Gavel in front of lawbook

Welcome to Computing and the Law

This series of podcasts provides information about law-related topics of interest to computing professionals.

This podcast is brought to you by Computer, the flagship publication of the IEEE Computer Society.

SubscribeGoogle | RSS

Computing and the Law: Design Patents

Brian M. Gaff and Peter J. Cuomo

Authors Brian M. Gaff and Peter J. Cuomo provide an audio recording of the Computing and the Law column, in which they discuss how design patents, though once relatively uncommon, are now used aggressively andóas recent events have shownócan lead to significant liability for those found to infringe them. From Computer's March 2013 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2013/03/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

This episode comes from the March 2013 issue of Computer.

Computing and the Law: Paying Bribes Abroad Will Get You in Hot Water in the US

Brian M. Gaff, Stephen G. Huggard, and Gregory W. Carey

Because of its broad and ambiguous language, the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act prohibits much more conduct than most people might think. From Computer's February 2013 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2013/02/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

This episode comes from the February 2013 issue of Computer.

Protecting Bioinformatics as Intellectual Property

Although trade secrets and copyright provide some protection to bioinformatics tools, a carefully drafted patent can provide the broadest available protection in an increasingly competitive market. From Computer's January 2013 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2013/01/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer./

Employment Issues Confronting Start-Up Companies

The twelfth in a series of articles in Computer magazine provides basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses that operate in computing-related markets discusses employment law issues faced by new companies. From Computer's December 2012 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2012/12/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer/

A Brief Overview of the America Invents Act

by Brian M. Gaff, Ralph A. Loren, and Amy M. DeCloux

A series of articles in Computer magazine provides basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses that operate in computing-related markets; in this installment, the authors discuss the America Invents Act. From Computer's November 2012 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2012/11/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

This episode comes from the Novemeber 2012 issue of Computer.

Showing 16 - 20 of 33 results.
Items per Page 5
of 7

About the Speakers

Brian GaffBrian M. Gaff, a partner at the McDermott Will & Emery law firm, is a senior member of IEEE. Contact him at bgaff@mwe.com.

Judy St. JohnJudy St. John is a managing director at the Major, Lindsey, & Africa legal search firm. Contact her at jstjohn@mlaglobal.com.

Greg HendershottGreg Hendershott founded Cakewalk and was its CEO for 25 years until retiring from the company in 2012. Contact him at www.greghendershott.com or greghendershott@gmail.com.

Alyssa Harvey DawsonAlyssa Harvey Dawson is Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Global Intellectual Property at Harman International Industries, Inc. Contact her at alyssa.harveydawson@harman.com.

Joanna M. DombroskiJoanna M. Dombroski is a patent counsel at the Global Patent Operation of General Electric Company. Contact her at joanna.m.dombrowski@ge.com.

Ralph A. Loren

Ralph A. Loren is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at rloren@edwardswildman.com.

Peter J. Cuomo is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at pcuomo@edwardswildman.com.

Stephen G. HuggardStephen G. HuggardStephen G. Huggard is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at shuggard@edwardswildman.com.

Gregory W. CareyGregory W. Carey is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gcarey@edwardswildman.com.

Gareth DicksonGareth Dickson is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gdickson@edwardswildman.com.

Timothy P. Van DyckTimothy P. Van Dyck is a partner at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm and is Co-Chair of the Firm's Labor and Employment Group. Contact him at tvandyck@edwardswildman.com.

Elizabeth A. PetersElizabeth A. Peters is an associate at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm and is a member of the Firm's Labor and Employment Group. Contact her at epeters@edwardswildman.com.

Amy M. DeclouxAmy M. DeCloux is an associate at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm. Contact her at adecloux@edwardswildman.com.

Karl P. FryzelKarl P. Fryzel is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm. Contact him at kfryzel@edwardswildman.com.

Brian M. MurphyBrian P. Murphy is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at bmurphy@edwardswildman.com.

Christine A. DudzikChristine A. Dudzik is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at cdudzik@edwardswildman.com.

Lisa SwiszczLisa Swiszcz is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at lswiszcz@edwardswildman.com.

Kenneth ChoyKenneth Choy is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at kchoy@edwardswildman.com.

Jamie ChanJamie Chan is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at jchan@edwardswildman.com.

Richard N. KimballRichard N. Kimball is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at rkimball@edwardswildman.com.


Jill M. HansonJill M. Hanson is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at jhanson@edwardswildman.com.


Gregory J. PloussiosGregory J. Ploussios is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer and co-chair of the firm's Technology Practice Group. Contact him at gploussios@edwardswildman.com.
Thomas J. SmedinghoffThomas J. Smedinghoff is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at tsmedinghoff@edwardswildman.com.
Socheth SorSocheth Sor is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at ssor@edwardswildman.com.


Elizabeth A. SpinneyElizabeth A. Spinney is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at espinney@edwardswildman.com.
Gabriel McCoolGabriel J. McCool is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gmccool@edwardswildman.com.

Catherine ToppinCatherine J. Toppin, a patent counsel at the Global Patent Operation of General Electric, is a member of IEEE. Contact her at catherine.toppin@ge.com.