James Kurose, first EIC).

52. 1995 IEEE Transactions on Visualization & Computer Graphics is launched (Arie Kaufman, first EIC).

53. 1996 IEEE Computer Society celebrates its 50th anniversary; Golden Core recognition program is launched.

54. 1997 IEEE Internet Computing is launched (Charles Petrie, first EIC).

55. 1997 IEEE Computer Society Digital Library is launched

56. 1998 Beijing Center, Budapest Center, and Moscow Center open.

57. 1999 IT Professional is launched (Wushow Chou, first EIC).

58. 1999 CSIDC is launched (McMaster University, Canada, first team winner).

59. 2001 SAINT is jointly launched with IPSJ (January 8-12, San Diego).

60. 2006 IEEE Computer Society celebrates the 60th anniversary; three commemoratory receptions with distinguished speakers are held in San Francisco (March), San Juan, Puerto Rico (June), and San Diego (October).

About the Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of the 39 societies of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology, and is known globally for its computing standards activities.

The Computer Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, and online courses. Its Certified Software Development Professional (CSDP) program for mid-career professionals and Certified Software Development Associate (CSDA) credential for recent college graduates confirm the skill and knowledge of those working in the field. The CS Digital Library (CSDL) is an excellent research tool, containing more than 250,000 articles from 1,600 conference proceedings and 26 CS periodicals going back to 1988.


Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool