Gavel in front of lawbook

Welcome to Computing and the Law

This series of podcasts provides information about law-related topics of interest to computing professionals.

This podcast is brought to you by Computer, the flagship publication of the IEEE Computer Society.

SubscribeGoogle | RSS

Employment Issues Confronting Start-Up Companies

The twelfth in a series of articles in Computer magazine provides basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses that operate in computing-related markets discusses employment law issues faced by new companies. From Computer's December 2012 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2012/12/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer/

A Brief Overview of the America Invents Act

by Brian M. Gaff, Ralph A. Loren, and Amy M. DeCloux

A series of articles in Computer magazine provides basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses that operate in computing-related markets; in this installment, the authors discuss the America Invents Act. From Computer's November 2012 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2012/11/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

This episode comes from the Novemeber 2012 issue of Computer.

Starting a Business: Which Entity Structure Is Best for You?

by Brian M. Gaff and Karl P. Fryzel

In the tenth in a series of articles providing basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses that operate in computing-related markets, the authors discuss the different types of corporate entities.

This episode comes from the October 2012 issue of Computer.

 

 

 

Patent Reform: New Tools for Challenging Patent Validity as of September 2012

by Brian M. Gaff, Brian P. Murphy, Ralph A. Loren, Christine A. Dudzik, and Lisa Swiszcz

In the ninth in a series of articles providing basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses, Computing and the Law contributors Brian M. Gaff, Brian P. Murphy, Ralph A. Loren, Christine A. Dudzik, and Lisa Swiszcz examine strategic considerations in seeking and defending against new post-grant review procedures under the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act.

This episode comes from the September 2012 issue of Computer.

 

 

 

Doing Business in China

by Brian M. Gaff, Kenneth Choy, and Jamie Chan

The eighth in a series of articles providing basic information on legal issues facing people and businesses that operate in computing-related markets discusses some issues that can occur when doing business in the People’s Republic of China.

This episode comes from the August 2012 issue of Computer.

Showing 16 - 20 of 30 results.
Items per Page 5
of 6

About the Speakers

Brian GaffBrian M. Gaff, a partner at the McDermott Will & Emery law firm, is a senior member of IEEE. Contact him at bgaff@mwe.com.

Judy St. JohnJudy St. John is a managing director at the Major, Lindsey, & Africa legal search firm. Contact her at jstjohn@mlaglobal.com.

Greg HendershottGreg Hendershott founded Cakewalk and was its CEO for 25 years until retiring from the company in 2012. Contact him at www.greghendershott.com or greghendershott@gmail.com.

Alyssa Harvey DawsonAlyssa Harvey Dawson is Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Global Intellectual Property at Harman International Industries, Inc. Contact her at alyssa.harveydawson@harman.com.

Joanna M. DombroskiJoanna M. Dombroski is a patent counsel at the Global Patent Operation of General Electric Company. Contact her at joanna.m.dombrowski@ge.com.

Ralph A. Loren

Ralph A. Loren is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at rloren@edwardswildman.com.

Peter J. Cuomo is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at pcuomo@edwardswildman.com.

Stephen G. HuggardStephen G. HuggardStephen G. Huggard is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at shuggard@edwardswildman.com.

Gregory W. CareyGregory W. Carey is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gcarey@edwardswildman.com.

Gareth DicksonGareth Dickson is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gdickson@edwardswildman.com.

Timothy P. Van DyckTimothy P. Van Dyck is a partner at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm and is Co-Chair of the Firm's Labor and Employment Group. Contact him at tvandyck@edwardswildman.com.

Elizabeth A. PetersElizabeth A. Peters is an associate at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm and is a member of the Firm's Labor and Employment Group. Contact her at epeters@edwardswildman.com.

Amy M. DeclouxAmy M. DeCloux is an associate at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm. Contact her at adecloux@edwardswildman.com.

Karl P. FryzelKarl P. Fryzel is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm. Contact him at kfryzel@edwardswildman.com.

Brian M. MurphyBrian P. Murphy is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at bmurphy@edwardswildman.com.

Christine A. DudzikChristine A. Dudzik is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at cdudzik@edwardswildman.com.

Lisa SwiszczLisa Swiszcz is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at lswiszcz@edwardswildman.com.

Kenneth ChoyKenneth Choy is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at kchoy@edwardswildman.com.

Jamie ChanJamie Chan is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at jchan@edwardswildman.com.

Richard N. KimballRichard N. Kimball is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at rkimball@edwardswildman.com.


Jill M. HansonJill M. Hanson is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at jhanson@edwardswildman.com.


Gregory J. PloussiosGregory J. Ploussios is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer and co-chair of the firm's Technology Practice Group. Contact him at gploussios@edwardswildman.com.
Thomas J. SmedinghoffThomas J. Smedinghoff is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at tsmedinghoff@edwardswildman.com.
Socheth SorSocheth Sor is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at ssor@edwardswildman.com.


Elizabeth A. SpinneyElizabeth A. Spinney is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at espinney@edwardswildman.com.
Gabriel McCoolGabriel J. McCool is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gmccool@edwardswildman.com.

Catherine ToppinCatherine J. Toppin, a patent counsel at the Global Patent Operation of General Electric, is a member of IEEE. Contact her at catherine.toppin@ge.com.