ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship

Endowed in memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference series, the ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial Fellowships honor exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus areas are in high performance computing, networking, storage, and large-scale data analysis. ACM, the IEEE Computer Society, and the SC Conference support this award.  Fellowship winners are selected each year based on overall potential for research excellence, the degree to which technical interests align with those of the HPC community, academic progress to date, recommendations by their advisor and others, and a demonstration of current and anticipated use of HPC resources.

The Fellowship includes a $5,000 honorarium, plus travel and registration to receive the award at the annual SC conference.

Nominations are now closed.

Submissions closed: Thursday 01 May 2014

Fellowship Nominations Site:  http://sc14.supercomputing.org/program/awards/acmieee-cs-george-michael-memorial-hpc-fellowship

Recently announced winners:  Two Students Named Recipients of ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships, CS press release 15 Sept 2014


ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship Recipients

2014 Winners
2013 Winners
2012 Winners
2011 Winners
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2007 Winners

About the HPC Committee

David Bader (Chair), Georgia Tech

Dona L. Crawford, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory 

Rebecca J. Hartman-Baker, iVec

Mark Hoemmen, Sandia National Laboratories
(former recipient)

Barbara Horner-Miller, BHM Consulting