The Community for Technology Leaders
RSS Icon
Subscribe
2007 IEEE Symposium on Visual Analytics Science and Technology (2007)
Sacramento, CA
Oct. 30, 2007 to Nov. 1, 2007
ISBN: 978-1-4244-1659-2
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Papers
Preface (PDF)
pp. vi
pp. 225
pp. 195
Papers
Area Chairs (PDF)
pp. viii
pp. nil1
Stephen Few , Perceptual Edge, University of California, Berkeley
pp. x
Firdaus Janoos , Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, Ohio State University. e-mail: janoos@cse.ohio-state.edu
Shantanu Singh , Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, Ohio State University. e-mail: singhsh@cse.ohio-state.edu
Okan Irfanoglu , Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, Ohio State University. e-mail: irfanogl@cse.ohio-state.edu
Raghu Machiraju , Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, Ohio State University. e-mail: raghu@cse.ohio-state.edu
Richard Parent , Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, Ohio State University. e-mail: parent@cse.ohio-state.edu
pp. 3-10
Chi-Chun Pan , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: julianpan@psu.edu
Prasenjit Mitra , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: pmitra@ist.psu.edu
pp. 11-18
Stories in GeoTime (Abstract)
Ryan Eccles , Oculus Info Inc. reccles@oculusinfo.com
Thomas Kapler , Oculus Info Inc. tkapler@oculusinfo.com
Robert Harper , Oculus Info Inc. rharper@oculusinfo.com
William Wright , Oculus Info Inc. bwright@oculusinfo.com
pp. 19-26
Ross Maciejewski , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
Benjamin Tyner , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
Yun Jang , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
Cheng Zheng , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
Rimma V. Nehme , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
David S. Ebert , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
William S. Cleveland , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
Mourad Ouzzani , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC)
Shaun J. Grannis , Regenstrief Institute and Indiana University School of Medicine
Lawrence T. Glickman , Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine Clinical Epidemiology Group
pp. 27-34
Sung Ye Kim , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC), Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. e-mail: inside@purdue.edu
Yun Jang , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC), Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. e-mail: inside@purdue.edu, jangy@purdue.edu
Angela Mellema , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC), Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. e-mail: inside@purdue.edu, amellema@purdue.edu
David S. Ebert , Purdue University Regional Visualization and Analytics Center (PURVAC), Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. e-mail: inside@purdue.edu, ebertd@purdue.edu
Timothy Collinss , Purdue Homeland Security Institute (PHSI), Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. e-mail: tfcollins@purdue.edu
pp. 35-42
Gennady Andrienko , Fraunhofer Institute IAIS (Intelligent Analysis and Information Systems), Germany
Natalia Andrienko , Fraunhofer Institute IAIS (Intelligent Analysis and Information Systems), Germany
Ulrich Bartling , Fraunhofer Institute IAIS (Intelligent Analysis and Information Systems), Germany
pp. 43-50
Stephen G. Eick , SSS Research, Inc, 600 S. Washington, Suite 100, Naperville, IL 60540. eick@sss-research.com
M. Andrew Eick , SSS Research, Inc, 600 S. Washington, Suite 100, Naperville, IL 60540
Jesse Fugitt , SSS Research, Inc, 600 S. Washington, Suite 100, Naperville, IL 60540
Brian Horst , SSS Research, Inc, 600 S. Washington, Suite 100, Naperville, IL 60540
Maxim Khailo , SSS Research, Inc, 600 S. Washington, Suite 100, Naperville, IL 60540
Russell A. Lankenau , SSS Research, Inc, 600 S. Washington, Suite 100, Naperville, IL 60540
pp. 51-58
Christopher D. Shaw , School of Interactive Arts&Technology, Simon Fraser University Surrey, Surrey, BC, Canada. shaw@sfu.ca
Gregory A. Dasch , Viral and Rickettsial Zoonoses Branch, National Center for Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia 30333. ged4@cdc.gov
Marina E. Eremeeva , Viral and Rickettsial Zoonoses Branch, National Center for Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia 30333. mge6@cdc.gov
pp. 59-66
Daniel R. Tesone , Secure Decisions, a division of Applied Visions Inc. e-mail: dant@securedecisions.avi.com
John R. Goodall , Secure Decisions, a division of Applied Visions Inc. e-mail: johng@securedecisions.avi.com
pp. 67-74
Eun Ju Nam , Stony Brook University. email: ejnam@cs.sunysb.edu
Yiping Han , Stony Brook University. email: yiping@cs.sunysb.edu
Klaus Mueller , Stony Brook University. email: mueller@cs.sunysb.edu
Alla Zelenyuk , Pacific Northwest National Lab. email: alla.zelenyuk@pnl.gov
Dan Imre , Imre Consulting. email: dimre2b@charter.net
pp. 75-82
Di Yang , Worcester Polytechnic Institute. e-mail: diyang@wpi.edu
Elke A. Rundensteiner , Worcester Polytechnic Institute. e-mail: rundenst@es.wpi.edu
Matthew O. Ward , Worcester Polytechnic Institute. e-mail: matt@cs.wpi.edu
pp. 83-90
Ming C. Hao , Hewlett Packard Laboratories, CA. Electronic Mail: Ming.hao@hp.com
Umeshwar Dayal , Hewlett Packard Laboratories, CA. Electronic Mail: Umeshwar.dayal@hp.com
Daniel A. Keim , University of Konstanz, Germany. Electronic Mail: keim@informatik.uni-konstanz.de
Dominik Morent , University of Konstanz, Germany. Electronic Mail: Dominik.Morent@uni-konstanz.de
Joern Schneidewind , University of Konstanz, Germany. Electronic Mail: schneide@inf.uni-konstanz.de
pp. 91-98
Hangzai Luo , Software Engineering Institute, East China Normal University, Shanghai, China. e-mail: memcache@gmail.com
Jianping Fan , Department of Computer Science, UNC-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC, USA. e-mail: jfan@uncc.edu
Jing Yang , Department of Computer Science, UNC-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC, USA. e-mail: jyang13@uncc.edu
William Ribarsky , Department of Computer Science, UNC-Charlotte, Charlotte, NC, USA. e-mail: ribarsky@uncc.edu
Shin'ichi Satoh , National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan. e-mail: satoh@nii.ac.jp
pp. 107-114
Daniel A. Keim , University of Konstanz. e-mail: keim@inf.uni-konstanz.de
Daniela Oelke , University of Konstanz. e-mail: oelke@inf.uni-konstanz.de
pp. 115-122
Mohammad Ghoniem , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: mghoniem@uncc.edu
Dongning Luo , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: dluo2@uncc.edu
Jing Yang , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: jyang13@uncc.edu
William Ribarsky , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: ribarsky@uncc.edu
pp. 123-130
John Stasko , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: stasko@cc.gatech.edu
Carsten Gorg , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: goerg@cc.gatech.edu
Zhicheng Liu , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: zcliu@cc.gatech.edu
Kanupriya Singhal , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: ksinghal@cc.gatech.edu
pp. 131-138
Enrico Bertini , University of Fribourg. enrico.bertini@unifr.ch
Patrick Hertzog , NEXThink S.A. patrick.hertzog@nexthink.com
Denis Lalanne , University of Fribourg. denis.lalanne@unifr.ch
pp. 139-146
Heidi Lam , University of British Columbia, Google, Inc. e-mail: hllam@cs.ubc.ca
Daniel Russell , Google, Inc. e-mail: drussell@google.com
Diane Tang , Google, Inc. e-mail: diane@google.com
Tamara Munzner , University of British Columbia. e-mail: tmm@cs.ubc.ca
pp. 147-154
Remco Chang , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: rchang@uncc.edu
Mohammad Ghoniem , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: mghoniem@uncc.edu
Robert Kosara , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: rkosara@uncc.edu
William Ribarsky , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: ribarsky@uncc.edu
Jing Yang , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: jyang13@uncc.edu
Evan Suma , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: easuma@uncc.edu
Caroline Ziemkiewicz , UNC Charlotte. e-mail: caziemki@uncc.edu
Daniel Kern , Bank of America. e-mail: daniel.c.kern@bankofamerica.com
Agus Sudjianto , Bank of America. e-mail: agus.sudjianto@bankofamerica.com
pp. 155-162
Bongwon Suh , Palo Alto Research Center, 3333 Coyote Hill Road, Palo Alto, CA 94304. Email: suh@parc.com
Ed H. Chi , Palo Alto Research Center, 3333 Coyote Hill Road, Palo Alto, CA 94304. Email: echi@parc.com
Bryan A. Pendleton , Palo Alto Research Center, 3333 Coyote Hill Road, Palo Alto, CA 94304. Email: bp@parc.com
Aniket Kittur , Palo Alto Research Center, 3333 Coyote Hill Road, Palo Alto, CA 94304. Email: nkittur@ucla.edu
pp. 163-170
Jeffrey Heer , University of California, Soda Hall, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-1776. E-Mail: jheer@cs.berkeley.edu
Maneesh Agrawala , University of California, Soda Hall, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-1776. E-Mail: maneesh@cs.berkeley.edu
pp. 171-178
Ulrik Brandes , Department of Computer&Information Science, University of Konstanz. e-mail: Ulrik.Brandes@uni-konstanz.de
Jurgen Lerner , Department of Computer&Information Science, University of Konstanz. e-mail: lerner@inf.uni-konstanz.de
pp. 179-186
Niklas Elmqvist , INRIA/LRI, Univ. Paris-Sud. e-mail: elm@lri.fr
John Stasko , Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: stasko@cc.gatech.edu
Philippas Tsigas , Chalmers University of Technology. e-mail: tsigas@cs.chalmers.se
pp. 187-194
Loretta Auvil , Automated Learning Group, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: lauvil@uiuc.edu
Xavier Llora , Data Intensive Technologies and Applications, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: xllora@ncsa.uiuc.edu
Duane Searsmith , Automated Learning Group, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: dsears@ncsa.uiuc.edu
Kelly Searsmith , Automated Learning Group, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: ksearsmi@ncsa.uiuc.edu
pp. 197-198
Lynn Schwendiman , ATS Intelligent Discovery, 3505 NW Anderson Hill Road, Suite 200, Silverdale, WA 98383. lynn.schwendiman@atsid.com
Jonathan McLean , ATS Intelligent Discovery, 3505 NW Anderson Hill Road, Suite 200, Silverdale, WA 98383. jonathan.mclean@atsid.com
Jonathan Larson , ATS Intelligent Discovery, 3505 NW Anderson Hill Road, Suite 200, Silverdale, WA 98383. jonathan.larson@atsid.com
pp. 199-200
Carsten Gorg , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: goerg@cc.gatech.edu
Zhicheng Liu , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: zcliu@cc.gatech.edu
Neel Parekh , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: justneel@gmail.com
Kanupriya Singhal , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: ksinghal@cc.gatech.edu
John Stasko , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: stasko@cc.gatech.edu
pp. 201-202
Lynn Chien , Oculus Info Inc.
Annie Tat , Oculus Info Inc.
William Wright , Oculus Info Inc.
pp. 203-204
Chi-Chun Pan , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: julianpan@psu.edu
Anuj R. Jaiswal , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: arj135@psu.edu
Junyan Luo , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: jluo@psu.edu
Anthony Robinson , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: acr181@psu.edu
pp. 205-206
William Chao , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Daniel Ha , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Kevin Ho , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Linda Kaastra , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Minjung Kim , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Andrew Wade , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC. e-mail: andrewwade@ubcviscog.com
Brian Fisher , Faculty Sponsor, Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
pp. 207-208
Yedendra B. Shrinivasan , Dept. Mathematics and Computer Science, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven. e-mail: y.b.shrinivasan@tue.nl
Jarke J. van Wijk , Dept. Mathematics and Computer Science, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven. e-mail: vanwijk@win.tue.nl
pp. 209-210
Hyunmo Kang , University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742. kang@cs.umd.edu
Lise Getoor , University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742. getoor@cs.umd.edu
Lisa Singh , Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20052. singh@cs.georgetown.edu
pp. 211-212
Jae Choi , Georgetown University. e-mail: choi@isis.georgetown.edu
Sang-joon Lee , Viznox, Inc. e-mail: sjlee@viznox.com
Sarah Gigitashvilli , Georgetown University. e-mail: gigitashvili@isis.georgetown.edu
James Wilson , Georgetown University. e-mail: wilson@isis.georgetown.edu
pp. 213-214
Palmyra Catravas , ECE Department, Union College, Schenectady, NY. e-mail: catravap@union.edu
pp. 215-216
Guoray Cai , College of Information Sciences and Technology, Penn State University, University Park, PA. Email: cai@ist.psu.edu
pp. 217-218
Cecilia R. Aragon , Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. E-Mail: aragon@hpcrd.lbl.gov
Stephen J. Bailey , Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. E-Mail: sjbailey@lbl.gov
Sarah Poon , Space Sciences Laboratory. E-Mail: sspoon@lbl.gov
Karl J. Runge , Space Sciences Laboratory. E-Mail: kjrunge@lbl.gov
Rollin C. Thomas , Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. E-Mail: rcthomas@lbl.gov
pp. 219-220
Adel Ahmed , School of Information Technologies, University of Sydney, Australia; National ICT Australia, Australia. e-mail: adel.ahmed@nicta.com.au
Xiaoyan Fu , National ICT Australia, Australia. e-mail: xiaoyan.fu@nicta.com.au
Seok-Hee Hong , School of Information Technologies, University of Sydney, Australia; National ICT Australia, Australia. e-mail: shhong@it.usyd.edu.au
Quan Hoang Nguyen , School of Computer Sciences and Engineering, University of NSW, Australia. e-mail: quanhn@cse.unsw.edu.au
Kai Xu , National ICT Australia, Australia. e-mail: kai.xu@nicta.com.au
pp. 221-222
Daniel Ha , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC. email: dhal@sfu.ca
Minjung Kim , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Andrew Wade , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
William O. Chao , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Kevin Ho , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Linda Kaastra , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
Brian Fisher , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
John Dill , Simon Fraser University, SIAT; University of British Columbia, MAGIC
pp. 223-224
Jim Thomas , Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Daniel Keim , University of Konstanz
Joe Kielman , Department of Homeland Security
Larry Rosenblum , National Science Foundation
pp. 227
Georges Grinstein , University of Massachusetts, Lowell. grinstein@cs.uml.edu
Catherine Plaisant , University of Maryland. plaisant@cs.umd.edu
Sharon Laskowski , National Institute of Standards and Technology. sharon.laskowski@nist.gov
Theresa O'Connell , National Institute of Standards and Technology. toconnell@nist.gov
Jean Scholtz , Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. jean.scholtz@pnl.com
Mark Whiting , Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. mark.a.whiting@pnl.gov
pp. 231-232
Lynn Chien , Oculus Info Inc.
Annie Tat , Oculus Info Inc.
Thomas Kapler , Oculus Info Inc.
Patricia Enns , Oculus Info Inc.
Winniefried Kuan , Oculus Info Inc.
William Wright , Oculus Info Inc.
pp. 233-234
Carsten Gorg , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: goerg@cc.gatech.edu
Zhicheng Liu , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: zcliu@cc.gatech.edu
Neel Parekh , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: justneel@gmail.com
Kanupriya Singhal , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: ksinghal@cc.gatech.edu
John Stasko , School of Interactive Computing&GVU Center, Georgia Institute of Technology. e-mail: stasko@cc.gatech.edu
pp. 235-236
Loretta Auvil , Automated Learning Group, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: lauvil@uiuc.edu
Xavier Llora , Data Intensive Technologies and Applications, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: xllora@ncsa.uiuc.edu
Duane Searsmith , Automated Learning Group, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: dsears@ncsa.uiuc.edu
Kelly Searsmith , Automated Learning Group, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. e-mail: ksearsmi@ncsa.uiuc.edu
pp. 237-238
Patricia Crossno , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: pjcross@sandia.gov
Brian Wylie , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: bnwylie@sandia.gov
Andrew Wilson , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: atwilso@sandia.gov
John Greenfield , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: jagreen@sandia.gov
Eric Stanton , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: etstant@sandia.gov
Timothy Shead , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: tshead@sandia.gov
Lisa Ice , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: lgice@sandia.gov
Kenneth Moreland , Sandia National Laboratories. Email: kmorel@sandia.gov
Jeffrey Baumes , Kitware Inc. jeff.baumes@kitware.com
Berk Geveci , Kitware Inc. berk.geveci@kitware.com
pp. 241-242
Chi-Chun Pan , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: julianpan@psu.edu
Anuj R. Jaiswal , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: arj135@psu.edu
Junyan Luo , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: jluo@psu.edu
Anthony Robinson , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: acr181@psu.edu
Prasenjit Mitra , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: pmitra@ist.psu.edu
Alan M. MacEachren , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: maceachren@psu.edu
Ian Turton , The Pennsylvania State University. e-mail: ijt1@psu.edu
pp. 243-244
Lynn Schwendiman , ATS Intelligent Discovery, 3505 NW Anderson Hill Road, Suite 200, Silverdale, WA 98383. lynn.schwendiman@atsid.com
Jonathan McLean , ATS Intelligent Discovery, 3505 NW Anderson Hill Road, Suite 200, Silverdale, WA 98383. jonathan.mclean@atsid.com
Jonathan Larson , ATS Intelligent Discovery, 3505 NW Anderson Hill Road, Suite 200, Silverdale, WA 98383. jonathan.larson@atsid.com
pp. 245-246
Author Index (PDF)
pp. 247
30 ms
(Ver 2.0)

Marketing Automation Platform Marketing Automation Tool