Gavel in front of lawbook

Welcome to Computing and the Law

This series of podcasts provides information about law-related topics of interest to computing professionals.

This podcast is brought to you by Computer, the flagship publication of the IEEE Computer Society.

SubscribeGoogle | RSS

Computing and the Law: Contracts 101

 

Author Brian M. Gaff provides an audio recording of the Computing and the Law column, in which he discusses how contract law has many nuances and typically differs between jurisdictions, but having an understanding of the fundamentals is important for anyone involved in negotiating agreements. From Computer's March 2014 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2014/03/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

 

 

 

 

Computing and the Law: Intellectual Property 2013--2014

Author Brian M. Gaff provides an audio recording of the Computing and the Law column, in which he discusses recent intellectual property court cases, particularly regarding patent and copyright law.

 

Computing and the Law: Corporate Risks from Social Media

Author Brian M. Gaff provides an audio recording of the Computing and the Law column, in which he discusses how social media has expanded the ability of people to interact and share information, but without appropriate guidelines, a company might encounter trouble in cyberspace. From Computer's January 2014 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2014/01/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

 

 

 

Computing and the Law: Legal Careers for Engineers?

 

Authors Brian M. Gaff and Judy St. John provide an audio recording of the Computing and the Law column, in which they discuss how engineers thinking about a career change should consider opportunities available to them as lawyers, patent agents, and expert witnesses. From Computer's December 2013 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2013/12/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

 

 

Computing and the Law: Law: So, You Want to Start a Software Company?

Authors Brian M. Gaff and Greg Hendershott provide an audio recording of the Computing and the Law column, in which they discuss that although bringing that new app to market sounds exciting, doing so without addressing common start-up issues will make the process more difficult than it needs to be. From Computer's October 2013 issue: http://www.computer.org/csdl/mags/co/2013/10/index.html. Visit Computer: http://www.computer.org/computer.

 

 

 

 

Showing 6 - 10 of 34 results.
Items per Page 5
of 7

About the Speakers

Brian GaffBrian M. Gaff, a partner at the McDermott Will & Emery law firm, is a senior member of IEEE. Contact him at bgaff@mwe.com.

Judy St. JohnJudy St. John is a managing director at the Major, Lindsey, & Africa legal search firm. Contact her at jstjohn@mlaglobal.com.

Greg HendershottGreg Hendershott founded Cakewalk and was its CEO for 25 years until retiring from the company in 2012. Contact him at www.greghendershott.com or greghendershott@gmail.com.

Alyssa Harvey DawsonAlyssa Harvey Dawson is Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Global Intellectual Property at Harman International Industries, Inc. Contact her at alyssa.harveydawson@harman.com.

Joanna M. DombroskiJoanna M. Dombroski is a patent counsel at the Global Patent Operation of General Electric Company. Contact her at joanna.m.dombrowski@ge.com.

Ralph A. Loren

Ralph A. Loren is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at rloren@edwardswildman.com.

Peter J. Cuomo is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at pcuomo@edwardswildman.com.

Stephen G. HuggardStephen G. HuggardStephen G. Huggard is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at shuggard@edwardswildman.com.

Gregory W. CareyGregory W. Carey is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gcarey@edwardswildman.com.

Gareth DicksonGareth Dickson is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gdickson@edwardswildman.com.

Timothy P. Van DyckTimothy P. Van Dyck is a partner at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm and is Co-Chair of the Firm's Labor and Employment Group. Contact him at tvandyck@edwardswildman.com.

Elizabeth A. PetersElizabeth A. Peters is an associate at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm and is a member of the Firm's Labor and Employment Group. Contact her at epeters@edwardswildman.com.

Amy M. DeclouxAmy M. DeCloux is an associate at the Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm. Contact her at adecloux@edwardswildman.com.

Karl P. FryzelKarl P. Fryzel is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP law firm. Contact him at kfryzel@edwardswildman.com.

Brian M. MurphyBrian P. Murphy is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at bmurphy@edwardswildman.com.

Christine A. DudzikChristine A. Dudzik is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at cdudzik@edwardswildman.com.

Lisa SwiszczLisa Swiszcz is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at lswiszcz@edwardswildman.com.

Kenneth ChoyKenneth Choy is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at kchoy@edwardswildman.com.

Jamie ChanJamie Chan is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at jchan@edwardswildman.com.

Richard N. KimballRichard N. Kimball is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at rkimball@edwardswildman.com.


Jill M. HansonJill M. Hanson is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at jhanson@edwardswildman.com.


Gregory J. PloussiosGregory J. Ploussios is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer and co-chair of the firm's Technology Practice Group. Contact him at gploussios@edwardswildman.com.
Thomas J. SmedinghoffThomas J. Smedinghoff is a partner at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at tsmedinghoff@edwardswildman.com.
Socheth SorSocheth Sor is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at ssor@edwardswildman.com.


Elizabeth A. SpinneyElizabeth A. Spinney is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact her at espinney@edwardswildman.com.
Gabriel McCoolGabriel J. McCool is an associate at Edwards Wildman Palmer. Contact him at gmccool@edwardswildman.com.

Catherine ToppinCatherine J. Toppin, a patent counsel at the Global Patent Operation of General Electric, is a member of IEEE. Contact her at catherine.toppin@ge.com.